We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good mattress, that's all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in National City
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good mattress, that's all!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Mold in bathroom. Earwigs. Carpet hasn't been cleaned in a loooong time. I never saw such a small bar of soap in any hotel. No tissue for sure! However, it was cheap, the mattress was good, the linens were clean including the towels. The AC could not remove the humidity from the room even at the most extreme setting. The breakfast...never mind. Spent as little time as possible in that room. It didn't kill us but we will never stay there again. Who could give this a good rating?

Room Tip: Try to find something else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank VegasCorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    53
    42
    25
    19
See reviews for
58
37
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights while vacationing w/ my 5 year old grandson. The surrounding area isnt very pretty but the room was clean tv,fridge,microwave and free wi fi everything worked. The rooms are small but we only needed to sleep there -we were out &about during the day. The continental breakfast was decent but the eating area there very small.. Only 2 tables with a couple of chairs at each. Customer service was excellent. Friendly and helpful. Only 10 minute drive into downtown San Diego and less than 20 minutes to sea world.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cicme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed there 7 nights. The room was clean and quiet. We were only in the room over night and we were gone all day. So for sleeping, the accommodations were just fine. The focus of our activities were downtown San Diego, so the hotel is a bit too far away. We had a rental car for a part of the time. The Hotel is near a freeway on-ramp - convenient. The rest of the time we used public tranprotation (bus and trolly). That worked just fine, but you have to factor in the travel time. The nice part of transit is that you dont have to pay the high parking costs downtown. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights. Hotel was quite. Our room was clean with exception of the carpet just a little dirty. Staff was very nice and helpful. Breakfast was adequate, just the basics. No problems with wifi, worked just fine. Fast food just down the street, with a little drive (about 1 mile) some very good local restaurants. Naval Base San Diego just about 5 minutes away. Close to the freeway entrance. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smoothsailing333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Stayed here for three nights. The place was clean, beds were great, breakfast was adequate. The room had a microwave and refrigerator which got well used. The owners were replacing these two items in all the rooms, by the way, so many rooms, if not all, have new ones. The construction of the facility ensures that the place is safe. Truck drivers use the facility daily, but the place was quiet and comfortable. The cleaning ladies were efficient and thorough daily.

I would stay here again and found everything more than satisfactory. It is an excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sisterb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avondale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed for six nights. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They gave recommendations and directions for places to find a good dinner near by and for places to go and see. They also helped us in finding our way around for the activities we had already planned. The hotel was very convenient for getting around, very close to just about everything. Although the hotel is located near the freeway, it was quiet and with one way in and out, 24 hour desk coverage, and security cameras, we felt safe. We would stay her again and would definitely recommend this as a place to stay for friends and family who are planning a trip to San Diego.

Room Tip: Check on line but call the hotel also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debra124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

I stayed 10 days. The room was clean. The WiFi always worked. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is very convenient situated, not only by car, but also by trolley or bus. 7 to 10 min walk to the 8th Street trolley station. Very good cost/performance ratio. A good alternative, if you can´t find a cheap hotel in San Diego downtown and don´t mind driving 15min. Taxi costs from the airport: 25$. There is even a small breakfast at the reception (coffee, flakes, pastries, apples).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mojo_rater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National City
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
#6 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
2.8 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#4 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South
Address: 521 Roosevelt Avenue, National City, CA 91950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in National City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn National City San Diego South Hotel National City
Howard Johnson National City
National City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing