We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in National City
Reviewed 24 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Francis R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I was not expecting anyone to come to my room and someone knocked like three times..That was pretty scarey..There was two guys standing from across each other just staring..That made me feel very uncomfortable...The hotel rate was too expensive, nothing like Bestwestern hotel in Imperial Valley, CA...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Ortiz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank ManzanaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I drove into town at about 3 am and needed to sleep a few hours and take a shower. The only downstairs non-smoking they had was hidden behind the pool (CLEANEST pool I've seen) next to laundry room. Turned out to be very quiet. No complaints there! The room looks as pictured. Not too clean though - and smelled it. Had two bathrooms... one for shower, one for sink and toilet. That would've been fine - if the toilet FLUSHED, and if there wasn't a steady leak in the tub-side bathroom. Not sure where it was leaking from - but I didn't use the shower until morning and in those four hours the water was building up quite a bit. Not something they could've not been aware of. Also clock radio was unpluged - when I plugged it in it was BLARING and couldn't be turned down or off. Unplugged it. The bed was comfortable at least. TV workrd. Didn't even look at fridge. I was extremely disappointed for the $70 spent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mberry7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Cha H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank GregoryP56
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National City
0.1 mi away
Ramada San Diego National City
Ramada San Diego National City
#5 of 10 in National City
222 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Super 8 National City Chula Vista
2.6 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South

Address: 521 Roosevelt Ave, National City, CA 91950-1133
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in National City
Price Range: £44 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn National City San Diego South Hotel National City
Howard Johnson National City
National City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing