We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the safest place to stay in California...but gas up in Arizona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Needles
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Needles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This was a no-frills stop having left Orange County at 3:30 in the afternoon on a Saturday heading east...$44 bucks out the door, a clean bed and room, but the bathtub was disgusting--needs replacing as the porcelain/ceramic has been chipped down to the metal. So dangerous. The flood lights of the parking lot are on all night and the state highway and local police park in the lot--an every night thing since it is a border town with Arizona. And yes, there are trains during the night. As of February, the owner said there is no more continental breakfast, just coffee from an old coffeemaker with little flavored milk containers. I read gustav2011 getting a $26 rate...that should have been my rate--the only water I ran was to flush the toilet a couple times, brush my teeth, and used a wash cloth to wash my face. The owner was very nice and we chatted a bit about the headlines and local stuff; he is saving money where he can and doing just what is necessary to be a Knights Inn--that is the economy. Just a note, whatever you do, don't gas up in California...check online sources for gasoline prices in Arizona before crossing east or west. You'll save money, especially if you have a big tank.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeMeDaVinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohan D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Needles, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Thanks you very much and appreciated your stay with us. See you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Needles
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2013

There isn't a lot in Needles but you do have a few motel/hotel choices. We were in need of a home base for a few nights while we hiked and drove Route 66. I was able to get this motel for $26 a night including taxes/fees which made it under $80 for 3 nights. The best way to sum up might be as follows:

The Good
Friendly manager that provided helpful information on restaurants, best gas rates etc.
The rooms are very clean and are cleaned thoroughly daily.
There is a large refrigerator and microwave in each room.
Each room has an LCD TV with about 200 channels to surf.

The Bad
The place is really outdated. My husband noted you could literally see every renovation ever done. Paint all over, cabinets painted over multiple times etc.
The door to our bathroom didn't close properly and the toilet paper roll was hanging by a screw.
Linens are clean but very thin. They weren't accommodating providing extras.
We returned one day while there was a little daylight left and noticed a big hole in the side of the building, covered with a big board. Not exactly inviting. Probably why it is an impulse stopover at night.
The parking lot is very small and square so you may be awakened by late night arrivals. Most people weren't courteous turning off their lights as they pulled in or avoiding loud talking.
You can hear noise from other rooms.

The Ugly
There is a train track running parallel to the property. There are several trains a night, often multiple an hour. They are very loud, create shaking etc. This is the closest Inn to the tracks so no doubt it is the loudest.

All in all we'd stay again for the price point. We were never in the room except to shower and sleep and it did feel safe. It is a 1.5 rated property and they do include some type of continental breakfast - coffee, doughnut and fruit (we never attended). There is a Best Western that is down the road that has higher ratings and a set-up that includes a linear parking lot that might limit some of the noise with cars and people but their rate is in the $90s per night. We weren't willing to pay over 3 times as much for the limited upgrade.

Room Tip: bottom floor
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gustav2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohan D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Needles, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Thanks you very much and appreciated your stay with us. See you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Stayed here just one night while driving to Grand Canyon.
The staff is very helpful.
Room was clean.
Breakfast options (doughnuts and fruits) were sufficient.
If you are a very light sleeper the rail tracks near by may affect you. I guess it would be true for all other facilities in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoolFromCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnightsInn_needles, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Needles, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thanks you very much and appreciated your stay with us
Wish you a happy new year and god bless you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We came arrived here without reservations an hour after midnight - it was just off highway 40. We woke the manager who even managed a joke and gave
us a clean, comfortable room with two large beds for $50. It was ideal for an impromptu overnight stay but, of course, simple. Free breakfast was unpretentious (coffee, banana and choice of donuts) - a new definition of the adjective 'continental' , but welcome and friendly. Great view from the window in the morning. Would definitely use as a quick stopover in the area (but next time I might book in advance, we had the last room).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tummo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnightsInn_needles, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Needles, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thanks you very much and appreciated your stay with us
Wish you a happy new year and god bless you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We ware on route 66 . We came to Needles around 12.30pm we did talk to Manager he was help full he told us see rooms before you rent for 5 people he give us 2 rooms for $35.00 each. Rooms was big we did check other motels this plase is 2.00 more but we did felt we are in big hotel like Hilton.
Mark
Finnland

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnightsInn_needles, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Needles, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thanks you very much and appreciated your stay with us
God bless you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed for the Bike riding. This hotel is very clean. The rooms are in very good condition and are well taken care of. Our room also had a LCD TV with mini fridge and microwave. Everyone went above and beyond to make sure we were happy and comfortable. I would like to stay on my next trip

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preston B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohan D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Needles, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Thanks you very much and appreciated your stay with us. See you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank jonathan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Needles
0.1 mi away
Best Western Colorado River Inn
0.4 mi away
River Valley Motor Lodge
River Valley Motor Lodge
#5 of 13 in Needles
72 reviews
21.9 mi away
Aquarius Casino Resort, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rio Del Sol Inn Needles
Rio Del Sol Inn Needles
#3 of 13 in Needles
306 reviews
258.1 mi away
Motel 6 Needles
Motel 6 Needles
#7 of 13 in Needles
104 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 13 in Needles
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Needles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Needles

Address: 2306 Needles Hwy, Needles, CA 92363-2107 (Formerly Knights Inn)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Needles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Needles
Price Range: £45 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Red Roof Inn Needles 1.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pet-Friendly Red Roof Inn Needles is conveniently located off of FWY 40, half a mile from downtown Needles. This hotel is located near the Colorado River where you can enjoy boating, skiing, and fishing! Ever wanted to try zip-lining? Now you can at Go-Zip Pirate Cove! You can also practice your swing at the Rivers Edge Golf Course, or visit the Needles Regional Museum to learn all about the colorful history of our quaint town! Take a day trip to Topock Gorge and admire the awe-inspiring rock formations and ancient hieroglyphics. If you like exotic animals, you'll love visiting the Havasu National Wildlife Refuge! Also a short drive away is the Harrah's Laughlin Casino. Hungry for a bite to eat? Enjoy a meal at our on-site restaurant "Pandan Restaurant". Other nearby restaurants include the Wagon Wheel Restaurant, Juicy's River Cafe, Panda Garden, Cook's Cuisine, and many more! Newly renovated, the Red Roof Inn Needles offers both comfort & convenience. This pet-friendly, family-friendly hotel offers a business center, weekly rates, free breakfast, connecting rooms, coin laundry, free on-site parking, and coffee & tea in the lobby. All guest rooms include free WiFi, a flat screen TV, microwave & refrigerator, hair dryer, and a work desk. Select rooms offer an iron & Ironing board, and in-room coffee. Business travelers will welcome additional conveniences like access to copy and fax services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Red Roof Inn, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Needles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing