We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Needles
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Needles
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never Again”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I was tired and the motel didn't look very busy only a few cars in the parking lot. When I went into the office there was an older east indian man behind the counter I asked room rates and couldn't understand what he was saying. I went head and took the room for 45.00 for 1 person. After the paperwork was done I tried asking a few more questions, and when I couldn't comprehend what he was trying to tell me he started acting a little mad so I walked out. When I entered the room it had a smell of damp wet carpet and the phone wouldn't work when I tried calling for Pizza delivery. So I went back to the office to ask about the smell and the phone, when I walked out of my room there were 3 police officers going into the room upstairs on the end. I was thinking that I might have made a mistake stopping here, I prayed I would be safe. So the older man was very short with me and kept saying no smell no smell, and dial 9 phone good. So by this time I just gave up and went back to my room, turned on the air which never really got cold or even cool for that matter. I just decided I would eat in the morning when I was getting back on the road. The toilet had a thick ring where the water or whatever had been sitting, there was 3 giant water bugs in my bathroom, the mirror had scratches all over it, the faucets were backwards, the hot on the cold side the cold on the hot side exact opposite of the shower. The spread had holes in it and had a musty smell like t hadn't been changed in a while. The wifi wasn't a stable line it would be good then kick me off to the point I put my laptop back in the trunk. So all in all I will never stay at another Knights Inn. I'm sending a copy of this review to their corp. office also. Take my advice go down the street a little farther to the budget inn their rooms are great and they are very nice and friendly. They need to get some else to work behind the desk that can communicate with the customers and not have such a bad attitude when being told there are problems with the room, made me feel like he thought I was lying. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Knightsinn, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Needles, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Sorry to say you comments are not acceptable. Please you should let us know when your in property. As you say I can believe some issues but not all you said sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    54
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
48
46
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The outside of the building looks older and somewhat run down and we had wondered if we wanted to stay there.
The lobby was clean, so we checked in. Our room was so clean, you could still feel the furniture polish on the bedside tables. The bathroom fixtures were older and somewhat shabby, but very clean.
The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. We will probably stay there again on our return trip home.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Knightsinn, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Needles, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Great I do appreciate your comments see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This was literally a "I couldn't drive another mile" stop. It was well lit with easy access for my moving truck and trailer, at 4 am I couldn't ask for much more. The rate came in under $50 for two adults, a child and a dog so that was nice as well. The rooms were a pleasant surprise, fresh smelling and clean, so so on the amenities. The room had a microwave, refrigerator & Direct TV which I didn't use, but appreciated and screaming wifi! For the money this place was pretty much perfect.

Room Tip: 107 was clean and quiet, couldn't get the phone to work though. Breakfast is just coffee,!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohan D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Needles, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Thanks you very much and appreciated your stay with us. See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This was a no-frills stop having left Orange County at 3:30 in the afternoon on a Saturday heading east...$44 bucks out the door, a clean bed and room, but the bathtub was disgusting--needs replacing as the porcelain/ceramic has been chipped down to the metal. So dangerous. The flood lights of the parking lot are on all night and the state highway and local police park in the lot--an every night thing since it is a border town with Arizona. And yes, there are trains during the night. As of February, the owner said there is no more continental breakfast, just coffee from an old coffeemaker with little flavored milk containers. I read gustav2011 getting a $26 rate...that should have been my rate--the only water I ran was to flush the toilet a couple times, brush my teeth, and used a wash cloth to wash my face. The owner was very nice and we chatted a bit about the headlines and local stuff; he is saving money where he can and doing just what is necessary to be a Knights Inn--that is the economy. Just a note, whatever you do, don't gas up in California...check online sources for gasoline prices in Arizona before crossing east or west. You'll save money, especially if you have a big tank.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeMeDaVinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohan D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Needles, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Thanks you very much and appreciated your stay with us. See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
492 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

There isn't a lot in Needles but you do have a few motel/hotel choices. We were in need of a home base for a few nights while we hiked and drove Route 66. I was able to get this motel for $26 a night including taxes/fees which made it under $80 for 3 nights. The best way to sum up might be as follows:

The Good
Friendly manager that provided helpful information on restaurants, best gas rates etc.
The rooms are very clean and are cleaned thoroughly daily.
There is a large refrigerator and microwave in each room.
Each room has an LCD TV with about 200 channels to surf.

The Bad
The place is really outdated. My husband noted you could literally see every renovation ever done. Paint all over, cabinets painted over multiple times etc.
The door to our bathroom didn't close properly and the toilet paper roll was hanging by a screw.
Linens are clean but very thin. They weren't accommodating providing extras.
We returned one day while there was a little daylight left and noticed a big hole in the side of the building, covered with a big board. Not exactly inviting. Probably why it is an impulse stopover at night.
The parking lot is very small and square so you may be awakened by late night arrivals. Most people weren't courteous turning off their lights as they pulled in or avoiding loud talking.
You can hear noise from other rooms.

The Ugly
There is a train track running parallel to the property. There are several trains a night, often multiple an hour. They are very loud, create shaking etc. This is the closest Inn to the tracks so no doubt it is the loudest.

All in all we'd stay again for the price point. We were never in the room except to shower and sleep and it did feel safe. It is a 1.5 rated property and they do include some type of continental breakfast - coffee, doughnut and fruit (we never attended). There is a Best Western that is down the road that has higher ratings and a set-up that includes a linear parking lot that might limit some of the noise with cars and people but their rate is in the $90s per night. We weren't willing to pay over 3 times as much for the limited upgrade.

Room Tip: bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gustav2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohan D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Needles, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Thanks you very much and appreciated your stay with us. See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Stayed here just one night while driving to Grand Canyon.
The staff is very helpful.
Room was clean.
Breakfast options (doughnuts and fruits) were sufficient.
If you are a very light sleeper the rail tracks near by may affect you. I guess it would be true for all other facilities in the vicinity.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolFromCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnightsInn_needles, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Needles, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thanks you very much and appreciated your stay with us
Wish you a happy new year and god bless you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We came arrived here without reservations an hour after midnight - it was just off highway 40. We woke the manager who even managed a joke and gave
us a clean, comfortable room with two large beds for $50. It was ideal for an impromptu overnight stay but, of course, simple. Free breakfast was unpretentious (coffee, banana and choice of donuts) - a new definition of the adjective 'continental' , but welcome and friendly. Great view from the window in the morning. Would definitely use as a quick stopover in the area (but next time I might book in advance, we had the last room).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tummo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnightsInn_needles, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Needles, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thanks you very much and appreciated your stay with us
Wish you a happy new year and god bless you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Needles
0.1 mi away
Best Western Colorado River Inn
1.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Needles
0.4 mi away
River Valley Motor Lodge
River Valley Motor Lodge
#5 of 13 in Needles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Desert Mirage Inn and Suites
21.9 mi away
Aquarius Casino Resort
Aquarius Casino Resort
#2 of 11 in Laughlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,730 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rio Del Sol Inn Needles
Rio Del Sol Inn Needles
#3 of 13 in Needles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Needles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Needles

Property: Red Roof Inn Needles
Address: 2306 Needles Hwy, Needles, CA 92363-2107 (Formerly Knights Inn)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Needles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Needles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Red Roof Inn Needles 1.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pet-Friendly Red Roof Inn Needles is conveniently located off of FWY 40, half a mile from downtown Needles. This hotel is located near the Colorado River where you can enjoy boating, skiing, and fishing! Ever wanted to try zip-lining? Now you can at Go-Zip Pirate Cove! You can also practice your swing at the Rivers Edge Golf Course, or visit the Needles Regional Museum to learn all about the colorful history of our quaint town! Take a day trip to Topock Gorge and admire the awe-inspiring rock formations and ancient hieroglyphics. If you like exotic animals, you'll love visiting the Havasu National Wildlife Refuge! Also a short drive away is the Harrah's Laughlin Casino. Hungry for a bite to eat? Enjoy a meal at our on-site restaurant "Pandan Restaurant". Other nearby restaurants include the Wagon Wheel Restaurant, Juicy's River Cafe, Panda Garden, Cook's Cuisine, and many more! Newly renovated, the Red Roof Inn Needles offers both comfort & convenience. This pet-friendly, family-friendly hotel offers a business center, weekly rates, free breakfast, connecting rooms, coin laundry, free on-site parking, and coffee & tea in the lobby. All guest rooms include free WiFi, a flat screen TV, microwave & refrigerator, hair dryer, and a work desk. Select rooms offer an iron & Ironing board, and in-room coffee. Business travelers will welcome additional conveniences like access to copy and fax services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Needles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing