We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE GOOD, THE BAD, AND THE UGLY” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Needles

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Americas Best Value Inn - Needles
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Needles
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“THE GOOD, THE BAD, AND THE UGLY”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

GOOD: The rooms are spacious and clean, including the microwave and small fridge. The staff is friendly and welcoming. The location provides easy access to interstate and local roads - local supermarket is just down the road and a variety of dining choices are nearby.

BAD: Carpets are worn, tub needs resurfacing, shower head is positioned for people under 5' tall, and a serious facelift is needed overall. The property claims a 4 star rating but its accommodations and lack of nearly all 4 star amenities indicate a lower rating is accurate.

UGLY: It's hard to get someone to the front desk - even during most business hours. The "Hospitality Room" is limited to coffee in the morning, a few drinks, and an ice machine. Wifi is only available about 30% of the time, and the walls are thin enough to hear people talking. If you expect to find a clock in your room - don't - bring your own. My remotes for the TV and A/C didn't work and my TV turned on automatically at 7:40 am.

Room Tip: Avoid the noise of being near the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoRobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    55
    40
    18
    21
See reviews for
46
57
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Lets see how should I start?
Dirty stained towels on bathroom floor
many broken items: no light bulb in one lamp, empty soap container in shower,
chairs about to fall apart, door didnt fit frame so cold air came in, bathtub and sink stained
and chipped, AC/Heat inaccessible without standing on rickety chair, AC/heat VERY VERY noisy,
SO noisy we turned it off despite it being 40F outside!

So called "Free breakfast" was nothing more than brown liquid which I think was coffee, 2 green bananas,and the cheapest, preservative filled, plastic wrapped, danishes you can find.

Location also very bad: right next to freeway onramp-can hear semi air brakes all night long.
I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elwoodp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Needles hotels

2love2hike
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

It had been raining and was late when we stopped. Zack the night guy was worth the price because of his great attitude and friendly personality. The room is typical roadside motel but very clean. I hate short round bowl toilets but its not the Four Seasons. The shower isnt made for the average height man but pettite women will be happy. The tub nothing you would want to put your flesh against. I hate polyester motel bed spreads but the sheets are decent. One bed soft the other firm. Zack says all rooms have 2 queens so no one gets confused. Hope his dog recovers from the diaper cream.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureForward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I've really enjoyed my stay at this motel. I've had to travel across the US twice this past year and this motel seems to be the cleanest and friendliest yet. The layout of the room is just right for reading, using computer and eating. The staff seem to always take care of any issues right away and with a smile. No attitude issue here. The pool is like bathwater even now in the fall weather. Needles has 2 great family restaurants, Juicy's Cafe, and Wagon Wheel. Which both have wonderful trinkets of Route 66 which goes thru Needles. Wagon Wheel is the best restaurant for a "real" western style yet very clean experience.

Room Tip: I found the 2nd floor to be the best layout and more peaceful. Even if I have to climb the stairs bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed here one night on he way to anoter location. Manager was really friendly. There is a pool which is nice as the temperature was extremely high. Spacious clean room with airco. Don't count on the breakfast, it is not much.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LisaAmsterdamNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI-Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Needles, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiance with us about your stay. I am so happy to hear about how you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Got there in the middle of the night so were regulated to the top floor...ugh, had to drag the suitcases all the way up. Very clean, good bed, updated enough to keep me happy but a few maintenance issues here and there. They don't allow you to adjust the a/c so had to stand on the chair to get it good and cold because it was a hot night. Breakfast cuts off at 9 and I wasn't up...but was just rolls and stuff like that. Manager is a bit brisk but polite. Don't care, didn't hire him for best friend. On way back, we got bottom floor...so much better but unfortunately sink stopped quit working and it wouldn't drain. Had trouble with the door "key" which is not intuitive...oh well. Lost power at 6 am to 7 but not the motel's fault. So-so not bad...but cheap...$44 for double.

Room Tip: Get there early for bottom floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dauntlessdefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI-Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Needles, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Guest, I appologize for the inconvieniance of the A/C location. We recently replaced many of our units with easy to operate remote control units, and will continue to make these changes until all units are done. I want to thank you for sharing your experiance, your comments have helped us further improve our service.
Please feel free to cotact us prior to your next trip, I will see about that bottom floor room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

After 10 hours of driving I arrived at the America's Best Value Inn, Needles,CA. I arrived just after a storm and the power was out at the hotel and most of the town. The manager met me by candle light and informed me that I was past the cancellation time and that he did not consider "acts of god" to be worthy of a refund. It is 102 degrees, just after a storm, the hotel has no power, no air conditioning and he could not provide me with my own room key. It wasn't hell, but you could see it from there.

I figured the power would be on shortly so I decided to stay rather than drive back to Kingman. I made it until midnight, drenched in sweat I took a shower, packed up my belongings and drove back to Kingman (1 hour) to stay at an air conditioned Motel 6 with lights.

I never received a receipt, no power to print one. The next day he must of got power back because my card was charged $49.50. I won't Shay here again simply on principal. To me the owner/manager took advantage of travelers in an isolated place in the desert. Like my title says...Think about it...

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank canyoncascade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DilipManager, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Needles, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Customer. We have no problem to refund your money, but you reserved your room through third party travelocity.com. You have to call them and cancel with them. If you reserve a room direct to us, than we can cancel here. I think we had a miscommunication. Next time to avoid all these problems, please reserve a room through our website www.americasbestvalueinn.com. or call us at 760-326-4501. We respect our customers and we try our best to make everyone happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Needles hotels
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Needles
Red Roof Inn Needles
#2 of 13 in Needles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Colorado River Inn
1.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Needles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
River Valley Motor Lodge
River Valley Motor Lodge
#5 of 13 in Needles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
2.2 mi away
Desert Mirage Inn and Suites
2.6 mi away
Rio Del Sol Inn Needles
Rio Del Sol Inn Needles
#3 of 13 in Needles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Needles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Needles

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Needles
Address: 1102 E Broadway St, Needles, CA 92363-4201 (Formerly Super 8 Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Needles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Needles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Needles 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the junction of the I-40 and Old Route 66, close to Basha's grocery store. We have outdoor and indoor sitting areas for breakfast, a picnic area as well as a grassy area for pets. Our staff is available 24 hours a day, and excel at providing outstanding customer service. We have a dedicated staff member for long stay guests, and provide daily services. We pride ourselves in exceeding the guests expectations with the quality of our rooms, the services of our staff, and the warmth of our hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Needles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing