We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid.”
Review of Motel 6 Needles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Needles
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Needles
Reviewed 8 February 2010

I guess it's been a long time since I stayed in a truly budget motel, but if you're looking for no-frills and less, this is it. I didn't feel particularly safe and while the bathroom seemed clean, I was less sure about the rest of the room, especially the carpet. I put down a blanket from home for our baby to crawl on. Yuck. Fortunately, it was just one night. But if we pass this way again, we won't be stopping here. The one good thing (and the reason for 2 circles) is that check-in was a cinch and the woman at the front desk was very nice.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
Thank gdbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2010

We were on vacation and on our way to another state.
But one days drive would have meant a long day so we decided to break the trip in half and and stay in Needles.
There were several good hotels there but since we were arriving late at night and would be leaving first thing in the morning we weren't interested in amenities. Just a clean, safe place to stay
I read the reviews on Motel 6 and decided to give it a try.
Glad I did.
I have staying in Motel 6's before and not all of them are as well cared for as this one.
We got a room for the Handicap since it was the only one left with wifi on the ground floor.
The bathroom was extra large and the room was really designed for only one person. But my wife and I aren't very big so we fit in the single bed.
My only complaint was that the bathroom didn't have a shelf where we could set our toiletries. We had to balance them on the sink bowl.
The towel rack was broken and the phone didn't work for some reason.
But the internet connection (a couple of bucks extra) worked great so we didn't need the phone.
All in all, I'd stay there again.
By the way, they allow pets.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTourist2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

We were on a road trip from Central California to Oklahoma for the Christmas holidays and spent the first night in Needles. We had not been in a Motel 6 for several years and decided to stay there because of the reviews. It was in a very quiet location and next to a Denny's that offered a small discount. The desk clerk was very friendly and helpful with local information. The room was very clean and offered basic furnishings. There was no coffee maker or hair dryer in the room, but I always carry travel ones. The queen bed was barely adequate, both in size and comfort. If the bed had been better, I would have given the motel a higher rating. We continued east via Laughlin, NV and thought we would stay there, instead of Needles, in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalmSpringsVisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2009

...spent the night in Needles driving from Colorado to California. Had reservations here after reading the reviews.

The staff was very helpful, and even broght an extra ice bucket to our room for our dog! The room was small, but then again, it's a Motel 6... It was clean though. The bed wasn't really that comfortable, but it was nice.

the 10% off at Denny's was an added plus.

All in all, I recommend this hotel for a stop in Needles.... Convenient to the freeway, restaurant next door, near the gas stations (oh DON'T FILL UP IN NEEDLES)

Gas stations charge $1.00 extra per gallon. Before you arrive either fill up in Barstow / Hesperioa or Kingman..... Rip off for the unsuspecting tourists....

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KUMtngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

This was a real nice Motel 6 and they had a nice deal with 10% off at next door Denny's. Real friendly staff and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JjayAlbuquerque_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Nice pool; large room, and large bath. Easy access from highway. Beautiful view. $2.95 for WIFI which wasn't working, but management was very fast to hand me a refund.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjnky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Almost in the middle of nowhere (referring to the town of Needles, not to the Hotel) but hot as the hell, this hotel is a convenient location if you are passing by and need a bed to rest a bit. No frills, no luxuries, but clean and fair enough for the money you pay it.

The room, located at the groung floor, was something more than the bed and the toilet, having a table and a couple of chairs which can be used both to eat something or to support your case. Wi-fi, TV set and coffee machine inside the room, hairdryer in the toilet: no other amenities you can enjoy with.

A small swimming pool beside the property and Denny's right opposite the car park complete the picture.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbeusBologna_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Needles
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Needles
Red Roof Inn Needles
#2 of 13 in Needles
194 reviews
0.7 mi away
River Valley Motor Lodge
River Valley Motor Lodge
#5 of 13 in Needles
77 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Colorado River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rio Del Sol Inn Needles
Rio Del Sol Inn Needles
#3 of 13 in Needles
313 reviews
21.4 mi away
Harrah's Laughlin
Harrah's Laughlin
#1 of 11 in Laughlin
10,315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Imperial 400 Motor Inn
Imperial 400 Motor Inn
#9 of 13 in Needles
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Needles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Needles

Address: 1420 J St, Needles, CA 92363-2830
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Needles
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Needles
Price Range: £38 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Needles 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Needles CA is located within walking distance to area dining, and shopping is only 1 mile away. Play golf at Rivers Edge Golf Course 1 mile northeast. Enjoy our outdoor pool and free wi-fi available in all modern guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Needles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Needles Hotel Needles
Motel Six Needles
Needles Motel 6
Needles Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing