We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in Needles.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rio Del Sol Inn Needles
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Needles
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in Needles.”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Second visit to Needles while driving Route 66, this is one of the better hotels along the route. Checked into our room and 10 minutes later we got a call from lovely lady at reception to ask if everything was ok for us. Very nice touch as I've never had that before. Rooms very nice, clean and tidy. Hotel has great outdoor pool which we used for a few hours until sun went down. Few fast food places to eat within walking distance too. Then back to our room to use free wifi, can'y complain at all. I'd stay again no problem..

Room Tip: We had upper floor, no good if you have lots of luggage, ask for lower level..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcrouch, General Manager at Rio Del Sol Inn Needles, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thanks Jellybelly, we appreciate your review and make sure to stop next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    109
    54
    11
    9
See reviews for
74
120
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

While returning from our trip to Washington state, We were running out of gas and stations to few and far between, so we called it a night. We asked at the Best western, but they were full. We went over to the RIO DEL SOL INN next door. Thinking it looks expensive. Well, we booked a room with 2 queen beds for a lot less than the average summer rate. We saved a lot of money with this hotel. The management and staff were excellent. The services outstanding! In this area, there are several fast food stores and other places to eat. We did not have a lot of time to look around at any attractions, but from the road, the scenery was beautiful. Some day we will have to come back this way to stop and look. Very Nice place! Very clean !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcrouch, General Manager at Rio Del Sol Inn Needles, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Sounds like you had the chance to visit both our properties. I am happy we could accommodate you, and hope you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Staff is very friendly. the room was big and beds very comfortable. everything was clean. fridge with freezer available, also coffee maker. no breakfast was included.
motel is next to carl's jr. other restaurants close. we stayed here one night on our way to the canyon. worth the money

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natcrosscountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcrouch, General Manager at Rio Del Sol Inn Needles, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay. The choices for breakfast in the area are plentiful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

There aren't many choices in Needles and I stayed on Labor Day weekend. Maybe that's why I paid over 120 for a hotel that's on the same level as econo lodge. The beds were not comfortable and there was a bit of an odor in the room. The bathroom was tiny but clean. The reception desk gives you a clear look into the managers apartment as te door was open. That's always a major turn off to me. Probably the best choice in town though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcrouch, General Manager at Rio Del Sol Inn Needles, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to voice your opinion. We value your comments and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Watch for the hotel discount books at rest areas; we found a coupon and gave it a try. Often the coupons are for places that don't look very appealing (and we just drive by), but this worked out well. This used to be a Best Western.

Room was large & comfortable, A/C not too noisy (in August) which is important during a summer in the desert.

No breakfast (which we've come to expect) but fast food across the parking lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcrouch, General Manager at Rio Del Sol Inn Needles, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for staying at the Rio del Sol. We provide coupons for Juicys River Café so you can enjoy a discounted breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Driving from The Grand canyon, South Rim, we were too tired to continue, so we got off at Needles. Initially I thought we would not find anywhere, the area didn't look very nice. Then we crossed over the bridge over the road and saw the Rio del Sol and gave it a try. What a pleasant surprise. Our room was lovely - 2 large beds - we are a family of 4 with 2 teenagers. Tasteful furnishings, nice pictures on the wall, a desk, and hanging/drawer space. Friendly, helpful staff. Despite being a non smoking room, our room unfortunately smelt of smoke. The management kindly offered to change our room, we didn't bother, so they sent up some room freshener, very thoughtful, so all was fixed. There was a pool and sauna too. We ended up staying longer the next morning so that we could all enjoy the pool. Excellent value for money. I would definitely stay there again, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraveLouLou33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcrouch, General Manager at Rio Del Sol Inn Needles, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Rio del Sol Inn is a natural stopping place after a day at the Grand Canyon. We are glad you enjoyed the cool refreshing pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverhead, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My boyfriend and I were traveling to New York and needed to stop in Needles to sleep for the night.
The hotel at first, was a little questionable. I wasn't sure I was going to feel comfortable. The room was surprisingly OK. The bed was pretty comfortable.
The pool area was very nice, and we enjoyed a morning swim.
Overall, if you're driving in, this place is a good deal and you're getting what you're paying for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcrouch, General Manager at Rio Del Sol Inn Needles, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
I am glad we could provide a clean comfortable stay for you during your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Needles hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Colorado River Inn
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Needles
Red Roof Inn Needles
#2 of 13 in Needles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.6 mi away
River Valley Motor Lodge
River Valley Motor Lodge
#5 of 13 in Needles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Needles
2.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Needles
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 13 in Needles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Del Sol Inn Needles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Del Sol Inn Needles

Property: Rio Del Sol Inn Needles
Address: 1111 Pashard St, Needles, CA 92363-2124
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Needles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Needles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rio Del Sol Inn Needles 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rio Del Sol Inn Needles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Del Sol Inn Needles Hotel Needles
Best Western Needles
Needles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing