We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun if you enjoy stepping back in time a bit. The theater is old, with all the charm of yesteryear.”
Review of The Nevada Theatre

The Nevada Theatre
Ranked #5 of 28 things to do in Nevada City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1865, this historical theatre is the oldest operating theatre in California.
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great fun if you enjoy stepping back in time a bit. The theater is old, with all the charm of yesteryear.”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Love, love, love local theater. Husband and I have spent many enjoyable evenings watching local theater productions which were way above what we expected. Nevada City is teeming with talented artists of all persuasions. We recently saw the movie Kon Tiki as well. Beverages, popcorn and candy available or bring your own. Seats are old fashion but it is all part of the ambiance of yesteryear. Go, you will enjoy the experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    6
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Midsummer Night's Dream...WONDERFUL”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

There is something about local theater that warms the heart. Sierra Stages' production of Midsummer Night's Dream is professional, entertaining...amazing. The Nevada Theater is a intimate and perfect setting. There is not a bad seat in the house! Beverages are available for sale and allowed in the theater. I highly recommend!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4everjung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great playhouse”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Love this place. Old world charm and the performances are always good are great! Don't miss this place and Off Broadway if you are in the area. Have a nice dinner in town and see a show afterwards.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bobalou19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Saw local play...fun!”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We like local theater, and it's walking distance to the Inn. It's always a fun experience put on by local people.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelfun56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small town, big performances”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Nevada City is a small town, the caliber of their productions and performances is not! Each production company is doing a great job with different and interesting plays. Love to go with my family and friends, we're never disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JudiWeiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Nevada Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The Nevada Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing