We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic Stay”
Review of Deer Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deer Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Nevada City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Deer Creek Inn from Saturday to Monday (three days, two nights) during the Marti Gras festivities. We had a fantastic time. Our host, Ruth, was very nice and the breakfasts were incredible. We stayed in the room above the kitchen (not sure which name it was) and it was a great room, very comfortable bed. We went to the Inn with friends who had a room next to ours with an adjoining door which made it easy to visit with them as we could open that door when we wanted to talk and visit. The sittings rooms downstairs were peaceful and I spent some time sitting there reading or knitting with soft piano music playing in the background. The shopping/eating establishments were a two minute walk away, which was very convenient. This place is perfect for a romantic getaway. We definitely plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dara2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had a good time with friends at the charming Deer Creek Inn. We enjoyed the evening wine tasting and the terrific breakfast that Ruth, the Innkeeper made for us in the morning. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Had a great trip to Nevada City. I've never been a fan of staying at a B&B, because the experience can have so many variables. Last weekend, my lady and I wanted to take a trip to the gold country and have a great day hiking and evening dining with a little night life. That is exactly what we had. I also want to thank Ruth the general manager at Deer Creek Inn. She knew the locale of Nevada City. Made evening dinner reservations for us at Friar Tucks. We could not of had a better time. The next morning was extra special. The breakfast at Deer Creek Inn was superb. Very relaxing and delicious.
The rooms were very clean and updated. Great weekend thanks to Ruth.

Room Tip: The Gigi room is downstairs and has its own entrance. This can be important if you don't want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveM647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deercreekinn, Owner at Deer Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you so much for the kind words. I hope to see you again real soon. Take Care, Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I stayed one night in the Winifred Room. It was wonderful. The room was super clean, with a clawfoot tub actually in the room! The hot water was ample which is great. I always get disappointed when I stay somewhere and the water is luke warm.

We had wine and homemade limoncello in the afternoon of our check in with Ruth, who was super helpful and accommodating. She gave us a brief history of the house and we hung out for about an hour chatting at her kitchen island. She pointed us to a great restaurant Lefty's Grill which was across the street, and we set off for the evening out. Turns out we didn't even need to leave Lefty's as they had live music playing and plenty of drinks at the bar on a Friday night!

We definitely plan to come back in the future and have recommended the place to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Winifred Room has a balcony that is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

What a wonderful B&B experience we had at Deer Creek Inn. Ruth was warm and welcoming. She made scrumptious breakfasts and was able to accommodate my gluten free needs. Happy hour was a pleasant experience too and gave a opportunity to chat with the other guests.
We stayed in Sheryl's Room and it was comfortably appointed. The king size bed was super. The house is charming and has a great location. We walked everywhere we needed to go within Nevada City. This was such a positive experience that we have reserved a return visit in January 2015.

Room Tip: Corner suite had an additional balcony overlooking the creek. Spring through Fall would be an ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lifetimepartners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Loved our two night stay at this beautiful B&B - Ruth's fabulous breakfasts and delicious nibbles with wine in the evening were highlights to be sure, but we enjoyed the whole ambiance and welcoming feel of the house and its beautiful creekside location. It's a long way from England, but should we find ourselves again in Nevada City, we shall certainly stay at this wonderful place. And Ruth, you really MUST write that cookbook, and when you do, please let us know!

Room Tip: I'm sure they are all just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nepenthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I spent the most relaxing, lovely weekend at Deer Creek Inn recently. I was running away from home, work, stress and wanted a quiet weekend. I thought I wanted to be alone all weekend, but what I didn't realize was how much I appreciated interacting with the wonderful guests at breakfast and again with a glass of wine in the evening. And the breakfasts were delicious! Ruth was gracious, knowledgeable about Nevada City and the surrounding area, fun to talk with and a fantastic chef.

I stayed in the Gigi room downstairs overlooking the creek and with its own entrance. Great views, comfortable bed, nice bathroom - what else could I ask for? It was quiet and peaceful. I did see most of the other rooms during my stay and they all have their own wonderful individual personalities. The Inn is a block from the beginning of Broad Street and an easy walk to and from the shopping and restaurants.

I had such a nice time, I made a pledge to myself to do this at least every six months.

Room Tip: Check out the photos and descriptions to help you pick the room for your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_Cantrell831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.3 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#5 of 5 in Nevada City
121 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
397 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
147 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Creek Inn

Address: 116 Nevada St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range: £140 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Creek Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored Queen Anne creekside Victorian within walking distance to shopping, theater, restaurants and music in quaint Nevada City, California. All rooms have private baths, some with clawfoot tubs but totally upgraded to meet today's experienced traveler. Some rooms include private balconies that overlook the award winning gardens and everflowing Deer Creek. Come visit and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Deer Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Creek Hotel Nevada City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing