We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
National Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Northern Queen Inn(Nevada City)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nevada City Inn(Nevada City)
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Broad Street Inn(Nevada City)
US$169
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Lodge(Grass Valley)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gold Miners Inn(Grass Valley)
US$180
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holbrooke Hotel(Grass Valley)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sierra Mountain Inn(Grass Valley)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outside Inn(Nevada City)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
10
18
14
19
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
18
14
19
59
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This was our 2nd time staying at this hotel. No, it's not a 5 star hotel it's more than that. It has history and character from the Gold Rush days. If you're expecting the conveniences of hotels of today then this hotel is not for you. The best part is going outside on the balcony and watching the events on the main street. You can walk every where.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petals210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Such a shame.
It's a beautiful location, right in town & a beautiful old building with lots of history.
However, I would guess the last make over was during the 1950's.
OMG, dark, dull, tired - our first room didn't have a shower. The second room the shower over the bath worked fine, but the water didn't drain quickly enough and the bath filled up!
And the retailers in town all apologised when we said where we had stayed!!!!
This place is desperate for a refurbishment.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank EvsFetcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Built in 1856, this hotel is in a great location and does bring a bit of the gold rush days to life; however, the rooms are not up to standards of today. We felt the room was reasonably clean, but the furnishings and the carpet were extremely tired. Sitting on the chairs was not comfortable. The mattress was really bad and one of us slept on the daybed in our suite, which did have a reasonable mattress. The bathroom was very small – you could literally wash your hands while on the toilet. The bar and restaurant looked very inviting, but on a Saturday night, there was no one in the restaurant, so we went elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bettyobradCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Dinner was very good in the hotel fyi. (Glad I didn't view the kitchen) I was looking for a place to plug my phone in, when I pulled back mattress a bit all I saw was dust and cobwebs up against the fitted sheet, had of been there for years (gross) mattress was on a sheet of plywood, so bed wasn't really comfortable. Ant's in bathroom along with wet spot's on the floor around toilet.

Yes, it is haunted :) Finally after the clothing armoire opened on it's own 4 times after being closed and latched we knew there was a odd feeling in the place. After my husband yelled at it to take what it wanted and leave, the door remained closed. Very interesting.

Very old, dusty and dirty.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Leovista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the suite. Room was pretty bad. Decor, furniture, and beds were all from the 70's. i would not stay here again. This place is a total dump. I have no idea how they are still in business. The carpet throughout the room and hotel was dirty, musty, and very strange. No screens on the windows. Frankly, this place needs an inspection by the Board of Health.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Cokemarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews