We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Where local drunks come to pass out'- from the mouth of the receptionist”
Review of National Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
National Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, IL
13
Reviewed 17 May 2006

After being woken up for the 3rd time by other patrons at 1 am on May 6th, I went to the desk clerk to notify her of the noise. She replied with words to the effect of "oh well a lot of the locals like to book rooms here if they are too drunk to drive home. It's cheaper than a DUI I guess." To be fair, catering to pathetic drunks in Nevada City may be a profitable strategy, but it does not ensure a goodnight's sleep for anyone else. I would definitely not recommend the National Hotel for anyone looking for a place to stay in Nevada City, especially on a weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2006

We stayed in a very small room at the back of the hotel that was well worn, but thats half the character of the hotel and the location.
This is fine if you dont want a bland, plush corporate hotel.
There is an excellent balcony out front where you can sit and watch the street and drink your own cocktails - and its right in the middle of the town

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EricHalfaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Nevada City
17
Reviewed 28 February 2006

I live in Nevada City and spend time at The National. It, along with the entire town, is historical. The reason why the hotel might not be at par with some standards is because we intend on keeping our town historical. Much of the hotel is in its original condition. Past presidents and many celebrities have stayed here and you can see the signatures on display. Some say the hotel is haunted. But, if your going to stay in a historical town in the middle of the mountains thats been around the 1800's, what else would you expect? If you want 5 star luxury, try Reno. Its only an hour away. But even though I live in town, we still rent rooms at The National about once a month just to take a step back in history. Also, underground is all tunnels from the miners who searched for gold in 1949. Hence the footbal team the 49ers.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2006

The 19th century hotel is quite impressive when you see the front lobby, restaurant, barroom and the large parlor upstairs that you can’t resist to stay the night….that is until you get a room. The rooms smelled of mold, have thin walls so you can hear your neighbor, and the rooms were furnished with old beat-up 1950-60s furniture. My first room was ridiculously tiny, extremely gloomy, reeked of cigars (even though it was a non-smoking room), and had traffic noise. I asked for another room and it was slightly better, but not great or worth the money. I would’ve gone to another hotel, but being a holiday week, other places were booked. To make matters worse, the bathroom door wouldn’t shut and I was terribly awaken when my bed broke and collapsed in the middle of the night. Lastly, the restaurant service was bad (although the food was good) and the bartenders were unfriendly and rude. I wasn’t the only one unhappy; the next morning when I was checking out, a customer in front of me was complaining about the bad service and smelly rooms. A few months later, while I was showing a friend the old town, I gave the hotel another chance. We went to the hotel’s bar for a drink and once again, the bartender was rude, so we walked out. I was very disappointed with this hotel and will never set foot in there again and advise others to do the same.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MarcelleBros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Fair Oaks, CA
119
Reviewed 26 December 2004

I've been to the National Hotel many times over the past 13 years and have never had a bad experience. The hotel has alway been what I would expect from one its age, which I do not mind. My last stay was the first since the new owner has taken over. It will definitely be my last.

My daughters and I planned to enjoy Nevada City's Victorian Christmas festival, so we booked a room 2 months in advance. We arrived 45 minutes after the allowed check-in time, but were told our room was not ready. In fact, it wasn't ready for another 3 1/2 hours and two more trips to the front desk. The front desk clerk was apathetic toward us and rude. When we finally got our room, we found the bathroom had not been cleaned nor the soap and shampoo replaced. The front desk clerk said she would have fresh product sent up, but never did.

In the morning, we went to the hotel restaurant for breakfast. It has always been good and we had discount coupons from the hotel. We waited for over 15 minutes to be seated with the hostess standing across the restaurant staring off into space. Most of the tables were vacant and there was no one else waiting. It was 9:00 a.m. I finally approached the hostess and asked to be seated. She REFUSED to seat us, stating she didn't want to get any of her tables dirty because she was having a large group in at noon. AT NOON! Did I mention that it was only 9:00 a.m.? I went to the front desk for some sort of recourse, only to be met again with apathy. The desk clerk, completely ignoring the hotel restaurant complaint, quickly referred me to one of the other restaurants in town... which were all standing room only and 45 - 60 minute waits.

Needless to say, this closes the book on the National Hotel for me. There are plenty of good B&B's in town for the same money, or more good stuff just down the hill in Grass Valley.

19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2004

this place was a real step back into history. the biggest thrill we had was to realize that this place even his some visitors from the past. we plan on staying there again!!

9  Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2004

I don't disagree with the previous reviews, but the National was sold to a new owner last year. You might want to check and see if they've refurbished any of the rooms. They greatly needed it. However lumpy the mattress and scalding the bath water, the National was an antique lover's dream when I last stayed there in 2002. The elderly owner had vast rooms full of antiques that I longed to purchase from him. He wasn't selling, which probably was why he had so many. If I'd known he was going to sell the hotel I would have been tempted to buy it for the antiques alone.
The place is gorgeous. The National Bar is one of my favorite places on earth (don't stay for the music, think of it as a quiet respite for a Sunday afternoon Mimosa). The bartenders are professional and friendly. Look at the lights and the woodwork in the bar. Everything is authentic, it was there 100 years ago. It's simply an incredible place.

8  Thank MBMfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.2 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#5 of 5 in Nevada City
121 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
145 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
128 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel

Address: 211 Broad St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2501
Region: United States > California > Nevada City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Price Range: £59 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing