We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck”
Review of Nevada City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nevada City Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
san francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yuck”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

We pulled up at 3 pm to find no one at the front desk. So as ya do, im standing there looking behind the desk into totally disordered filthy piles o'mess, sheets on the dirty floor business papers and dirty dishes. We look over to the sidetable where the remnants and crumbs of the continental breakfast still hadnt been cleaned away. We were there for a friends wedding, and we'd already paid. So when we got to the room we changed, but one look into the smelly moldy shower told me we were driving home that night. Which we gladly did. Ewwww. The rooms were old and shabby and only cleaned cursorily, and the grounds were only a little better. The pictures show cute cabins but we were put into a room in a typical 1 floor bungalow motel. The staff was curteous if a bit surly, but I imagine the look of disgust on my face probably had something to do with that. I will just add that if the hotel owner wants to keep her own office space a mess she should hide it behind a door or something. The mess being the first thing you see really didnt help matters.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucreze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    19
    14
    18
    24
See reviews for
22
29
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hydesville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great concept and setting. Poorly executed. Needs to be completely renovated and updated. Very worn down and out. Management appears to lack the motivation to make things better. Housekeeping was pretty much minimal, if at all. It could be a great place but just isn't at this time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jezzejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nevada City hotels

Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights and was satisfied with the inn's cleanliness, location, quietness and, especially, affordability -- I got a deal for $60/night, hard to beat in Nevada City. Then I got home and discovered my arms and torso were covered in bed bug bites. (Sometimes the bites don't show up for a couple days.) Since I've never had any trouble with bed bugs at home I'm certain I picked them up here. If you plan to stay here make sure you ask the management if they've treated the rooms for bed bugs. I stayed in Room 9.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveler68501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nevada city
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We came here due to a lack of other available places to stay in town and despite the shaky reviews, did not expect such a poorly managed and maintained establishment. From the holes in the walls, ripped matresses, stained sheets, cob webs in the corners of the walls (need I say more), this place is a complete mess. Oh yea, how about the filthy coffee maker as a nice touch for this place right out of the a hithcock movies. Cigaratte butts litter the sidewalk, that does not look like it has been cleaned in months. I realize this is a low end hotel, but come-on, can we just CLEAN THIS FILTHY PLACE UP! It makes one wonder just what the manager is doing all day and whether he actually is aware of the condition of this place or simply content to throw tennis balls for his dog all day long. Needless to say, we recommend avoiding this rats nest and instead try a place that actually makes an attempt at providing a comforatable stay for it's guests.

Room Tip: Avoid this place at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vallejo, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Bed was a rock!!!; flat pillows; room was small and cramped; sheets were old and worn; no screens in the windows so no fresh air; AC was noisy and didn't work well; TV was tiny -- and you couldn't see it if you opened the bathroom door; no channel guide; no pen and paper; no mirrors (except small one in bathroom); electrical outlet in bathroom came out of wall when you unplugged anything; weird shower faucets; vinyl edging in bathroom was poorly installed and stuck out at angles; linoleum was torn; no lights in the stairwell; no pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandolinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We have stayed here before, but it wasn't in this shape! We stayed here to bring in the New Year. Check in was a mild nightmare. The rooms need quit a bit of work. IE... Needs new carpet, showers need new tile, new TV's, Bed spread had a burn mark, (in non-smoking rooms!) a friends room bathroom sink was clogged and the "handyman" couldn't clear it. On the plus size, our bed was comfortable. The Inn is pet friendly. Two rooms aren't rentable due to the OWNER not wanting to invest money in the property, Whom owns SEVERAL Best Westerns throughout the state. The property is clean but not well laid out. The firepit is near a gas main and right next to the road. There was no wall to block the wind. The manager did her best to make sure we were all comfortable. For $76.00 on a New Years night, was definetly priced right.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Django G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.7 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
101 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
361 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
232 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
126 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Madison House B & B
The Madison House B & B
#2 of 6 in Nevada City
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nevada City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nevada City Inn

Property: Nevada City Inn
Address: 760 Zion St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2933
Region: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nevada City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nevada City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nevada City Hotel Nevada City
Nevada City Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing