We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Piece of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Broad Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broad Street Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Anselmo, California
1 review
“A Little Piece of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Enjoyed my stay at Broad Street Inn. It's a warm, quiet and inviting inn with nice decor. All the little touches are thoughtful, unexpected and make it special. It's also a green certified business. Great location - walking distance to all the shops and resturants. The hostess was very friendly as well as her sweet little dog. Upstairs there was a very playful kitty that would run back & forth in the hallway. Next time I visit Neveda City, I hope to stay at Broad Street Inn!

Room Tip: I really liked my room & decor. I stayed in Room #3. Pretty orange wall with pretty comforter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulabrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroadStreetInn, Owner at Broad Street Inn, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your positive review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the house critters! We look forward to another visit from you if you're in the area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    20
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
79
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Quiet, friendly and very clean and comfortable rooms and decorated nicely. There is tea and coffee available in the sun room. No breakfast, but the bakery is just down the road with many choices for breakfast.

Room Tip: Upstairs is great, but EXTREMELY steep stairs. Ask for the downstairs room if you have mobility issu...
See more room tips
Green Features: Nevada City is an environmentally friendly place and this Inn practices this.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brickhouse64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroadStreetInn, Owner at Broad Street Inn, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for the great review you left last month! We're pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay. We hope to see you again!

Cheers,

Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janesville, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Best place to stay. Walking distance to local restaurants, shops and wine. Updated B&B with all amenities and nice common areas. Pets are welcome with advance notice. The hostess was very friendly and helpful. The sun room have a refrigerator, toaster, microwave, tea and coffee 24 hours. There were wine glasses and an opener for our wine we bought in town at Szabo's. They do not starve breakfast but it is still a great please to stay and we'll priced. We will stay again!

Green Features: This was a green B&B. pets are also welcome with advance notice.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroadStreetInn, Owner at Broad Street Inn, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you Stacey! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Great place, warm, super clean and very inviting. Wish we could have spent more time enjoying. Great walking distance to old town Nevada City. If we are back in that area will stay there again and for more than one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroadStreetInn, Owner at Broad Street Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Bill,

We sure enjoyed having the two of you! Thank you for the cattle education! We'd love to have you back if you're in the area again! Thanks for the great review!

Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goleta, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We decided to stay at Broad Street Inn, because my grandma used to own the house, and I actually lived in it when I was a newborn baby. I have memories of playing in it as a small child and I wanted to see how much I remembered and how much has changed. My grandma never lived in it, but had dreams of turning it into a bed & breakfast. Now 30 years later, it's a lovely inn. The exterior is much the same as it was 30 years ago, but additional rooms were built in the house. The Inn is impeccably clean, with tasteful decor. Our room, #2, was bright, on the second floor, and facing the street. The inn's website has pictures of each room, patios, sun room, etc. so you really will know what to expect. Although we only stayed one night, we really had an ideal stay in Nevada City. We swam in the Yuba river, had delicious dinner at Lefties on the patio overlooking a river, gelato at Treats, then after a comfortable night of sleep at Broad Street Inn, in the morning another delicious meal at South Pine Cafe. All of the restaurants are within walking distance. The Inn is a very cute victorian house. Even if I did not feel nostalgic about the place, I think I would have felt welcome and right at home there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluespoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroadStreetInn, Owner at Broad Street Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! I'm glad we could be apart of some special memories of you and your grandmother. It was nice that you were able to enjoy all of our town favorites too!

Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

The Broad Street Inn is a gem. We had scheduled a one night stopover in Nevada City, and on arrival wish we'd been able to stay longer. The guest house itself is very conveniently located at the top of the tree-lined main street with parking outside, and has a front porch with seating and a lovely rear garden which is illuminated at night. Once checked in, guests have a front door key and can enter directly rather than going through the main reception, offering a good degree of privacy and independence if that's what you prefer. Rooms were clean, light and airy and tastefully decorated with comfortable beds and high quality furniture. They were the ideal size for a couple - there was room on the floor for a fold out mattress for a child but this did make things very cosy. It felt more like a home from home than a guest house, in the best possible way. It did seem more of a couples' getaway than a place for young families, though, and having arrived from Lassen I was quite concerned about a grubby son getting on the furniture before we could get him in the bath!

There's lots to do in the local area - Yuba Valley park is supposed to be wonderful, Nevada City itself has good restaurants and eclectic shops for a morning's wandering, and there are the nearby gold rush towns. South Pines cafe does fantastic breakfasts; Sopa Thai has a lovely patio for a satisfying evening meal. And don't get me started on Treats ice cream shop...! I hope one day we can go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroadStreetInn, Owner at Broad Street Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you Emma for your kind review! We LOVED having you, grubby boy and all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Old world charm with modern amenities. Excellent location , just a stones throw from the heart of Nevada City. The hosts were extraordinary. It was an excellent abode for our 22nd wedding anniversary .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacifisticviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroadStreetInn, Owner at Broad Street Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
We're happy that you chose to spend your anniversary with us! Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.5 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
0.3 mi away
Deer Creek Inn
Deer Creek Inn
#1 of 7 in Nevada City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broad Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broad Street Inn

Property: Broad Street Inn
Address: 517 W Broad St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2115
Region: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Broad Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1870, Broad Street Inn is a small, family-owned green business that prides itself on providing clean, comfortable accommodations at affordable rates. Located in historic downtown Nevada City, our Victorian inn offers six contemporary rooms. Our peaceful garden setting is perfect for a relaxing getaway.Each of our rooms has a Queen-size bed, a private bathroom with a tub shower, cable TV and free Wi-Fi. Our sunroom has freshly brewed coffee from local roasters and organic tea, a refrigerator, microwave, toaster, wine glasses, and bottle openers. In order to keep our prices reasonable, we do not serve breakfast, but we encourage our guests to take advantage of the amazing restaurants downtown that serve reasonably-priced and delicious breakfast.We are dog friendly and will happily provide lodging for your furry friends if arrangements are made beforehand. If you're looking for a boutique motel experience with a home away from home feel, you've found the place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Broad Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing