We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Emma Nevada House-Love It!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emma Nevada House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Emma Nevada House
Ranked #3 of 7 Nevada City B&B and Inns
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Emma Nevada House-Love It!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Beautiful B&B, gorgeous rooms, just a few steps from " downtown" Nevada City. The breakfasts are fabulous and the innkeepers, Jim and Katherine make you feel right at home! Definitely a 5 star establishment!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wobbie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    16
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
149
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were looking for a special place to hold my Mother's 80th birthday celebration and found Emma Nevada House. Katherine and Jim were very accommodating and helpful as we planned the party. They included many "niceties" that would never have been offered in a larger, more formal venue.
We had caterers come in (they LOVED the kitchen!) to serve a brunch in the two lovely dining areas. The back deck was set up for us to enjoy, we had a video of lifetime family photos running in the parlor and the two couches in the living room were cozy for those who just wanted to relax after a yummy brunch.
It was a truly delightful day and my Mom will never forget what a very special treat it was to spend the afternoon with her family at Emma Nevada House. Thank you so much, Katherine and Jim!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaD831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San francisco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

What an inviting and welcoming establishment! From the inn keepers Jim and Catherine, to the welcoming ambiance of the home. The inn keepers were exceptionally welcoming and attentive. The rooms were beautiful and wrapped us up like a home made quilt. The breakfast was exquisite and presented with flare. We had a revitalizing weekend that has resparked our love. The inn keepers intimate knowledge of the local area and fare kept us captivated. We highly recommend the Emma Nevada house to anyone looking for that fabulous getaway weekend. We can't wait for our next visit. Thanks Jim and Catherine!!! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I don't usually write reviews, but the Emma Nevada experience keeps coming back to me so thought it was time to change that. My husband and I were visiting the area in August and were fortunate to stay a night at Emma Nevada. Just a few minutes walk from downtown Nevada City with its restaurants, entertainment, and gift shops we found Emma Nevada House nestled in a quiet neighborhood. Past its charming front gate it fits right in with this historic gold rush town. The period décor invites you to lounge and plan events for the next day. Ambience, check. Location, check. Plush bed, check, check. But did I mention the element that makes all of this come together for the most memorable experience. The proprietors, Katherine and Jim. Not only for the "make you feel at home" warmth of their welcome but their knowledge of and enthusiasm for Nevada City and its many attractions provides an added dimension for any stay. With all of this you might think it could be the wonderful breakfast that greets you the next morning that could bring you back. But instead it is Katherine and Jim that leave you with the impression that you have spent time somewhere you will surely want to visit again. Lynn A., Austin, TX

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great location! Walk to downtown. Rooms were beautiful, so was the rest of the house. All rooms were unique and great decor. Breakfast was awesome. Very much recommend a stay here! Easy parking. Both Host's were very friendly. They recommended places to eat and visit. Where they suggested to eat was excellent food. Would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denisezhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
186 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Given the name, I thought Emma ran the B&B! But no, it's Catherine and Jim that operate this wonderfully cozy, Victorian style B&B right in the heart of Nevada City.

There are two reasons why you will adore this place: (1) you literally feel like you've come to someone's home and will feel immediately at place; (2) Catherine & Jim put all their heart and soul in to making sure you're having a wonderful time.

Oh ... the breakfasts are to die for! Every morning a gourmet delicacy. From various soufflés, to pancakes or simply scrambled eggs, sitting on the back patio while eating a hearty breakfast is a great way to start the day.

The B&B has 6 bedrooms, three on the top floor (loft style) and three on the ground floor. My preference is definitely the ground floor where the rooms are bigger. We had the Empress' Chamber, which I think is the biggest room.

Just make sure you arrive by car ... for other than the small historical centre in Nevada City, which is within walking distance of Emma, all the other beautiful sites are a car drive away.

Now go ahead and book it ...

Room Tip: I would take the rooms on the ground floor, which are more spacious. Empress' Chamber or Mignon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bojantercon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We've just returned from 5 magical days in Nevada City that began when we stepped inside the Emma Nevada House & were warmly greeted (despite the late hour) by our hostess Katherine. She and husband Jim graciously provide the comforts and coziness of home plus attentive service in an elegantly restored Victorian. Each morning we followed the aroma of Sumatra coffee, slab bacon, homemade scones and other delights to the enchanting deck where delicious, beautifully presented breakfasts were accompanied by delightful conversations. Perfection!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsb805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.5 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
0.3 mi away
Deer Creek Inn
Deer Creek Inn
#1 of 7 in Nevada City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emma Nevada House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emma Nevada House

Property: Emma Nevada House
Address: 528 E Broad St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing