We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“liked it so much i mite be reviewing it twice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Emma Nevada House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Emma Nevada House
Ranked #3 of 7 Nevada City B&B and Inns
ca
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“liked it so much i mite be reviewing it twice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

What a charming B&B in a charming town. Exceeded only by the friendly helpfulness of Jim and Katherine. And the breakfast was terriffic. These folks have a lot of energy and it shows in the comfy details and ambiance of this fine old house. (and i'm sorry my husband ate all the afternoon cookies!) Definitely a be-backer! Thanks for your personal caring!

Room Tip: ground floor if you don't want to schlep your luggage up those quaint victorian stairs! We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaSharita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    16
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
150
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Emma House, Nevada City CA, is a well-appointed old-style wooden manse in excellent repair. The rooms are spacious, charming, and clean, with a classical 19th century American West feel. The beds are comfy, the bathrooms are clean and modern-quaint, the towels are plenty and fluffy, the shower is great (mine was, anyway), and the water is plentiful and hot.

Emma House is in easy walking distance from down-town Nevada City. Proprietors Katherine and Jim are authentically friendly, charming, and ever helpful with advice on what to do and where to go. Breakfast is gourmet, starting with Katherine's small yogurt-fruit-granola parfait and possibly ending with her heart-shaped 3-egg cheddar-spinach souffle (outstanding).

Nevada City is Sierra steep, with plenty of charming shops, some excellent restaurants (New Moon Cafe for $$$$ gourmet, Lefty's Grill for $$ excellent down-home meals including vegetarian), wine-tasting, and lots of nearby mountain trails for walks, road-biking for nature's philistines, or serious trekking. If you're a coffee-lover, the only place with Peet's is "Nevada City Eats" on Union Alley off the bottom of Broad Street.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This lovely Bed & Breakfast is filled with period furnishings and local art. The hosts are warm, friendly and eager to share stories about the home, the art, and the town. Breakfasts were scrumptious and served outside on the porch. I loved that so much of the house integrated with nature. We stayed in the very comfortable Mockingbird's Nest room. I wish I could submit pictures with this review. We will definately return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmhavingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

B&B hosts Katherine and Jim made us feel extra special at our recent getaway to the Sierra foothills. They were happy to supply information about local goings-on and make reservations at popular restaurants. The inn is impeccably run and beautifully appointed without being cluttered. There is a well-kept garden and outdoor seating on the decks and porches. The communal breakfast tables and delicious homemade food brought out the best in everyone. We found ourselves lingering in conversation even after the meal had ended.

You can't beat the location either: just a block from all the shops, restaurants, and theater but on a peaceful street. Our three days there felt more like a restful full week.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsverdloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I finally got to spend a few days at Emma Nevada House and found it to be the perfect getaway.
We were fortunate to stay in the bridal suite and what a beautiful room that was. The breakfasts were gourmet quality and the owners were delightful. Am looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: The ground floor has two very large rooms that are lovely. I would go online to view the rooms befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I had a chance to stay for four days at this wonderful Bed and Breakfast House in Nevada City, Ca. The innkeepers (Jim and Katherine) were extremely helpful and friendly and the cookies and breakfast was tasty and well attended. I would recommend anyone to stay there and have fun. Paul Heaton

Room Tip: First floor rooms were the best in my opinion and close to the coffee served all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We happened on this unique spot on a road trip around northern CA. Jim and Katherine could not have been more welcoming and informative. The room we chose was absolutely perfect in every detail: spotless, warm, well appointed...it was just wonderful. We were advised of hiking trails that were close and had a very nice view of the river that runs through town. The afternoon popcorn treat was a unique experience. We followed the hosts' recommendations for dinner at Lefty's Grill and were fed well in the bustling down-home eatery. We walked around the neat town and checked out the numerous restaurants and found several that we would have gone to but were happy with the recommendation and our final choice. Very cool live music too. Breakfast was one of the finest we have had at a B and B: served nicely, good portions, and tasty as well. Our one and only regret was that we arrived on a Friday night, without reservations, and could not stay another night since they were booked up on Saturday night. We would have altered our trip to stay another night. If you are in the area, be sure to check this one out. You will not be disappointed. Thanks loads, Jim and Katherine! Aloha, Bill and Chris

Room Tip: We liked the first room on the right as you enter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.1 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
0.3 mi away
Deer Creek Inn
Deer Creek Inn
#1 of 7 in Nevada City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emma Nevada House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emma Nevada House

Property: Emma Nevada House
Address: 528 E Broad St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing