We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Outside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Outside Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Certificate of Excellence
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I had my kids and grand kids up for the weekend, they took up our whole house, so my husband and I planned a night time vacation at the Outside Inn. It was a perfect choice as we could enjoy the family but get away for some private time. The River Room was comfortable, immaculately clean, the perfect size for the two of us. We also enjoyed the swimming pool!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judi959592013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    76
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
70
153
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Just got back from a 2 night stay at the Outside Inn. This was our second time staying there. The first time we stayed in the cottage...it was fabulous and the deck so beautiful. This time we stayed in the Celestial Room with our dog. It was lovely. The pool was a god sent and we loved the outdoor shower!
We love the town and the cute shops and wine tasting.
We will be back and highly recommend this to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scubachic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed in the River Room, You can listen to the creek at night from that room. The Outside Inn is a great place to stay, Its where I stay in Nevada City. It is clean, cozy, and comfortable.
The staff is so friendly. It is a home away from home. Just a short walk from downtown and a beautiful location,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaL1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights: The first in The River Room and the second in The Winter Room. Both rooms were well kept and very comfortable. Both rooms were located in the same building as the front desk area. The Winter Room had a kitchenette and a back door that went out to the water, we enjoyed having these accommodations. The front desk staff was very friendly and gave us some great pointers on where to find good food. We loved being able to walk to the market, fun shops, galleries and restaurants. The swimming pool was in a nice private area & looked clean. In the mornings and the evenings, the back of the main bldg. where the babbling brook runs & chairs are placed for sitting to enjoy...this was our favorite area! The "firefly" ambiance that is created in this area at night was a fun touch. We didn't get to use the awesome outside shower, but we will defiantly be going back. So, we will use it next time. The private Cabin & Cottage looked really neat for a family to use. This property was really comfortable, unique and friendly!

Room Tip: The front desk building hosts the rooms that backsides face the little river and "firefly"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed in the Paddlers Suite and it is very nice accommodation and so useful having a the kitchen.

The motel is just a short walk from the centre of Nevada City and easy access back onto the highway to get to places such as Grass Valley.

The only thing we didn't like was finding housetipping tip envelopes when they are from the owners. Having mentioned this the staff are very friendly.

A nice place to eat is Bistro 221 towards the bottem of town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank packingbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

This is a wonderful old-style motel which has been renovated to a very high standard.The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well-equipped.The swimming pool was especially welcome in the 100f heat.Erin was a gracious hostess,always willing to help. The hotel is very well positioned,easy to drive to on arrival and easy to walk down into town.

Room Tip: They all looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here 2 nights in the Tour of Nevada room. The room was good and comfortable, and we really enjoyed the pool in the 100 degree heat. Outside Inn is quietly located away from the centre of town, and is a short walk in. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyAJoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.2 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
1.1 mi away
Nevada City Inn
Nevada City Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outside Inn

Property: Outside Inn
Address: 575 E Broad St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2243
Region: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 1940's era motor court inn with unique themed rooms, located in a quiet residential neighborhood just two blocks from downtown Nevada City. Wireless DSL, Cable, Summer Pool, BBQs, and Outdoor Fire Pit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Outside Hotel Nevada City
Outside Motel Nevada City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing