We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get inside at the Outside Inn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Outside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Outside Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Certificate of Excellence
Davis, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get inside at the Outside Inn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

There is so much to love about the Outside Inn. It is the perfect place to stop and rest after adventures in Nevada City and the surrounding area. I love to stay there in the summer with a girlfriend when we spend the weekend at the swimming holes on the Yuba River or when my family takes a fall field trip and Nevada City provides the perfect setting for leaf peeping. Outside Inn is clean yet funky, fun, silly, spacious, helpful, and great value. You can walk to everything from there and the owners and staff are super knowledgeable and friendly. I send everyone there that is looking for a great weekend get-away. Plus, this last trip we found out that Nevada City really gets dressed up for Halloween. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: We love the rock climbing suite b/c it has a climbing wall inside and is bigger but all the rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raychel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    76
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
70
153
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Our stay at the a outside Inn was a unique and wonderful experience. We were there during the Halloween Holiday and the festive decorations and haunted trail were a real treat for us. The Inn was very clean, warm and cozy. A few of our friends stayed at the Outside Inn and the decor in every room was wonderful and different. We had everything we needed in our room including a refrigerator, stove and sitting area in the kitchen. There was a rock climbing wall and we wished the grand kids were with us to enjoy it. We loved making breakfast and coffee in our room in the morning. The staff at the Outside Inn were all very friendly and accommodating to our needs. I would definitely recommend it to my friends and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Share your needs when making reservations, the staff is very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeePorcelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I have wanted to visit this inn for quite some time. I was given the opportunity when my son said he had some vacation time but no $$ to go anywhere. I invited him and his girlfriend to accompany me to Nevada City, CA to stay at the Outside Inn with me. We had our heart set on The Cottage but there were no vacancies.

So - we chose The Paddlers Suite for the couple and The Winter Room for me. We both loved our rooms and the peaceful ambiance of Nevada City. The inn is in a great location - a short walk to the old part of town allowed us to wander around on our own schedules.

Erin and the rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Erin is an accomplished photographer and she is very passionate about the inn and Nevada City in general. She has stocked the office/reception area with a lot of information, including very specific hiking and biking trail info.

The whole town was decorated for Fall and Halloween and it was a charming long weekend for us. The rooms were very comfortable and the kitchen and kitchenette were very well stocked. I can highly recommend the Outside Inn and hope to return again!

Room Tip: I liked the rooms that had back doors leading out to the creek and firepit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATerrapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aurora, colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I were part of a group of 5 couples that went to Nevada City/Grass Valley area to visit some wineries. All 10 of us stayed at Outside Inn. We all had a great time. The accommodations were perfect for us! The staff was great. I would highly recommend this quaint hotel for anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruiserdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma County
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

My recent stay at the OI was as wonderful as previous visits. There is just something so welcoming and comforting about this little gem of a hotel. My room was small and very comfy...the decor is really charming and not overwhelming. In the in room coffee is delicious and they even have 1/2 and 1/2! The staff could not be better...super friendly and efficient...always helpful. In front of the office there's a spot with little baskets where locals leave fresh fruit and veggies...it does get much better. I have stayed here maybe 4 times....happy memories linger from previous visits...it feels like "coming home" in a way. I am planning to revisit in Dec for the Dicken's Christmas event... and I will keep coming back - I love Nevada City and the Outside Inn!!!!

Room Tip: each room is different and a bit whimsical....the 2 bedroom cottage is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Four girlfriends on a w/e trip to a craft fair, we decided to spend a little time in Nevada City. We were able to rent the Cottage at the Outside Inn, where we checked in, unpacked, settled in with a glass of wine on the deck and a walk thru the lovely neighborhood where the trees were just starting to change color. Had a great dinner at Lefty's Grill (many menu's to look through in the office) and then back to the Cottage where we played cards until bedtime. Four women, yet more than enough towels, washcloths, dishtowels.....and lots of really hot water! The next morning two of us walked the short distance to downtown and bought bagels which we brought back to our Cottage and shared with each other along with coffee, all snuggled and warm on a somewhat overcast early fall day. The leaves were just starting to color the path that runs behind the office along the creek (when there's water) up to the cottage. The artwork was so fun - painted metal flowers, turtles, big bird, and loved the quilt with the birds perched on top, oh, and don't forget the hammock!. Hard to describe but so enjoyable to share. And there's a firepit with firewood if you want to sit out and enjoy nature! Very reasonable prices, very comfortable, and all the things you think you need are there for you. Can't wait to go back!.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socalgal1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishertown PA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

My wife and son , as well as myself . TOTALLY enjoyed our stay at this inn . . . we had arrived in on The Amtrak California Zephyr at Colfax and then drove up to Nevada City , a quintessential foothills town. We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed the unique themes that were used to decorate the various rooms. The inn has a really nice setting , with many outdoor areas to hang out at as well as utilize ( pool , sitting areas , picnic tables , barbeque area , open fire area , and an office with much useful information for the surrounding areas ). The inn also has a lot of neat art on the grounds as well as attached to the building itself. The employees at the the inn were SUPER helpful and exhibited a friendly and positive attitude. We will visit this place again and if you are going to the foothills of The Sierra Nevada Mountains , check out Nevada City and The Outside Inn !

Room Tip: The Autumn Room is very "comfy" for a couple and The Outside In Room is really COOL for ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredveteran56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.2 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
1.1 mi away
Nevada City Inn
Nevada City Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outside Inn

Property: Outside Inn
Address: 575 E Broad St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2243
Region: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 1940's era motor court inn with unique themed rooms, located in a quiet residential neighborhood just two blocks from downtown Nevada City. Wireless DSL, Cable, Summer Pool, BBQs, and Outdoor Fire Pit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Outside Hotel Nevada City
Outside Motel Nevada City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing