We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fairytale room!”
Review of Outside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Outside Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level Contributor
119 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A fairytale room!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had not planned any overnight stay in Nevada City but when we saw how charming this little town is, we decided to look for a place to sleep and went to ask at the Tourist Office. So it was thanks to them how we found the Outside Inn where there still was an available room: Room 3 1/2 (three and a half), a very funny number for a room, isn't it? This was certainly a good start which became even a better story because the room was tastefully decorated. It is true that it is a small room (that explains why it is number 3 1/2 and why it is only equipped with 2 single but comfortable beds, a hanging flat TV, a small radio set, a small fridge, a small desk and a chair) but it was more than enough for the two of us and our luggage. Moreover the existing furniture allows you in the end to find space for everything, so the size of the room was not a problem at all. And both the room and the ensuite bathroom were spotless.
In regards to the location, this is a quiet and safe area and which is not far from downtown. Actually we left our car in front of our room and just walked to the center.
The only thing that was not as good as in other places is that the price (we paid 87$) didn't include any breakfast. Nevertheless we were satisfied and we even felt somehow special for having slept in a room with such a funny number.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwaladar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    77
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
70
156
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here for a girls night out, wanting to enjoy dinner and dessert in town and not wanting to worry about having to my drive home afterwards. My guests were from out of town and this would be their first experience of the "little town up in the hills" I had moved away from them for....I wanted their impression to be a good one. Outside Inn did not disappoint. We attended a wine event, we shopped, we explored the Grass Valley and Nevada City downtown areas... we dined....we laughed...and did I mention we shopped (Nevada County has great local shops)? The jewel of the crown of our stay here was Outside Inn. When I phoned ahead to explain why we were staying, they recommended the perfect creek side cabin which was a standalone home adjacent to the property called "The Cottage". It was the perfect place to meet, catch up, put together our game plan, and then come back and continue to catch up. It had it's own parking, it's own deck/backyard which overlooked the charming creek that runs along the property. It was so peaceful and charming and comfy! There is definitely pride of ownership here, with meticulously clean and creative rooms that match the spirit of the town it resides in. This all took place last March and ever since, I have recommended all friends and family coming in from out of town to stay here. Now that the same wine event that inspired last year's stay is again on our horizon.... my friends and I are planning to stay again this year and guess which room we're going to pick?

Room Tip: There are rooms that face the creek and even though I'm sure the other rooms that do not face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GetawayGirl024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solana Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I had a nice stay in Nevada City and was able to walk downtown to get coffee in the morning. I love the area too, it's really beautiful with nice trees and traveling to Nevada City makes you feel like you are going back in time to a time when life was more simple.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada City, California
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014

A friend and I just needed a get away without getting away! This is also the first place we recommend for friends visiting from out of town. It gives you the real Nevada City experience; funky, fun, friendly and super cool. Original art and attention to detail make it extra special. If you want boring corporate hotel, this isn't for you. If you want a travel gem in the heart of a beautiful town filled with artists, musicians, chefs, and creative spirit, you will love this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014

WE stayed at the Outside Inn recently and loved it! We really love how close it is to downtown. The room was so clean. The Inn is in a quaint neighborhood that is safe and quiet. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeningabrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed here for 1 night while in town for a wedding. The room was exceptionally clean and tastefully decorated. I really appreciated the attention to details -- like an ample supply of coffee creamers, some little chocolate bar snacks, lots of info available on local attractions and places to eat, and friendly staff. The price was also highly competitive, and it's ~ 10 min walk to shops/bars/restaurants in Nevada City. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a twin bed located in a alcove (River room, maybe more?), in addition to a queen, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitneyBaker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The decorations and room themes are a cheezy veneer over a cheap roadside motel with tiny, minimally-renovated bathrooms, and cheap furnishings. Rather than feeling like guests and eliminating stress, staff made us feel like we were an imposition. The back door to my room outside wouldn't lock. The front desk was closed so fearing for my safety as a lone female guest, I slept in another room that night with other family members. After telling the front desk clerk about the issue in the morning, there was no apology for our discomfort and we were "fortunate" that they would not charge me additional fees for staying in my family's cramped room. The clerk then droned on about a 72 hour cancellation policy and informed us that they would still charge full price for a room that I could not use even though the room was unsafe for a lone female guest, and they had no one in the office who could address the issue at the time. We never felt like guests; very sad to be treated this way given that our family and friends rented most of the motel that weekend. Will never stay here again. Don't waste your money.

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RoomGuest88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutsideInnNevadaCity, Owner at Outside Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
The Outside Inn has a long history of very positive customer satisfaction, we are disappointed that we did not meet this guest’s expectations. We strive very hard to address any issues that our guests may have when and if they are brought to our attention There is someone on staff 24 hours, we are sorry that you did not contact us to help you with your fears at the time. Our guest safety is of our highest concern, the Outside Inn confirmed while the guest was here that the lock was indeed in working order. Again, we are sorry you are disappointed with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.2 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
4.0 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nevada City Inn
Nevada City Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outside Inn

Property: Outside Inn
Address: 575 E Broad St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2243
Region: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 1940's era motor court inn with unique themed rooms, located in a quiet residential neighborhood just two blocks from downtown Nevada City. Wireless DSL, Cable, Summer Pool, BBQs, and Outdoor Fire Pit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Outside Hotel Nevada City
Outside Motel Nevada City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing