We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute - Fits the Old Down Town thyme”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Outside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Outside Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Certificate of Excellence
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cute - Fits the Old Down Town thyme”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We've stayed at the Outside Inn several times. The most recent was this past weekend. Once again we weren't disappointed. Clean thyme style room with small kitchen and separate bedroom. Everything clean and neat. Only issue was that the GFI in the bathroom was broken, therefore there was no working plug in the bathroom. We worked around it and alerted the manager, I am sure that it will be fixed without delay. Like I said, we've stayed there before and will absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSCHI2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutsideInnNevadaCity, Owner at Outside Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thanks for the nice review, I am happy to report that we did fix the plug in the bathroom as soon as the room was unoccupied, but we always appreciate the head's up so we can fix things in a timely manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    76
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
70
153
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
176 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

My girlfriend and I decided to take off on a 5 day road trip w/ her chocolate lab and just drive the back roads of California until we felt like stopping. This was my first trip with a dog and I had no idea what to expect. In the late afternoon, while I drove, she check Tripadvisor for pet friendly hotels in the Gold Country area of the Sierra foothills. The Outside Inn got good reviews not only about the property but also the friendly staff and their set up for pets. We called from the road to make our reservation and spoke w/ Erin who couldn't have been nicer. Upon arrival the staff member got us quickly checked in told us there rules for pets (basically just don't leave them unattended in the room and clean up after they do their "business"…duh!). Restaurant recommendations for dinner and recommendations for walking trails w/ our dog in the morning were also provided. Our room was small, cute and well stocked for both man and beast. I believe all but two of their rooms are pet friendly and I commented there was absolutely no pet smell in the room from the previous furry friends who had stayed there. This was nice because I have stayed in hotels where the only rooms left were pet friendly and you knew it because of the residual smell. But there was none in this nice place as they clean the room much more throughly than the standard bedding change and floor vacuuming. Doggy biscuits were provided for the dogs and a few candies were there for us humans w/ a sweet tooth. The room was cute, comfortable and appointed w/ everything we needed for our stay. The location at the top of the hill a few blocks up from the main drag of town in a quaint neighborhood assured a quiet nights sleep. There rates were very affordable and the grounds of the property are well maintained and attractive. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a comfortable, cute and friendly place to stay in Nevada City…its where we'll stay next time we're in town…with or without a pet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The outside inn is a jewel of Nevada City & the staff are so knowledgable about all the things locally available to do! I think you could stay for weeks & never run out of activities! I love that there are adult as well as family venues to choose from!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenshears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
109 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had not planned any overnight stay in Nevada City but when we saw how charming this little town is, we decided to look for a place to sleep and went to ask at the Tourist Office. So it was thanks to them how we found the Outside Inn where there still was an available room: Room 3 1/2 (three and a half), a very funny number for a room, isn't it? This was certainly a good start which became even a better story because the room was tastefully decorated. It is true that it is a small room (that explains why it is number 3 1/2 and why it is only equipped with 2 single but comfortable beds, a hanging flat TV, a small radio set, a small fridge, a small desk and a chair) but it was more than enough for the two of us and our luggage. Moreover the existing furniture allows you in the end to find space for everything, so the size of the room was not a problem at all. And both the room and the ensuite bathroom were spotless.
In regards to the location, this is a quiet and safe area and which is not far from downtown. Actually we left our car in front of our room and just walked to the center.
The only thing that was not as good as in other places is that the price (we paid 87$) didn't include any breakfast. Nevertheless we were satisfied and we even felt somehow special for having slept in a room with such a funny number.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwaladar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here for a girls night out, wanting to enjoy dinner and dessert in town and not wanting to worry about having to my drive home afterwards. My guests were from out of town and this would be their first experience of the "little town up in the hills" I had moved away from them for....I wanted their impression to be a good one. Outside Inn did not disappoint. We attended a wine event, we shopped, we explored the Grass Valley and Nevada City downtown areas... we dined....we laughed...and did I mention we shopped (Nevada County has great local shops)? The jewel of the crown of our stay here was Outside Inn. When I phoned ahead to explain why we were staying, they recommended the perfect creek side cabin which was a standalone home adjacent to the property called "The Cottage". It was the perfect place to meet, catch up, put together our game plan, and then come back and continue to catch up. It had it's own parking, it's own deck/backyard which overlooked the charming creek that runs along the property. It was so peaceful and charming and comfy! There is definitely pride of ownership here, with meticulously clean and creative rooms that match the spirit of the town it resides in. This all took place last March and ever since, I have recommended all friends and family coming in from out of town to stay here. Now that the same wine event that inspired last year's stay is again on our horizon.... my friends and I are planning to stay again this year and guess which room we're going to pick?

Room Tip: There are rooms that face the creek and even though I'm sure the other rooms that do not face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GetawayGirl024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solana Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I had a nice stay in Nevada City and was able to walk downtown to get coffee in the morning. I love the area too, it's really beautiful with nice trees and traveling to Nevada City makes you feel like you are going back in time to a time when life was more simple.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada City, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

A friend and I just needed a get away without getting away! This is also the first place we recommend for friends visiting from out of town. It gives you the real Nevada City experience; funky, fun, friendly and super cool. Original art and attention to detail make it extra special. If you want boring corporate hotel, this isn't for you. If you want a travel gem in the heart of a beautiful town filled with artists, musicians, chefs, and creative spirit, you will love this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.2 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
1.1 mi away
Nevada City Inn
Nevada City Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outside Inn

Property: Outside Inn
Address: 575 E Broad St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2243
Region: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 1940's era motor court inn with unique themed rooms, located in a quiet residential neighborhood just two blocks from downtown Nevada City. Wireless DSL, Cable, Summer Pool, BBQs, and Outdoor Fire Pit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Outside Hotel Nevada City
Outside Motel Nevada City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing