We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to stay in Nevada City”
Review of Outside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Outside Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2010

This was my first time in Nevada City. My best friend had been here before. We were having a girls weekend and decided spur of the moment to come up here. We absolutely loved the Outside Inn. It was clean. You have your pick of these adorable rooms with different themes. We stayed in the Autumn room. It was very clean. The employees were very nice. We were a 1-minute drive to the downtown part of Nevada City. We liked that it wasn't right downtown, but close enough to walk to downtown if we really wanted to. Just the perfect place to stay for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EasyGoingTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2010

We checked in around 7:30 PM with no reservation and were given a choice of rooms. We stayed in the Autumn room, which is cozy and VERY affordable. The man in the front office was extremely friendly and helpful, providing us with menus and suggestions for dinner and breakfast.
At the Outside Inn you are a short walk from the little downtown shopping area, but feel secluded in a more residential part of town. The garden and sitting area with its gurgling creek and green fairy lights at night is charming! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amberrlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

My daughter and I drove down from far Nothern CA to Nevada City for the Victorian Christmas celebration. It was stormy and cold and the Wildflower room was a delight....cozy, warm, and sooooo clean. It has the charm of an older place which has been renovated well, and we were so happy with it. It was close to the celebration also, which is a plus when you aren't familiar with a town. The people in the office were wonderful, mainly Liza, who was very friendly. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flwergrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Stayed at this Inn for one night in early November. Would highly recommend this place. The room was very good; cozy and nicely decorated. We stayed in the wildflower room. The bed was quite comfortable. Each room has a different decoration theme which is a great idea. The property is in a residential area a little ways from downtown. It is peaceful and pretty here. They have an outdoor sitting area near a babbling brook. The person that checked us in was personable and helpful. They have a variety of literature about the area. The price seems reasonable. You can drive up to and park next to your room which makes unloading so easy. We will definitely stay here again. We really liked Nevada City. They have a very nice downtown with good shops and restaurants. It is one of the loveliest historic goldrush towns.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSWMom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Just out of downtown Nevada City, but still walking distance. The outside inn has an number of renovated rooms, most have sitting area bed and extra, we have stayed in several of the different rooms, and the cottage that they offer (on our wedding night). Great location great rooms. It is not going to be the comfort that you would get from the Ritz, but remember this is Nevada City.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downlow_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We stayed just one night, should have stayed longer and spent more time exploring the area...Oh well, that's what return trips are for. And we definitely will be coming back here. This hotel has a fun quirkiness that manages to be really endearing and enjoyable without seeming silly.

Our room was exceptionally clean, plus it had a tiny kitchenette with a BIG refridgerator, not one of those tiny hotel ones, but one you could actually store lots of food and leftovers in. The room opened up onto the creekbed that runs through the property--dry in July but still shady and a good spot to lounge around. And the location can't be beat, especially for how reasonable the prices are, just a few minutes walk from downtown Nevada City--B&B's in the same area charge 50% more.

The one downside would be the noise. It's an older place and the walls are a bit thin. But that's hardly a problem; I still slept fine. Overall a very enjoyable place!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMightyScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Bottom-line: this place is simply too expensive for what you get. Our 2BR free standing house smelled like there was a natural gas leak; the house itself was dilapidated; the stove didn't work (perhaps associated w/ smell of natural gas--pilot light out?); & the windows didn't operate. We stayed for one night & I just got my Visa statement w/ a charge for $242.00! I could understand if our accommodations had been immaculate; but although the place looks cozy on the website, it's really quite tired and rundown. Way too expensive for what you get! Skip it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mondesi_N_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.2 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
157 reviews
0.8 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
126 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
149 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
407 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nevada City Inn
Nevada City Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outside Inn

Address: 575 E Broad St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2243
Region: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Price Range: £59 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 1940's era motor court inn with unique themed rooms, located in a quiet residential neighborhood just two blocks from downtown Nevada City. Wireless DSL, Cable, Summer Pool, BBQs, and Outdoor Fire Pit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Outside Hotel Nevada City
Outside Motel Nevada City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing