We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country Coziness”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Nevada City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Country Coziness”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My husband and I found this place through word-of-mouth. We saw the 4-star rating on Yelp so called in. Michael had a few rooms available last-minute so we stopped in to check it out--loved how it felt right away--warm lighting, cozy and clean along with great service. We rented the cottage which was spacious, clean and so quaint. The gourmet breakfast was well worth ordering--dutch pancakes with lemon sauce was delicious! Also the organic plum jam was my favorite. We felt refreshed the next day and can't wait to visit again. Definitely recommend...Simple and clean.

Room Tip: Cottage is spacious and clean--definitely worth the extra few bucks even if it's just for 2. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
It was great to meet you both. Thanks for your warm thoughts!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    30
    7
    9
    3
See reviews for
21
63
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

My family and I truly enjoyed our stay. The owner, Michael, was so knowledgeable about the area. Just give him a heads up on how you want to spend your day and he can point you in the right direction. Our hostess, gave us great recommendation for dinners. We stayed in a warm and cozy Cottage with a lovely sitting area and kitchen. The most important thing was that it was clean. The queen size bed was very comfortable. The room sat back from the road so it was quiet. Our biggest surprise was how well the internet connection worked. Both my husband I were able to stream movies on our PC's, at the same time, with no problems.

Honestly it was everything we could have asked for. Very pretty location. The inn keeper was kind enough to show us around the property. The building has been well restored and has an interesting history. No bed and breakfast experience is complete without a friendly and attentive innkeeper and staff. The innkeeper and his staff were always smiling, friendly and personable, which was appreciated. A hot delicious breakfast was always ready on time, and served with a smile.

I would stay there again in a heart beat. We are already looking at our calendars to find out when we can go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tiphanie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
It was very nice to see your review. Thanks for remembering us here on TripAdvisor. Check out our new virtual tour on Facebook. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortuna, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We had another wonderful stay! We stayed in the Daphne Cottage this time and were comfy cozy warm in our Queen brass bed. My favorite Cottage is Walnut because it has a big clawfoot tub. A home away from home. You feel like you have the place all to yourself. I LOVE sitting in the courtyard in the sun enjoying the picturesque view.Though it was raining on this visit. Just a short walk to the lots of shops and entertainment. We greatly enjoyed the Victorian Christmas festivities that are happening right now. It's was like we stepped back in time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Destinee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this review, 25 December 2012
Loved having you here. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corralitos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Perfectly charming renovated vintage motor lodge. Located in a quiet section of Nevada City , but within walking distance of sights and restaurants. Sweet country decor makes one feel quite at home and the bed was comfortable and cozy. The best three nights sleep in ages!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnielf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
We appreciate your kindness and taking time to post a review. We have many more photos on Facebook for you to view for your next visit. 'Till next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

As part of a two months drive around the States we chose to visit Nevada City and to stay at Piety Hill. Unfortunately we only booked one night but wished we could have stayed longer. The innkeeper, whose name we failed to get, was truly most welcoming and did everything possible to make our brief stay most enjoyable. Breakfast is not included in the room rate but available at reasonable extra cost. We had the breakfast and it was very pleasant being served to us in the lawn courtyard in front of our cottage. The cottage itself was delightful and in a quiet and extremely pleasant environment. W also enjoyed Nevada City, a beautifully preserved former gold mining town which has some excellent restaurants. We can recommend the inclusion of the town to anyone planning a visit to the northern Californian gold mining historical areas and highly recommend Piery Hill for accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maragani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Thank you for giving us such a glowing report. As you have traveled both this country and indeed much of the world we feel honored by your words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed in the Daphne Cottage and it was very lovely. The cottage is older, but very nicely updated to have all the items you need. The shower was hot and the water pressure was good. The bed was a little soft, but comfortable and done up with cozy bedding. We stayed on a Saturday and the cottages and surrounding area were very quiet. We would stay again and recommend it to anyone looking for a place close to downtown Nevada City, but far enough away to get out of the noise and crowds when you are ready to settle down for the night.

Room Tip: Some cottages have carports, if you go during winter months you may want to ask for one with a carpo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thanks for taking the time in your day to review us here at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

we have stayed at piety hill before and had to return .great breakfast.
nice clean rooms. the owners are very nice.
Very quiet place. great location near the quaint part of Nevada City. Nice shops , good food
any kind of food you might want.

Room Tip: we have stayed in the Amber room and Daphne , we like the Daphne room best. They're both good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dinneenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thanks for returning to Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B and thank you for taking the time to review us here on TA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.5 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Madison House B & B
The Madison House B & B
#2 of 6 in Nevada City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nevada City Inn
Nevada City Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn

Property: Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn
Address: 523 Sacramento St, Nevada City, CA 95959
Region: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, casual, and private, our cozy cottages are a relaxed setting for singles, couples and families. As our guest, you will retire to a one, two or three room cottage with French Country or Early American decor. Each has a kitchenette with a microwave, various dishes, a small fridge and coffee maker, as well as complimentary coffee, tea, and hot cocoa. Your cottage will have a private bath and may have a King, Queen, or King and Day Bed w/Trundle. Each cottage has a television (some with a VCR or DVD), heating and air conditioning. A delicious full, hot or generous continental breakfast can be delivered to your cottage or out in the flower garden between 8:00 a.m. and 9:30 a.m. Our courtyard has several BBQs and lots of room for the kids to burn off some energy. The Yuba River and many high mountain lakes (including The Tahoe National Forest) are just a short distance up Hwys 20 & 49. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing