We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful getaway for a much needed break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Nevada City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2007

We stayed at the Piety Hill Inn for a much needed break and for an anniversary party for our friends. So we came across their website and decided to search for reviews on this Inn. We came across this one and had our reservations, yet decided to go for it anyhow. We we booked with the Inn directly, we had no problems with anything. Everything was explained in detail and clearly spelled out and received comfirmation of our booking. Upon arrival, the staff was wonderful and very welcoming. We found our room, The Amber Cottage to be comfortable, clean and charming. The bed was very comfortable and our breakfast was delicious and on time. We decided to pay a little extra for a "hot" breakfast, which is well worth it!!! This got delivered directly to our room, to the time of our choosing, which we enjoyed, they accomendated us and our time schedule at this bed and breakfast. We loved the fact that we could have our breakfast in the privacy of our room, and not have to join a bunch of strangers for breakfast. Wonderful food and timely service. The customer service was above and beyond our expectations, we know that when people travel that not everyones experience will be perfect. But sometimes you cannot rely on another persons experience, but make your own conclusions with an open mind. We are seasoned travelers and know what to look for in "quality" accomendations. We feel like the Piety Hill Inn, makes sure that the needs of their guests are met, and continously asked if there was anything that we needed and made sure that everything was ok. We a great time and appreciated the way the took care of us.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelnfunagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2007

Our stay started with having to ring the doorbell because the front door was locked even though check in is regulated to a three-hour period. Made us feel like we were bothering the occupants. When we arrived at our cottage, the place was freezing. Obviously no one had been in the room for a few days and it was stone cold. With a 7-day cancellation notice, I would have expected the room heater to be set to a minimum of 60 if the cottage had a confirmed reservation. It took a full 24 hours for the place to become tolerable. The first night we used the extra cover and piled the extra pillows over us to keep warm. The first morning, the smoke alarm was beeping due to low batteries. When told of the situation, the owner took the smoke alarm down and didn't replace it during our stay of three nights (Thurs-Sun). The first morning our breakfast was nicely presented, the bread delicious and fruit fresh, but the cheese stick had an expiration date of Oct. 06. This is April! When we mentioned this when they picked up the tray, we received a call telling us that they buy cheese in bulk and it had been frozen. That would be okay, but this was six months later and freezer storage rules say not to freeze cheese longer than 4-6 months. Regardless, the cheese showed signs of decay! It was gross!

There were more issues, but the bottom line is this. The web site does not represent the current ownership and their way of doing business. At this time, we feel that the owner does not have the experience to run a B&B, and we felt like guinea pigs. When we are on a rare weekend away from home, we should not have to deal with so many issues and inconveniences.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2007

We were very disappointed in Piety Hill. We were expecting to see separate cottages when actually the inn is more like a motor court motel. Also disappointing was the tiny television set and sparsely equiped kitchen. There was only one window in our suite and it looked out onto a neighbor's yard filled with junk. Also, the spa was out of order. The best thing about Piety Hill was that it was within walking distance of downtown.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BayAreaKololia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piety_Hill_Cottages, General Manager at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2007

As our website clearly states, Piety Hill Cottages was indeed originally built as a motor court back in 1933. It has the honor of being the oldest continually operated hostelry in Nevada County. Each cottage is completely separate of all of the others, with lattice work between them.
All of our cottages have at least 3 windows. There is only one cottage that looks out on this particular backyard, and, unfortunately, I am not in control of what my neighbor does with his yard. The spa was out of order, but gladly it is bubbling again!
The cottages sleep from 2-6 people and each is supplied with a kitchenette, not a full kitchen. There are ample dishes, silverware, glasses, and amenities for the number of guests suited for the cottage and we are happy to bring down any additional incidentals that you may desire. In addition, they are equipped with kitchen countertops inclusive of sinks, coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators, and, of course, coffee, tea, and cocoa are in your room at all times for your enjoyment. Small TVs are provided for the occupant’s pleasure; many B&B don't provide TV at all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2006

We arrived at the cottages to be greeted warmly by Mike the innskeeper and Sharon his assistant. The reception area is beautiful and inviting. We said we were here looking for some alone romantic time. They said we had come to the right place. We were given the key and asked when would we like to receive breakfast. It was delivered descretely the next morning right on time. The food was yummy ....
and plenty of it. We went around the cottages and into the neat town of Nevada city.When we arrived back our cottage was refreshed It was all so charming, set you back 100 plus years. Loved everything about Piety Hills and we will be BACK.If
you go here look for the squirrel JOB..he is fun to watch. My husband was entertained for quite awhile.Many pictures of JOB.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank so22much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2006

When we stay at a B & B we expect a bit of pampering, quality amenities and an excellent breakfast. Unfortunately we were a bit disappointed with the Piety Hill Cottages this time. The spa was out of order, for one. Our room was adequate but showed age, for example: the remote control for the TV didn't work and the showerhead banged terribly if we tried to turn up the hot water. Breakfast was of adequate quality but portions were small and our bread basket contained just two bisquits, no butter or jam. For the premium price we paid we expected more.

Stayed: November 2006
1  Thank floridakeysmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2006

We stayed one night in Walnut Cottage and had a wonderful stay. The cottages do show their age, but they're so charming! The new owner was extremely accomodating and shared many stories and tips about Nevada City with us. The parking and proximity to downtown was very convenient.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PartyTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2003

This property was built in 1932 as a motor court and has 9 cabins. Has lawn area for sitting outside, but traffic noise detracts from the serenity. Breakfasts, delivered to our door, were tasty and plentiful.
I enjoyed the privacy of eating in our own kitchenette rather than with a group of strangers.

Our spacious one bedroom "Walnut Cabin" was nicely decorated and freshly painted, but not particularly well maintained. The bathroom door would not close completely, the drain plug in bathroom sink required manual intervention, & the kitchen table was unstable and easily shaken. The kitchette had no microwave, a tiny refrigerator, coffee pot and electric tea kettle.

We enjoyed ourselves, but we'lll try another B&B next time.

1  Thank runtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.5 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
117 reviews
3.4 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
251 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
392 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Madison House B & B
The Madison House B & B
#2 of 6 in Nevada City
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn

Address: 523 Sacramento St, Nevada City, CA 95959
Region: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range: £55 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, casual, and private, our cozy cottages are a relaxed setting for singles, couples and families. As our guest, you will retire to a one, two or three room cottage with French Country or Early American decor. Each has a kitchenette with a microwave, various dishes, a small fridge and coffee maker, as well as complimentary coffee, tea, and hot cocoa. Your cottage will have a private bath and may have a King, Queen, or King and Day Bed w/Trundle. Each cottage has a television (some with a VCR or DVD), heating and air conditioning. A delicious full, hot or generous continental breakfast can be delivered to your cottage or out in the flower garden between 8:00 a.m. and 9:30 a.m. Our courtyard has several BBQs and lots of room for the kids to burn off some energy. The Yuba River and many high mountain lakes (including The Tahoe National Forest) are just a short distance up Hwys 20 & 49. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing