We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the best place to stay in Nevada City.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harmony Ridge Lodge
Ranked #6 of 6 Nevada City B&B and Inns
Carlsbad, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best place to stay in Nevada City.”
Reviewed 3 April 2010

This is the 2nd time we've stayed at the Harmony Ridge Lodge. It's a wonderful, peaceful lodge up the hill from the city of Nevada City. The owners (Bob & Jaime) and the managers (DeAnna & Billy) are wonderful, kind people who bend over backwards to accommodate their guests. The rooms are tastefully decorated; it's upscale, but still cozy and comfortable. You'll forget about your stress, since there's no TV or phone in the room to distract you. The location is peaceful and beautiful, with 4 fenced acres of pine trees, and perfect for dogs - which they welcome. Our Golden Retriever loves it there and so do we! We highly recommend the Harmony Ridge Lodge.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlsbadFlowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    7
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
20
28
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Beautiful inn and amazing retreat facility. Peaceful and well appointed. Fabulous hospitality and food. Wonderful inn keepers and even the resident canines were sweet!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindseylouwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2010

I had the opportunity to escape from San Francisco for a few days and landed at Harmony Ridge Lodge. I had my 2 dogs with me, my 4 year old and new pup of 4 months. From the moment I put my car in park and unloaded my "stuff", I knew I was in a very special place. I was immediately greeted by Monarch and Ben, the Lodge dogs who immediately took my 2 canine companions under their wings and disappeared into the completely fenced 4 acres of National Forrest land. The formal gardens, although in their Winter hush, were gorgeous nonetheless. Can't wait to get back in the Spring to see it all in bloom! My room was spotless, full of beautiful art, books, magazines, towels and bowls for the dogs, and a bed to die for. I'm not a thread count kind of guy but I can't remember the last time I slept more soundly, and I travel a lot. And, the heating/air system worked perfectly. I was able to easily turn it off when I was out for the day, and switch it back on and have heat in minutes! This may not sound like much but as it was Winter in the Sierras, this was an added bonus and greatly appreciated!
The first evening I was treated to a special Valentines event that included an exquisite dinner and astrology reading by a local astrologer. The atmosphere was relaxed, familiar, and absolutely perfect! Dinner was as good as any high end restaurant in the City and I'm sure I ate more then I should of, but what can you do? And the desert!
I was surprised the next morning when I discovered there was a beautiful breakfast waiting for me in the main house. Harmony Ridge is not a Bed and Breakfast per se and I wasn't expecting made to order waffles with fresh strawberries and maple syrup, bacon, and a selection of fruit, granola, cereal, breads, and muffins, not to mention the great coffee, black and strong! The following morning I was treated to fritata with fresh herbs and goat cheese, and light as a feather. I was dying for another slice when Chef Billie came out from behind the stove and said, have another, I made plenty! And I did!
The Yuba River was a short 10 - 15 minutes away and the dogs loved the long walk we took along its banks. You want snow? A short drive up highway 20 will provide plenty of the white stuff for your doggies to burrow in. Don't forget your snow shoes!
Billie, Deanna and Deb, chef and providers of good cheer, warmth, and hospitality, along with proprietors Bob and Jamie, made my stay at the Lodge most memorable, almost like being at home, except the food was better!
In a time when value for buck really matters, I couldn't possibly imagine a better place to escape to. Not too fussy, but everything you need, right when you need it.
I can't wait to go back.
Thank you everyone at Harmony Ridge Lodge!
I just hope I can get a reservation when word gets out!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realrockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

The pictures on their website are great but the experience is even better. Wonderful hosts with every detail a solid " Excellent". I honestly can not find one thing to consider even average. It is that good! The linens on the bed were the most expensive and comfortable I have ever had. This B&B is on the edge of the Tahoe National Forest and it matches the grounds it sits on. Several acres of fenced in forest with an amazing choice of places to hide, stretch out, or play. An excellent staff that made our stay so personal we wanted to stay longer. Without a doubt the best value and experience we have had with a B&B. Keep this one in mind for a mid week get away or a family reunion as there is so much to do in the surrounding area. We so enjoyed the resident Golden Retreivers who host the visiting dogs. Yes, it's pet friendly as well but spotless and not a dog hair to be found throughout the house. There is wonderful comfortable furniture throughout that allowed us to curl up for some R&R (reading & relaxing). We look forward to a return trip later in the year as the seasons change.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SantaCruzJim56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

We absolutely loved the Harmony Ridge Lodge. Our family of four, including children aged 8 and 9, stayed for three nights in Room 1, which is a large second floor room with two queen beds and a sitting area. The room is much more beautiful than the pictures on the web indicate. The linens are luxurious -- towels new and fluffy, sheets and duvets of the best quality. Even the bathroom furnishings are beautiful. Having been fortunate enough to have lived at the Ritz Carlton in Pasadena (5 star property) for six months in 2006 following a house fire, we tend to compare (fairly or not) every place we stay to the Ritz's level of service and quality. Making us even more difficult critics, my husband has traveled to over 100 countries on business, staying only at the best hotels the world has to offer. We were not disappointed at the Harmony Ridge Lodge. The room was beautiful, decor and details exceptional throughout the property (outdoor sculptures, lovely light fixtures, high quality coffee table books everywhere, beautiful and interesting furnishings -- understated elegance). The breakfasts abundant, delicious and of the highest quality ingredients prepared with genuine care and pride. Innkeepers DeAnna and Billy are delightful, warm and welcoming. Our children loved visiting Deanna and Billy's Golden Retriever, Ben (the owners' Golden, Monarch, wasn't on the property this weekend), in the main house, eating Billy's delicious breakfasts and homemade cookies and being spoiled by his offerings of hot chocolate after playing in the snow. Our children didn't want to leave (nor did we), which says a lot given that before arriving they were bemoaning the fact that there would be no TV (they forgot all about TV once they were here!). The grounds are lovely and were covered in snow, making it all the more magical to us having driven up from sunny southern California. This review may sound over the top, but it is an honest and accurate reflection of how pleased we were with this gem of a place. There is nothing negative to be said. We hope to be back in the Spring!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Searena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2010

After several years of delay tatics, i yielded to my wife's request to spend a December Weekend in Nevada City taking in Victorian Christmas and Cornish Christmas events.

All of the downtown decorations, victorian outfits and music were more fun than i imagined, despite having to park a half-mile out of downtown Nevada City.

What really made our Christmas vacation was our two nights at Harmony Ridge Lodge, five miles away from the holiday crowds downtown. The lodge is set in the pine forest and a light evening snow during our stay made for a perfect, reflective winter landscape.
The lodge managers Deanna and Billy serve a hearty and creative winter breakfast and in the afternoon Billy walked us through baking two of his famous cookie recipes. We look forward to returning to Harmony Ridge Lodge next summer or Fall to see their gardens and orchard in their peak season

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mildredodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERMORE
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

This is a fantastic lodge just five miles out of Nevada City. It is run by a charming and attentive couple who made our 3 day stay really pleasant. The owner has put so much thought into the decorations and artwork of the rooms it is hard to believe that you are at a lodge and not someones home. Everything is very tastefully designed and there was no skimping on quality. The garden is so beautiful and many of us spent time just taking in the serenity during the day and evening. I was extremely impressed and would happily stay there again if we go back to Nevada City.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiata91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
4.5 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
113 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
381 reviews
8.0 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
245 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
126 reviews
5.2 mi away
Nevada City Inn
Nevada City Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Ridge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Ridge Lodge

Property: Harmony Ridge Lodge
Address: 18883 State Highway 20, Nevada City, CA 95959-9191
Region: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony Ridge Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony Ridge Lodge is a new ten-room Bed and Breakfast located in the Tahoe National Forest just outside Nevada City, CA. The lodge has an orchard and perennial gardens as well as hiking and biking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Harmony Ridge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing