We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My preferred choice while in the Bay Area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Silicon Valley
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Irricana, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“My preferred choice while in the Bay Area.”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I am in the Bay Area at least once or twice a month on business and this is always my first choice for my stay. Centrally located between SFO and SJC it is a quick 30 min trip from either during non-peak times.
Having been a W in its previous life there is little in resemblance to a typical Aloft except the little blue soap in the bathroom and funky vibe in the lobby and lounge. Everything else resembles a W from the large rooms to the full service restaurant downstairs.
The staff is always courteous and helpful; it is a pleasure to stay at this hotel.
I highly recommend this hotel (however please don't stay there during the week so I can still get a reservation on short notice) :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank metta_bhavana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    84
    32
    12
    5
See reviews for
51
50
11
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Cosala, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I had stayed at the W various times in the past, so I was eager to see how the property has been transformed into an Aloft. I've always loved quiet location, great weekend rates and proximity to SFO. For me, there weren't any dramatic changes other than the reception staff being much more welcoming than when it was a W. I had a corner junior-suite room on the 5th floor which, with a few furniture downgrades, looked the same as before (still much more comfortable and commodious than the normal Aloft room). One upgrade, for which I was grateful, was the reinstalling of a coffee maker. The bed was still extremely confortable and the wifi worked very well. I didn't eat there, so can't comment on that, but the bar looked fun. The pool is small and the gym not overly well equipped, but good enough. All in all, for under $100, the place is great if the location suits you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musqat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Having stayed at many W Hotels, this was far from one! Having read many of the reviews from the rebranded "Aloft" who knows..

Ask if the carpet has been changed since the redo, because if not be prepared. You'll have that outdoors marshy smell and beware if you have allergies. My co-worker couldn't take it and went downstairs at 3am until check out due to the smell in the room.

The room layouts are great, bathrooms are amazing, so people today will not get the typical Aloft experience (hit or very miss - depending on location) BUT bigger rooms for sure which no one will complain about.

Hotel staff are nice enough. The restaurant food is amazing!!! do not miss it.

** IF you need to request towels etc...call ahead of time. They just had one guy on staff late in the evening and he was kept busy by everyone it would seem!! But was super nice and nothing was too much trouble for him.

About 35 mins to SFO, 1 hour to San Francisco....fairly close to Oakland and San Jose.

Room Tip: Do not face the marshland
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1blokeCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Silicon Valley, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay. We converted to an Aloft Hotel in March this year. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your guest room and the food at +Plus Restaurant! We will look into the smell you mentioned. Thanks again for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The Aloft is totally new and very pleasant compared to when it was a "W". They have made the hotel much brighter inside and the staff is extremely friendly. The restaurant is also much improved. I would highly recommend if you are in the area, stay at this hotel - you'll be glad you did! I give high marks to the new owners and management who made these changes. Great job!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Silicon Valley, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoy Aloft Silicon Valley! Thank you for recommending us. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

To each their own...this was my first ever stay with Aloft with me and my Gf's...with no expectations. The rooms were clean, the king size bed was comfortable, TV was updated there was a fridge and microwave in the room, all the toiletries were there....and housekeeping was on time....wifi was free....*though static at times*

I couldn't ask for anything more...When I'm in the area, I will surely return...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvocadoNTomatoe... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Silicon Valley, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your Aloft experience and that you'll choose us again the next time you're in the area. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The hotel amenities were great, my issue was in the Billing Dept. It took several long distance calls to correct but not to my satisfaction. My friend who spoke with the General Manager on several occasions still ended with a bill for $2.15.

Room Tip: There was no manager on site when we checked out, make sure you settle your bill before actually che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bosco09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerlingen
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Aloft means to me, young people, stylish atmosphere, Loft-like rooms, a pool table - Aloft. Been to some of them and all "more or less" are Aloft-like. Cupertino was sold out, Millbrae to far away, so why not trying the "new" Aloft in Newark... that´s what i thought.

Approaching the hotel, it looks like any other given hotel, but NOT like an Aloft - okay. Entering the lobby, the stylish reception, no music, no lounge like atmospehere, more standard Hampton Inn, Embassy Suites style (without the free breakfast).

Rooms, standard Hotel room nothing special, nothing Aloft in there (some W like bed furniture and a very basic bathroom...)

All clean and okay, but far away from what you (at least I) expect(ed) from an Aloft.

Dear Starwood guys, rebrand that hotel to a Four Points, this will fit, but what is expected from a carefully build Aloft experience is completely missing (Bliss soap excluded).

Room Tip: Go to Cupertino or Millbrae if you want a real Aloft
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthias R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
4.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont
3.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark - Fremont
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Court Inn
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Newark Silicon Valley
7.2 mi away
Fremont Marriott Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Silicon Valley

Property: Aloft Silicon Valley
Address: 8200 Gateway Blvd, Newark, CA 94560-8000 (Formerly W Silicon Valley)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft Silicon Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Silicon Valley, a hip hotel where youll be steps away from major tech corporations. We offer easy-breezy access to natural wonders and wine country, and each of the areas international airports is about a half-hour away. Rise and shine in our bright and modern Aloft rooms, featuring plush platform beds, walk-in showers, custom amenities by Bliss® Spa and more. Recharge all your gadgets with the plug & play docking station, which also links your laptop or tunes to the 42 LCD TV. Meet and mingle at our w xyz(SM) bar, grab a snack at the 24/7 re:fuel by Aloft(SM) gourmet pantry, or work and play at our re:mix(SM) lounge. Plenty of perks include fast + free hotel-wide Wi-Fi, our always-open re:charge(SM) gym, reviving splash pool, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Silicon Valley - Newark Hotel Newark
w Hotel Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing