We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of El Burro - CLOSED

El Burro
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We had eaten at this restaurant before while in Newark, so thought we would try it again. We should've kept going. The food was terrible. It tasted like last weeks leftovers. The service was also lacking. They seat you fast and get you chips and salsa (which was the only thing that was good). It took several requests just to get a drink. Waitress took forever to take our order, which she messed up. I would definitely NOT recommend this restaurant and I will never return. TripAdvisor should offer negative stars for reviews for which this place would qualify.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KansasReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Dont eat here. Too much sauce. Too much food. Too dingy. Too many empty tables. A dinosaur.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bingbangboing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and great food, yes you can have both!”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

The food and service were right up there with the beautiful and evocative Mexican decor inside and out. We will go back!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sulfurcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland, USA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ok - But You Can Do Better”
Reviewed 15 February 2011

The setting is a really cool hacienda-style building. Unfortunately, the food is a lot more pedestrian – standard sit-down Mexican platters served without a lot of imagination. They don’t even have black beans… The service was fine and the prices ok ($8-12 per entree), but I wouldn’t travel far too have dinner here.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisahMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, California
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food with really nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 30 March 2009

This restaurant has good food and a nice atmosphere. The tiles in this restaurant were hand crafted and brought over from Spain and is very beautiful (I read this in the newspaper when the restaurant first opened up many, many years ago.) We've taken lots of out of town guests here and so far everyone has enjoyed it. It's a very large restaurant so even when it's somewhat crowded it's still not very noisy, which means it's great for conversation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing