We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expecting a Hilton got a Double Tree”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We booked the Hilton but on the drive there we found out it was a Double Tree. We were disappointed as we had booked an executive room with lounge privileges that did not exist. Felt the staff was kind of held out to dry by Hilton. The room's air conditioner did not work well. Staff was friendly though.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank L F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonNF, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear L F,

Thank you very much for your TripAdvisor review. We sincerely appreciate your comments and we do apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced.

We did in fact transition over from a Hilton to a DoubleTree by Hilton on May 19th. Though our Executive Lounge is closed, we still do honor these vouchers in our Ginger Bar. Thank you for your feedback and thank you for being our guest.

Have a wonderful summer season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Staff seemed inexperienced, didn't take ownership of customer service--couldn't get room assignments correct or number of keys requested. In the first 20 minutes of arrival bathroom was flooded and AC was broken.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonNF, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Ian P,

Thank you for your review. Our management team will be carefully evaluating the comments that you have provided us with and we do apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced here. Thank you very much for your feedback; our guests' feedback is extremely important to us

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Many many problems with this hotel from the reception staff to the restaurant to the room quality. Uncooperative restaurant staff, running toilet in the room, rooms under construction. I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonNF, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Christopher B,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry for the experience that you had here and the feelings that you left with.

Our guests and their needs are the most important thing to us. We are very sorry for any inconveniences . Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments carefully to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience and stay. We do hope that you will consider staying with us in the future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

When we booked the hotel on-line it was a Hilton but the description stated it would be converted to a Double Tree after 5/1. We did not expect that there would be no refrigerator in the room. The first night we were awaken at 2am by a noise on the hallway- some drunk guests knocking at every door and running at the hallway. Thankfully, the front desk was prompt in taking care of the issue. At the same time, our next room neighbors were chit-chatting and we could hear most of their conversation. The room must be thin. We stuff towels between our connecting doors to muffle the sound. It worked. Restaurant had good breakfast choices and the service was great. The brewed coffee was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Crystin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonNF, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Crystin C,

On behalf of our General Manager and the entire team, thank you for taking the time to write your TripAdvisor review. We truly appreciate your feedback and we do apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced.

We do have refrigerators available for our guests. For medication purposes they are free of charge otherwise, they cost $15 a day. This request can be made at anytime.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again Crystin C. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel was in the process of converting from Hilton to DoubleTree brand. They had not ironed out the wrinkles in service yet. Overall, this hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. It serves as a backup for those who need to find government rates and cannot find any rooms in Palo Alto or San Jose. The commute to these areas is reasonable if you start early enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Brett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonNF, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Brett R,

Thank you very much for your review! We appreciate your comments and we thank you for your business. It was our pleasure to serve you and we hope to be able to do so again in the near future.

Thank you again Brett R! Have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed on the 7th floor and the room seems to be newly renovated. We saw other rooms on the same floor that was undergoing renovation so it looks like they are upgrading their rooms. The room was very comfortable and we had a beautiful view of the mountains. I'm from Florida so that was a beautiful sight to see everyday. The bed was comfortable and so were the pillows.

We did not use any of the facilities but there is free parking. Everyone at the desk is VERY nice and of course, the cookies are awesome!!!!

The location is good. Close enough to San Francisco and close to a mall with eateries and shopping.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoSerTal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonNF, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hello RoSeTal!

On behalf of our entire team, thank you so much for your TripAdvisor review! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and our accommodations. Thank you very much for bring our guest.

Have a great summer RoSeTal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The rooms at this hotel are newly renovated, the bartenders are great, but don't except any service from the resturant staff. The food is below average, even if they give you a complimentary brunch...you might as well go to McDonalds at least your eggs will be cooked.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale & Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonNF, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Dale & Janet S,

Thank you very much for your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry for the experience that you had in our Restaurant. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments carefully to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience and stay. We do hope that you will consider staying with us in the future.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Fremont/Silicon Valley
4.1 mi away
Aloft Silicon Valley
Aloft Silicon Valley
#3 of 9 in Newark
249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark - Fremont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Court Inn
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Newark Silicon Valley
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont

Address: 39900 Balentine Dr, Silicon Valley, Newark, CA 94560-5372
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Newark
Price Range: £88 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Hotel DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont. Silicon Valley California 94560. 315 newly renovated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark/Fremont Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Fremont
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing