We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs remodeling but good customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Thousand Oaks
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newbury Park
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Needs remodeling but good customer service”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I went online to book our reservations, the pictures are NOT accurate, when you get there it is not nearly as clean or the same newer furniture.

The rooms are old looking, even the wall looked like it needed to be cleaned with some bleach or something. The furniture is like something from a poor neighborhood garage sale.

The only saving grace is the girl at the front desk, very friendly and sweet.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shayam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Thousand Oaks, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
We apologize for not able to meet your travel needs during your recent visit. We take your feed back very seriously and we will look into the issue that you have raised making improvement as needed.

Sincerely,
Shaym
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    5
    10
    39
See reviews for
11
15
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I almost didn't book this place because I actually believed some of the comments made by folks who, in likelihood, are spoiled brats. Its not the Westin, but then the nightly charge reflects that. I found the rooms well kept and clean. There were no satin sheets nor fleece towels, but I only needed a place to sleep, shower and shave. It was perfect and an excellent value. Oh, and the waitress next door at the Denny's is a hoot. If Ricky Ricardo from I Love Lucy had a twin sister, it was her...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howie_the_Hog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shayam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Thousand Oaks, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with other travelers. We appreciate that you found our value exceptional. We will look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Shyam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I was looking for the cheapest hotel in the area that had excellent wifi, proximity to food, malls, libraries and grocery stores--I'd be there 2 weeks a month.
Management has been invaluable giving me directions and any help needed.
I'm very happy here.
the price is surprisingly low for the value.
cjohnson

Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank harriedtraveler003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shayam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Thousand Oaks, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Thank you for being our valued guest and sharing your honest review with other travelers.
At same time we are happy that you have found us to be a good value and having by friendly staff.

Sincerely,
Shyam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
188 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Best crap hole maybe. This place was terrible! The non-smoking room wreaked of smoke, noisy, stains everywhere, lying host, disgusting bathroom.
Stay away from this place no matter how much you want to save.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TIMOTHY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newbury Park hotels

Tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2009

Mold in showers, plaster under sink with rust stains, no towels, lousy hosekeeping and terrible management.. I ould rate tis lower than a 3rd world 1 star hotel.

If there was a way to give negative star rating, this place would qualify.

Stay away, i beg you!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aseaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2008

Besides the roaches and the prostitutes, ifound it very difficult to sleep with the party going on at the first level by the pool.I spoke to the manager and he informed me that he couldnt do anything about it,so one call to 911 and i did his job for him. I recomend sleeping in youre car before comming here!

  • Liked — nothing!
  • Disliked — everything!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rush727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2008

My husband and I were trying to travel on the cheap so selected this hotel by its price on a hotel reservation web site.

The room was clean and everything was in good condition. The king-sized bed filled the room. The shower was good though it had a low-flow shower head. The hotel is right next to the freeway but we kept the ventilation fan on all night and were not bothered by freeway noise.

If what you want is a clean room with a bed and shower, nothing fancy, this hotel is for you.

  • Liked — Neat, clean, comfortable
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Titan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury Park
1.4 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thousand Oaks
436 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County
8.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Westlake Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Thousand Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Thousand Oaks

Property: Americas Best Value Inn-Thousand Oaks
Address: 2850 Camino dos Rios, Newbury Park, CA 91320-1105
Region: United States > California > Newbury Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newbury Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Thousand Oaks 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Thousand Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Thousand Oaks Hotel Newbury Park
Americas Best Value Inn-1000 Oaks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing