We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice decor; clean that's about it.”
Review of Mandarin Bistro

Mandarin Bistro
Ranked #21 of 87 Restaurants in Newbury Park
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
California, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice decor; clean that's about it.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stopped by this restaurant on our way to Leo Carrillo State Beach. When we walked in we saw 4 Chinese families having their lunches. I told my wife this place must be good. I looked at the menu and was impressed with the number of dishes offer. There was a weekend special sheet on the front of menu. I figured the special must be really good, so I was going for it. We ordered fried wonton stuffed with cream cheese, Sizzling rice soup, pork fried egg noodle Chinese style and red bean bun for our desert. The fried wonton took awhile before it arrived. It tasted OK. Then we waited at least another 15 minutes before the soup arrived. They used puff rice in square instead of loose type to make the soup sizzling. The portion for 2 was small. There were not much ingredients in the soup and the broth was tasteless. Disappointed we were, then the noodle dish arrived. From the look to me the dish was almost like Singapore noodle without curry. They used minced pork which did not say on the menu. The noodle was greasy. The red bean bun was not any better. The dough is hard not smooth as the way I used to and the bean stuffing OK. I do not recommend this restaurant to my friends or family.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank d2s1c2j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Agoura Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Being Chinese, we hated to go all the way to Monterey Park or Alhambra for good Chinese food.
Then we found this place not too long ago, and have been coming here at least once a month, the last time with another couple from the mid-West for dinner.
We found the food to be excellent, and the service friendly and helpful.
We ordered Shrimp Sesame Pocket for appetizer. It was delicious.
For dinner, we had Chicken Cashew, Beef with String Beans in black bean sauce, Pepper Salt Pork Chop, and Vegetarian Shrimp with Mixed Veggies. All were excellent excpe the Vegetarian Shrimp, which was just ok, as the shrimp doesn't quite have the taste of 'real' shrimp. Last time we were here, we tried the Vegetarian Almond Chicken - and if I did not know it was 'fake' chicken, I'd swear it tasted just like 'real' chicken.
You do not get the usual greasy dishes or soggy veggies or meat. Besides the Vegetarian Shrimp, all of the dishes we've ever eaten at this restaurant has been excellent.
Restaurant atmosphere is casual and relaxed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dragon789wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bland and Tasteless”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We were happy to find a Chinese restaurant near our new home, but we went once and will not go back. The food was completely tasteless and bland. Everything was soggy and colorless.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 91302Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little Asian!”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The food is top notch and the ambiance, although somewhat casual, is relaxed and elegant. The staff is very friendly and the food is excellent. I liked the fact that nothing is swimming in grease or strong spices. Everything is subtle and delicious. I am extremely fond of the steamed veggies with white garlic sauce. I am not a huge veggie fan, but thinking about this dish has me salivating!I I really enjoy all of the different dishes and also the feeling of this restaurant. They staff is attentive and the food came in a timely manner. The prices are reasonable and i find the flavors of the food to be not too spicy or mild. Good stuff and worth the drive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Tasty Chinese!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Although the service was a bit slow due to it being Christmas Eve, the food was worth waiting for! We tried several dishes both Spicy and not. Each had a delightful flavor all its own. It was very busy and a bit hectic. But the friendly staff worked hard to keep the food coming and the teapot full! We will definitely return when we visit the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynDodgers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mandarin Bistro also viewed

Newbury Park, CA
Newbury Park, CA
 
Newbury Park, CA
Newbury Park, CA
 

Been to Mandarin Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing