We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Lame breakfast.”
Review of Balboa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Balboa Inn
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We probably had the best room, upstairs corner, facing the ocean. Spacious with a coffee area, desk and a loveseat and coffee table. Sounded like there was water running next door all night...couldn't figure out what that was. The metered parking close by was free until 8am - we were planning to be at the dock by then so it worked out for us. The paid parking at the beach was pricey at $15/day.
For being such a beautifully set up outdoor dining patio, the breakfast wasn't worth the stop. I've been to cheaper hotels that offered a better array.
The bed and room were very comfortable and clean. No tea in the room only coffee. But tea was available at the breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SereneEcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for Balboa Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

I booked this hotel for my companies annual sales meeting for 10 employees for 4 nights. I could not have made a better choice. Michel and his staff were very accommodating and made us feel at home. We used the meeting rooms and they took care of the catering and our needs for the meetings each day. For price and location we were very impressed. Very easy to walk to many shops and restaurants in the very quaint boardwalk area. One night we walked 3 minutes to a ferry and crossed over to Balboa Island and experienced more very nice shops and restaurants. Can not get any closer stay to the sand and pier. Breakfast was free and above average than most hotels with free breakfast. Only some parts of the hotel were under renovations however this did not get in the way of a great stay.

I can not wait to return with my family this spring break.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get the ocean view rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The professional photos show rooms from the "resort" section of the inn. The inn section is something completely different and under renovation.
We were originally given a room in the "inn" section. OMG - parts of the hallway consisted of broken wooden flooring. The door to our room didn't close properly. The room was filled with newer furniture, but the room itself was like something from "frat house". Very old stained carpet, dirty chipped paint. tiny counter top dorm style mini fridge just sitting on the carpet. The bathroom was dark, dingy, with chipped paint and antiquated fixtures. There was no way we were going to stay there for the price!
Luckily, when we told the reception that the room was not what we expected from the website, they moved us across the board walk to the "inn resort'. Which was much nicer. Clean, freshly painted, tiled floors, ocean view with balcony, just like we had seen in the photos.We were there in February, so it was quiet. I can imagine the bar across the street would make things noisy in the summertime. The jet tub in our room did not work. When we called the front desk, they appeared to know about it, but didn't offer to fix it?! There was a weird disconnected vibe at the place which I cannot really articulate well, EG, ice buckets, but no ice machine, nice flat screen TV, but no movie access.WiFi for a fee. Drape hems coming down?? Nice out door spa pool, over looking the beach, unfortunately the maintenance and cleaning of the area needs improvement. Dirty cushioned sun lounge chairs were not appealing. Continental breakfast was sufficient, assorted fresh bagels with butter, jelly and cream cheese, muffins, apples and oranges, assorted cereal, OJ, milk and coffee. Parking is either $35 in the inn's lot, or metered parking at the beach parking lot for $15 per 24hours. We lucked out and found free street parking a few blocks down, which I imagine is difficult in the summertime. The staff were friendly and polite and the location to the beach and village area is good. This could be an outstanding business, if they focussed on attention to details.

Room Tip: Pay attention to where you reserve a room, Inn side or resort side!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 527Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The location of this hotel is almost perfect. Very near to local hot spots, easy access to the highways, beautiful spot next to the water. The inside of the hotel is nice and the location makes for good people watching at the bar/restaurant. However, the rooms are not that impressive... they need some major updating, especially for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank txkristyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at Balboa Inn for one night between Sunday and Monday. Great value for what we think must have been the best room. A corner room on the top floor overlooking the beach.
Probably the best room we have had for a long time.

I can agree with other reviewers that it is noisy if there are people on the street being loud.
Great staff. We will be back.
What we saw on the web site was the picture to the left. What we experienced was the picture to the right.

Room Tip: The staff showed us the room before we said yes.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhotoEngstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Centrally located in Balboa and recently refurbished. This is an older character property but it was clean and the beds were comfortable. Traveling in off season earned us a rate that was more palatable the in high season.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This hotel and Lisa; the event planner, was extravagant, the hotel and Lisa were the best, we had the best wedding, nothing went wrong, all went smoothly. Lisa was more than helpful and the event went off without a hitch. She was the best and the venue was perfect. Everyone went out of their way to make sure we had the best time. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a beautiful beach wedding. Absolutely Perfect.....Perfection...thank you Lisa...better late then never with this review. Lisa you were the best!!!!!!Denise, mother of the bride

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,622 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 18 in Newport Beach
587 reviews
1.9 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
1.8 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balboa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Inn

Address: 105 Main St, Newport Beach, CA 92661-1397
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: £149 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balboa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled Balboa Inn, in Newport Beach, Orange County, is a place where casual beachside ambiance and classic Old World charm combine in a historic landmark that’s lured Southern California's rich and famous for decades. Set on the colorful boardwalk at the foot of the Balboa Pier, this oceanfront establishment’s relaxed air may have you kicking off your high heels before you stroll down the aisle. Built in 1929, this upscale Orange County inn has entertained such notables as Howard Hughes, Barry Goldwater and a host of other politicians, entertainers and honeymooners. Once owned by the Los Angeles Lakers’ Kareem Abdul Jabbar, its nine-foot ceilings still bear a telltale sign of the basketball star. A recent $6-million addition features two oceanview terraces, a new oceanview Italian tile sundeck with hot tub, 34 upgraded rooms, 11 top-of-the-line suites and convenient subterranean valet parking. Guests enter the Inn through the Mediterranean-style courtyard, a natural space for pre-ceremony mingling. With its original tile, adobe walls, potted palms, bar and the soothing sound of surf crashing in the background, the space is a comfortable area for people to come together. Meanwhile, you, your groom and all your attendants have full use of an oceanview honeymoon suite with a Jacuzzi and fireplace. For the wedding ceremony itself, options include the hotel’s magnificent second-floor Siena Terrace overlooking the ocean, as well as the nearby gazebo at Peninsula Park and the adjacent rugby field fronting the ocean, where a decorated arch can provide a focal point. After you’ve said your “I do’s,” the Pacific Ocean provides fabulous scenery for photos taken on the pier, the sand or the grassy field next to the beach. When you’re ready to receive your guests, return to the upstairs terrace with its panoramic views from Catalina Island to Dana Point. Or, hold your wedding reception in the Siena Grand Dining Room and adjoining courtyard, where antique streetlights and colorful murals of gondolas on canals capture the romance of Venice. Along with five-star Italian cuisine by the restaurant’s gifted executive chef, you’ll enjoy a dreamy indoor-outdoor setting cleansed by refreshing sea spray. Far removed from the straight-laced formality of more corporate properties, the Balboa Inn is just steps from Newport’s famed Fun Zone. Here, you can pose for some playful photos on the historic carousel and Ferris wheel, or take a stress-busting ferry ride across Newport Bay. After you’ve returned to your guests to dance the night away, there’s one more thing you’ll probably want to do before heading for your honeymoon suite: go for a moonlit stroll along the sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Balboa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balboa Hotel Newport Beach
Balboa Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing