We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attentive staff and beautiful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Attentive staff and beautiful resort”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We've stayed here 3 or 4 times and are always amazed at the welcome we receive. The rooms are incredible and the staff wonderful! The views are awesome from the golf course and the banquet food is incredible!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Stephen,

Your feedback is a gift, and we appreciate you taking the time to post your kind comments here. I am pleased to know that you have consistently enjoyed your experiences with your accommodations, as well as our staff and food. We hope to welcome you back to our Tuscan seaside village soon.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,027
    190
    126
    56
    61
See reviews for
447
480
37
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Worst service we've ever experienced. We are seasoned travelers and have stayed at many wonderful resorts. Pelican hill staff is simply Unattentive and Unprofessional from front desk to hospitality services. Disappointing for $500+ night. Not even close to the same stratosphere as hotels such as Four seasons or Mandarin Oriental etc. We do NOT recommend staying here; the service is that poor :(

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SweettravelsAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about your recent visit to Pelican Hill, and sincerely apologize that your stay was compromised by the less-than-perfect service you encountered. It is our highest priority to deliver exceptional service throughout the resort, and I regret that your experience did not reflect our Five-Star service standards.

I would like to take a moment to speak with you personally to discuss your feedback in detail. I will provide my contact details separately in a private message. As we continuously strive to heighten the guest experience at Pelican Hill, your feedback is appreciated.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Beautiful property with amazing views from our Villa! The resort staff, from shuttle drivers to our personal Butler, were professional, attentive and very friendly. The problems, unfortunately, were many.
Since our family was staying for a month, eating every meal "out" was not on the agenda. The "fully equipped" kitchen was lacking in pans, utensils, dishes and glasses which made a loud statement to us they didn't want us cooking on the state of the art Wolf range or even use the kitchen. The TVs were analog and only offered 3 HD stations. (quite antiquated for the cost of staying here) The bedrooms and bathrooms were very spacious and beautifully appointed but we did have problems with the sprinklers from the golf course soaking the patio furniture at night, rendering them useless until they dried off in the sun later the following day. Housekeeping, although they did a great job, needed to be contacted to come clean as some days they didn't show up until very late in the afternoon. And, don't go eat at any of the restaurants if you want a quick bite or to dine in under an hour and half. (that includes breakfast or lunch) There were several "little" things, like broken lamps and bathroom doors that didn't lock, that just are not expected at a resort of this "quality". Nothing major, just a few too many "little" items which added up to some aggravation in getting them corrected. If we were only going to be there for a short while, it probably wouldn't have bothered anyone.
The views were heaven and the location is the middle of everywhere we wanted to be. Our Butler was very quick to correct many of the issues and a huge thank you to Brett! We had a great vacation and loved the pools! (also with amazing views!) But, bottom line, considering the expense, the value was not that of a 5-star resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Ann,

I greatly appreciate you taking the time to post your comments about your recent visit to Pelican Hill. While I’m pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed the property and the service of our staff, I want to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. I am disappointed that these oversights impacted your overall experience at Pelican Hill. Please know that I have followed with the Villa manager, restaurant managers and housekeeping department to address the feedback you have graciously detailed here.

It is through the candid and thoughtful feedback from our guests that we are able to continuously improve upon our service standards throughout the Resort. I regret that your experience fell short of your expectations and our goals and would like to take a moment to speak with you personally to discuss your feedback further. I will provide my contact details separately in a private message. We look forward to another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Kind regards,

Santosh Kuruvilla
Director of Rooms
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
138 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I spent 3 days at the Resort at Pelican Hill last month and were very impressed with their high level of service and outstanding food service at all locations. We stayed in the Villa's and found the comfort level similar to that of a five-star hotel(except one aspect). The spa was excellent as my husband had a facila with Lidia Verdier, and he claimed it was outstanding! Special thanks to Mark, our server at the Pelican Grill whom made the meal memorable. (The only aspect which needs attention is housekeeping: Waited until 4:30 to check-in and one day our room was cleaned until 5:15 PM.) But otherwise: A great getaway!

Room Tip: Try to get a villa: You'll be spoiled forever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spaqueen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about your recent visit to Pelican Hill. I am delighted to read about the overall level of service you experienced during your stay, and will certainly share your gracious comments with the staff members you mentioned by name.

At Pelican Hill, it is our mission to deliver Five-Star service to each and every guest. I am disappointed that this was not reflected in your experience with check in and housekeeping. I will personally share your comments with our management team.

We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to the Resort in the future.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bend, Washington
Level Contributor
204 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

While you're in the Newport Beach, CA area this resort is definitely worth a visit. The pool side restaurant is simply outstanding. Sit outside and enjoy the view if possible. Since this place is probably 5 stars you would expect the service to be great and you will not be disappointed. We have gone there for a breakfast and it's a very relaxing way to start the day. Try one of their special items that are on the menu. Only one thing causes me some concern but it's fairly common in many restaurants - they are very slow in presenting you with the bill. This is hard thing to complain about since you certainly don't want to feel rushed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fritz98045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent experience. I am pleased to read about your dining experience at Coliseum Pool & Grill. I appreciate the feedback you provided in regard to receiving your bill and will personally share these comments with our restaurant staff. I hope to welcome you back to our Tuscan seaside village soon.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This place is absolutely amazing. Every detail is thought of. We loved the pool, the beautiful view from our room, the beach shuttle and the well appointed spa along with the very professional and gifted spa staff. All resort staff is so attentive, friendly and goes above and beyond to make their guests feel welcome. I will definitely be back and am still talking about my stay. The only mishap was a very rude retail associate in the shop. We left quickly from there as she was curt and not welcoming...nothing like the rest of the amazing staff. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxtraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post your thoughts about your recent visit to Pelican Hill. While I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our amenities, Spa facilities and attentive staff, I have taken the opportunity to personally share your comments about your experience in our retail shop with our retail management. We hope to see you at Pelican Hill again soon.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Made a reservation for a weeknight stay at this 2014 Forbes 5 Diamond Resort and Conde Nast's #1 Resort in the US. The resort is owned by the controversial The Irvine Company with a nightly rate of $425/night for an Ocean Facing Bungalow at 847 sq feet.

Checking in with the valets was friendly and helpful. The check-in agent at the front desk was lackluster, considering that this was a 5 diamond resort. There was no mention of the amenities included with my stay booked through Visa Signature Luxury Hotel collection...it seemed like a cold experience...check-ins at Hilton properties are consistently excellent...I think the agent was Cynthia?!?

The bungalow itself was well-appointed, but starting to show its age. The waiter at the restaurant claimed that the resort was completed in 2008.

The ocean-facing outdoor patio was definitely the highlight of the bungalow since the weather was perfect right before retiring at night and throughout the entire stay. The clean and well maintained patio furniture was definitely a treat, overlooking the golf course.

A room service agent came by shortly after checking in to present us with a welcome fruit basket, which was a nice touch. In addition, they completed a turn-down service when we stepped out for dinner, which included some ice, chocolates by the pillow and a quick cleaning of the bungalow.

Check-out was also awkward as it required several pointed questions to the check-out agent to modify the several "mistakes" on the Folio...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sofaonasock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed the oceanview terrace and room service, but I am disappointed that your overall service experience was less than perfect. Please know that I have followed up with the management teams of each department you mentioned to ensure that your comments are considered carefully, as we continuously strive to heighten the guest experience throughout the Resort. Please know that we constantly maintain each Bungalow guestroom according to Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star and AAA Five-Diamond standards.

Once again, I apologize that the service you encountered during your visit fell short of your expectations and our goals. I invite you to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your feedback further, or if I could be of assistance as you plan a future visit.

Kind regards,

Santosh Kuruvilla
Director of Rooms
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
2.8 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
933 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
3,149 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,349 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pelican Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pelican Hill

Property: The Resort at Pelican Hill
Address: 22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657-2008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pelican Hill 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 504 acres by the Pacific Ocean in Newport Beach, The Resort at Pelican Hill(R) features: 128 two-, three- and four-bedroom villas with magnificent coastal views and an unparalleled array of appointments, immersing guests in the absolute finest of everything; 204 luxuriously appointed bungalow guest rooms and suites with private terraces; a rejuvenating Five-Star spa with a menu of the world's most celebrated therapies; world-class restaurants, including Andrea serving authentic Northern Italian cuisine; an iconic "Coliseum Pool," one of the largest circular pools anywhere with tiered decks and luxurious cabanas; and Pelican Hill Golf Club with 36 dramatic holes by Tom Fazio, nearly all with ocean panoramas. A Five-Star, Five-Diamond destination, Pelican Hill has earned acclaim as the 2012 Grand Resort selected by Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report; as Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Awards Top Southern California Resort (2013 & 2012), Top U.S. Resort (2011), Top-Rated Golf Resort Worldwide (2012) and Top-Rated California Resort Spa (2012); in Travel + Leisure's "Top 100" World's Best Hotels (2011 Readers' Poll), and with two courses ranked among Golf Digest's America's 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses (2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Resort at Pelican Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hill Hotel Newport Beach
Hotel At Pelican Hill
At Pelican Hill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing