We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Southlake, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at Pelican Hill in October. The weather was perfect and the resort equally so. Although the reception lacked a warm and fuzzy feeling they were excellent in service. I was fortunate to stay in a 2 bedroom villa on the top floor with an amazing view. Although my villa was a distance away from the main building and services I never had to wait longer than it took for me to make it downstairs. The entire property is beautiful, the view spectacular and the food yummy. Looking for a 5 star experience with that California Feeling one can only get in California? This is a great place to give a try.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lfolsom521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback about your recent visit to Pelican Hill. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your Villa accommodations and dining experiences, and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,067
    198
    128
    59
    63
See reviews for
470
491
37
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Took my family here for a trip in March and it was excellent. They were able to accommodate all of our requests and then some. We had a great view of the ocean from our room. Understand, this property is NOT on the ocean so your not going to have a beachfront view but some rooms have a much better view than others. They are constantly bring fruit, snacks, water, etc to your room. The rooms are very tastefully decorated. The sleep experience is great. The linens are great. The toiletries are great. We had a nice relaxing day by the pool in one of the cabanas and they pampered us all day in it. We played one of the golf courses and found it to be just ok. Not what I was expecting from an ocean course but it had some cool holes. I travel a lot and try to stay at upscale places and this one is among the best. There is some stiff competition in this area but Pelican holds its own.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your family trip to Pelican Hill earlier this year. It is our aim to deliver Five-Star service to every guest, and I am pleased to read that this was reflected in your stay. We appreciate you posting your feedback, and hope to see you and your family back here soon.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Travelled 4th of July week and stayed 7 days at this property. Two Couples. First the property was just spectacular. We stayed in a bungalow with a really attractive ocean view. No...the property does not sit directly on the ocean/beach, but the views are stunning and the proximity to the beach and the beauty and views from the grounds make this place jaw dropping. The staff were attentive and professional from the moment we arrived until the car drove us to the airport. The restaurants are top tier over all, with a special nod to Andrea's, the signature restaurant on site. Our stay included a fishing expedition, off site restaurants, and a day trip PCH drive to San Diego, all assisted by the capable concierge staff---much of it presented to us as options before we arrived on site. Special Kudos to Danielle de Beaubien and her teammates on the concierge staff. They made way for a restful and memorable stay. Cant wait until we return.

Room Tip: quiet and controlled environment. Think of a gated community environment with all the bells and whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nolarod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post your thoughtful feedback here, in addition to the kind comments you posted on our Andrea, Pelican Grill, Pelican Hill Golf Club & Coliseum Pool & Grill review pages. I am pleased that you enjoyed your Bungalow accommodations, our Resort restaurants and service staff, and have personally shared your kudos with Danielle and the Concierge staff. We hope to welcome you for another restful and memorable stay in the future.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We've stayed here 3 or 4 times and are always amazed at the welcome we receive. The rooms are incredible and the staff wonderful! The views are awesome from the golf course and the banquet food is incredible!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Stephen,

Your feedback is a gift, and we appreciate you taking the time to post your kind comments here. I am pleased to know that you have consistently enjoyed your experiences with your accommodations, as well as our staff and food. We hope to welcome you back to our Tuscan seaside village soon.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Worst service we've ever experienced. We are seasoned travelers and have stayed at many wonderful resorts. Pelican hill staff is simply Unattentive and Unprofessional from front desk to hospitality services. Disappointing for $500+ night. Not even close to the same stratosphere as hotels such as Four seasons or Mandarin Oriental etc. We do NOT recommend staying here; the service is that poor :(

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SweettravelsAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about your recent visit to Pelican Hill, and sincerely apologize that your stay was compromised by the less-than-perfect service you encountered. It is our highest priority to deliver exceptional service throughout the resort, and I regret that your experience did not reflect our Five-Star service standards.

I would like to take a moment to speak with you personally to discuss your feedback in detail. I will provide my contact details separately in a private message. As we continuously strive to heighten the guest experience at Pelican Hill, your feedback is appreciated.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Beautiful property with amazing views from our Villa! The resort staff, from shuttle drivers to our personal Butler, were professional, attentive and very friendly. The problems, unfortunately, were many.
Since our family was staying for a month, eating every meal "out" was not on the agenda. The "fully equipped" kitchen was lacking in pans, utensils, dishes and glasses which made a loud statement to us they didn't want us cooking on the state of the art Wolf range or even use the kitchen. The TVs were analog and only offered 3 HD stations. (quite antiquated for the cost of staying here) The bedrooms and bathrooms were very spacious and beautifully appointed but we did have problems with the sprinklers from the golf course soaking the patio furniture at night, rendering them useless until they dried off in the sun later the following day. Housekeeping, although they did a great job, needed to be contacted to come clean as some days they didn't show up until very late in the afternoon. And, don't go eat at any of the restaurants if you want a quick bite or to dine in under an hour and half. (that includes breakfast or lunch) There were several "little" things, like broken lamps and bathroom doors that didn't lock, that just are not expected at a resort of this "quality". Nothing major, just a few too many "little" items which added up to some aggravation in getting them corrected. If we were only going to be there for a short while, it probably wouldn't have bothered anyone.
The views were heaven and the location is the middle of everywhere we wanted to be. Our Butler was very quick to correct many of the issues and a huge thank you to Brett! We had a great vacation and loved the pools! (also with amazing views!) But, bottom line, considering the expense, the value was not that of a 5-star resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Ann,

I greatly appreciate you taking the time to post your comments about your recent visit to Pelican Hill. While I’m pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed the property and the service of our staff, I want to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. I am disappointed that these oversights impacted your overall experience at Pelican Hill. Please know that I have followed with the Villa manager, restaurant managers and housekeeping department to address the feedback you have graciously detailed here.

It is through the candid and thoughtful feedback from our guests that we are able to continuously improve upon our service standards throughout the Resort. I regret that your experience fell short of your expectations and our goals and would like to take a moment to speak with you personally to discuss your feedback further. I will provide my contact details separately in a private message. We look forward to another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Kind regards,

Santosh Kuruvilla
Director of Rooms
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I spent 3 days at the Resort at Pelican Hill last month and were very impressed with their high level of service and outstanding food service at all locations. We stayed in the Villa's and found the comfort level similar to that of a five-star hotel(except one aspect). The spa was excellent as my husband had a facila with Lidia Verdier, and he claimed it was outstanding! Special thanks to Mark, our server at the Pelican Grill whom made the meal memorable. (The only aspect which needs attention is housekeeping: Waited until 4:30 to check-in and one day our room was cleaned until 5:15 PM.) But otherwise: A great getaway!

Room Tip: Try to get a villa: You'll be spoiled forever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spaqueen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about your recent visit to Pelican Hill. I am delighted to read about the overall level of service you experienced during your stay, and will certainly share your gracious comments with the staff members you mentioned by name.

At Pelican Hill, it is our mission to deliver Five-Star service to each and every guest. I am disappointed that this was not reflected in your experience with check in and housekeeping. I will personally share your comments with our management team.

We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to the Resort in the future.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
2.8 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
990 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,368 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pelican Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pelican Hill

Property: The Resort at Pelican Hill
Address: 22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657-2008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pelican Hill 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 504 acres by the Pacific Ocean in Newport Beach, The Resort at Pelican Hill(R) features: 128 two-, three- and four-bedroom villas with magnificent coastal views and an unparalleled array of appointments, immersing guests in the absolute finest of everything; 204 luxuriously appointed bungalow guest rooms and suites with private terraces; a rejuvenating Five-Star spa with a menu of the world's most celebrated therapies; world-class restaurants, including Andrea serving authentic Northern Italian cuisine; an iconic "Coliseum Pool," one of the largest circular pools anywhere with tiered decks and luxurious cabanas; and Pelican Hill Golf Club with 36 dramatic holes by Tom Fazio, nearly all with ocean panoramas. A Five-Star, Five-Diamond destination, Pelican Hill has earned acclaim as the 2012 Grand Resort selected by Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report; as Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Awards Top Southern California Resort (2013 & 2012), Top U.S. Resort (2011), Top-Rated Golf Resort Worldwide (2012) and Top-Rated California Resort Spa (2012); in Travel + Leisure's "Top 100" World's Best Hotels (2011 Readers' Poll), and with two courses ranked among Golf Digest's America's 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses (2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Resort at Pelican Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hill Hotel Newport Beach
Hotel At Pelican Hill
At Pelican Hill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing