We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated and overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice resort if you are looking for boring, staff that never leaves you alone and solitude. Highly disappointed and we felt like we were in a prison. At $795 per night , we had to call housekeeping twice to come and make up the room. I felt the staff were over the top and they had an answer for everything ! Waited an hour to get ice as apparently that is a no no for guests to get their own ice. When you do finally get your room made up , there were 4 to 5 different people that came ! When asked if I need anything else.......yes, leave me alone ! Staff "hovers" over you too much. Could not wait to leave the prison !

Room Tip: Don't be sold on the website of the views . Again, overrated . If you are looking for average vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele8814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts here. your candid feedback is appreciated. Please know that it is our priority to offer a pleasant and relaxing environment for all guests. I apologize if your experience has fallen short of your expectations and our goals. I welcome any additional thoughts you may prefer to share with us. I will send you a private message with the contact information for the director of rooms. Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,072
    199
    128
    61
    64
See reviews for
477
491
37
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our family of 4 stayed in a large room with 2 queen beds. The room was exceptional. Everything was clean and new, with high level finishes and a view of the ocean. The pool was one of the best I've seen anywhere. Resort food was very good, and Newport is only about 10 min. down the mountain. I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Thanks again Pelican Hill! I have stayed here over a dozen times without a complaint. This time I brought my 18 year old daughter and she LOVED it too! The pool is amazing and she loved the property. So close to Laguna beach so a perfect package. The service as well as all the guests are wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fbcrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed in a garden view bungalow for 3 nights recently. The accommodations and property were first rate, truly transporting, and we loved the private, exclusive feel of the property. There was no welcoming overview of services though- we would call and ask how to get to the pool and would then be offered to be shuttled over, for example- and found housekeeping to be spotty (we specifically asked for our foyer to be cleaned of sand twice and it never was). We wonder what other services we were not aware of.

Service is European style- not overly friendly or accommodating but always polite- we asked to be upgraded to an ocean view and were politely declined (despite its availability online), likewise when the wifi went down every morning 3 days in a row, we did not receive anything more than a sincere apology.

We have usually stayed at the Ritz or FS in Dana Point; this was a wonderful alternative, and a must-do if you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10021NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I booked a weekend stay, and my son fell ill and we had to cancel on short notice. It was a total bummer and they kept a full night rate... which I fully understand is policy, so no complaints and I didn't mention it, but its still a bummer to lose several $100...

So a few weeks later when everyone was well I rebooked another stay. I dropped the hotel a note and let them know I was coming for my first visit (after paying for and not using my last one) and that I wanted to request a room upgrade if possible. The reply was most surprising: defensive and reinstating the policy and how they wouldn't be able to give me a refund for the previous stay. And I was most insulted because I never (either time) asked for a refund... and the experience made me feel cheap... which is most unfortunate at a hotel of this class.

Its always hard to know what happens on 'the inside' of any operation of this size... but I'm inclined to agree with those that comment about bad management.

So we went anyway-- no upgrade or notice of the previous email exchange-- and the hotel itself was very nice. The pool is pretty and my son had a nice time at the Pelican Kids club.

However the experience is like Disneyland-- over the top but also fake. There is little warmth or authenticity to the resort. At a top resort its nice to feel personally recognized, which they just don't do.

I wont be back... which is a shame because it's a spectacular property...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
5 Thank AdornoLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your experience with us. I’m sorry to read about the unfortunate circumstances you encountered, but glad that your son recovered and you were able to visit after all. I have personally addressed your feedback with our guest services and reservations managers.

I will provide our contact information for the director of rooms separately in a private message, so you may contact us directly at your convenience to discuss your comments further.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Amazing location and modern spacy bungalows. The food was great in all restaurants we visited. The service could be better at the Coliseum Pool & Grill. Pricy drinks, especially the wine! The golf course is a must. In all, a spectacular resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPBDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel may be pretty but the management is horrific. They do not care about their guests. They think they are too good for their guests and the service is horrible. I have stayed at countless five star resorts all over the world. The management here is the pits.

Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Caligirl7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. At Pelican Hill, we strive to deliver personalized service to each guest who we have the opportunity to service. I regret that your experience fell short of your expectations and our goals. Your candid thoughts are appreciated, and I would like to hear more about your experience. I will provide you with my contact details separately in a private message, so you may contact me directly at your convenience.

Once again, we value your feedback and thank you for posting your thoughts here.

Kind regards,

Santosh Kuruvilla
Director of Rooms
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
2.8 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#3 of 17 in Newport Beach
996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,429 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
10.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pelican Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pelican Hill

Property: The Resort at Pelican Hill
Address: 22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657-2008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pelican Hill 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 504 acres by the Pacific Ocean in Newport Beach, The Resort at Pelican Hill(R) features: 128 two-, three- and four-bedroom villas with magnificent coastal views and an unparalleled array of appointments, immersing guests in the absolute finest of everything; 204 luxuriously appointed bungalow guest rooms and suites with private terraces; a rejuvenating Five-Star spa with a menu of the world's most celebrated therapies; world-class restaurants, including Andrea serving authentic Northern Italian cuisine; an iconic "Coliseum Pool," one of the largest circular pools anywhere with tiered decks and luxurious cabanas; and Pelican Hill Golf Club with 36 dramatic holes by Tom Fazio, nearly all with ocean panoramas. A Five-Star, Five-Diamond destination, Pelican Hill has earned acclaim as the 2012 Grand Resort selected by Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report; as Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Awards Top Southern California Resort (2013 & 2012), Top U.S. Resort (2011), Top-Rated Golf Resort Worldwide (2012) and Top-Rated California Resort Spa (2012); in Travel + Leisure's "Top 100" World's Best Hotels (2011 Readers' Poll), and with two courses ranked among Golf Digest's America's 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses (2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Resort at Pelican Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hill Hotel Newport Beach
Hotel At Pelican Hill
At Pelican Hill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing