We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful RV getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort
Mission Viejo, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful RV getaway”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Beautiful rv resort right on the back bay. Nice size lots. I stayed on the beachfront this time. Very quiet and great view. Fifth row gets crowded so I suggest not to book there. Good wi Fi. Great bike path adjacent to park. sUP rentals and kayak rental. Nice area for swimming. Boat launch

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CCWhippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Hello,
I want to thank you for taking the time for your review.
Our Beachfront sites are very popular and you can look forward to some more Beachfront upgrades in 2013. Please contact me if you have any questions or future needs at our resort.n. Thank you again for your review.

Rick Vara
Director of RV Operations
Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort and Marina
949-999-3103
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    38
    29
    21
    29
See reviews for
95
23
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We thought we'd give this place another try after four years. Looks like things haven't changed. The staff is incredibly rude. The noise level has only increased and Newport Dunes just can't get it right. I thought this resort would have taken some advice from all the negative press they get, but nope, they continue to provide patrons with the same old disappointing environment. Dumpy Dunes!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank destinieschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of Newport Dunes Resort. Thank you for staying with us. I sent you a personal email to followup on your experience.
Thank you again for your review and if you need any help with accommodations in the future please call me at 949 999 3103. Thank you
Rick Vara
Director RV Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport Beach hotels

La Habra, California
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Our family does not camp - but my sons elementary school hosted a Newport Dunes camping weekend. All the families camped on the beach in tents.

Why is this place great for the non-camping type:
1) Just hop in your car in the morning for a Starbucks right down the street
2) There is a convenience store on-site with lunch, ice cream, coffee, and everythng you need for comfort

There is no doubt this is an overcrowded location - the evenings can be loud. But if you are looking to have fun at the beach for a few days we thought this was great.

There was a playground close by. Lots of water toys that could be rented. Even pool access for those renting a RV space - we had access because we had friends renting an RV space. Never did find the showers - so good thing we were only there 2 nights and went swimming once. :)

A huge downside is that the parking area and beach camping area are far from each other - so you need a cart to help move all the stuff from your car to the campsite. They have some carts available for use - but the day we went it was super busy and those were hard to come by.

All in all - fun for 2 nights. I would agree that the RV spots are crazy expensive - but if you get beach front space it is kind of justifiable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank ALinCA5512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of Newport Dunes Resort. Thank you for staying with us. We are glade you had a great experience at Newport Dunes Resort.. Thank you
Rick Vara
Director RV Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Look for your things, even watertoys were stolen. Showers are not clean, staff is not helpful. Place is very loud due to airport, next to busy highway. Sites are very small, no firepits, though you can rent them for an extra 35 fee per day(!). Never seen this elsewhere, definitely not worth the money!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99AW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of Newport Dunes Resort. Thank you for staying with us. I sent you a personal email to followup on your experience.
Thank you again for your review and if you need any help with accommodations in the future please call me at 949 999 3103. Thank you
Rick Vara
Director RV Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Other then the nice location, these were things that will prevent us from going back:

- Small camp site.
- Noise from airplanes and cars from close by freeway. We heard the restroom door slammed all night since our site was next to the restroom.
- The lagoon's water was muddy. There were 2 "end of storm drain" signs at the beach. Not sure if they were related.
- The pool was out of control! The hot spa posted sign "No kids under 12" but the life guards didn't bother to enforce the rule. Some parents in the pool throwing their kids around in the pool, I approached the life guard about this and she said that she will only stop it when someone got hurt!!! We left because we didn't want that someone to be our kid.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunTrip98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of Newport Dunes Resort. Thank you for staying with us. I sent you a personal email to followup on your experience.
Thank you again for your review and if you need any help with accommodations in the future please call me at 949 999 3103. Thank you
Rick Vara
Director RV Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
so cal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We rented a cottage, which was perfect for my husband and I, along with 6 of our kids. Bigger kids slept in sleeping bags in the loft, littler kids downstairs on a sofa bed, closer to us. Cute little mini house, steps away from the beach, where the kids loved the floating playground, swimming, SUP, and boating in the bay. Pool was great too, and in the evenings we toasted marshmallows over fires in the beach fire pits. Newport is gorgeous, Balboa Island and Newport peninsula are fun with the family, and Corona del Mar is very close by for a great family beach, with Little Corona just down the street from Big Corona for fun tide pool exploring.
Staff at Newport Dunes were all very nice, we will be back next year!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of Newport Dunes Resort. Thank you for staying with us.
Thank you again for your review.

Rick Vara
Director RV Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Andy Stipe and Rick Vara - Management
Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort and Marina
1131 Back Bay Drive
Newport beach, Ca 92660

I have resided in 4 countries, traveled to 30, and lived in New York, Beverly Hills, Newport Beach and Greenwich, CT. I always strive to live in the best locations, and stay in the top hotels, and resorts, and will say that Newport Dunes, rates as number one in my book. Both Andy Stipe and Rick Vara were complete gentlemen, professional, and worked towards excellence from accommodations, van parking, down to package delivery – it didn’t matter, excellence was the goal and the outcome. The bottom line is that Andy and Rick and staff - made it feel like home and just have one goal – excellence in customer service. The staff is tremendously helpful, professional, and again, consistent with excellence. The site is unique, clean, strategically located, and attracts very fine visitors and RV’s. The only thing I can say is a very big Thank You, and look forward to staying at the Dunes again – there is nothing these guys can’t accommodate.

Stu Gomer
Retired – EVP, Citigroup

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stugomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of Newport Dunes Resort.
Thank you for staying with us.
Thank you again for your review.

Rick Vara
Director RV Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,527 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
574 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
4.1 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort

Property: Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort
Address: 1131 Back Bay Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660-7405
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RV resort located near Disneyland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Dunes Waterfront Hotel Newport Beach
Camping Newport Beach
Newport Dunes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing