We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Water Front Spots”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort
LA, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Water Front Spots”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stood here for the weekend in March 2013 and had a great time! We stood with some friends who had a water front spot (2123) while we had a spot in the row behind them (2122). Although our spot was nice, it doesnt compare to the waterfront spots! As stated in other reviews, all of the spots are pretty narrow, unless you get one of the end or corner spots, you have just enough room on one side for the picnic table and a little bit of walking space and thats about it. You back straight up to your neighbors behind you, but it really insnt that bad. If you are going with a large group though, make sure you get a waterfront spot so you can have room for everyone to hang out together out in front on the grass area. We spent all of our time at our friends spot up by the water so it wasnt a big concern for us.We took our own fire pit, but you can use the ones over down by the beach area, or even rent one from the store if you forget yours! The front desk staff was nice and very helpful. When I called to make my reservation and let them know I wanted to be near our friends who had already reserved their spot, they did everything they could to get me right next to them! The market was great for snacks & treats for the kids and has the best soft serve Ive had in a while! We forgot to take coffee with us and it was so easy to head over to the store to grab a cup of fresh brewed java every morning! A lot of the reviews I've read say they had problems with dogs doing their "business" right in front of them, and although we saw plenty of dogs, not once did we see any inapproiate behavior from either the dogs, or their owners. There are quite a few long term residents and some older guests who are not too happy with young kids or guest with large families and although we did have one uncomfortable moment with one of our neighbors, it wasnt too bad. By the end of the weekend, we had chatted a bit, so things ended up being ok. And I did feel that majority of the guest there were very welcoming and nice. I do think it would be better though if they had a section identified in the park as the "quietier" section. This way families with young children can do what they came out here to do, camp, have a good time, ride their bicycles and just enjoy themselves and not worry about waking the neighbors at 2pm. The park feels very safe and you have no problems letting your kids ride their bikes throughout the resort! We did the bike ride from the resort over to balboa and took the ferry across the way and rode down to newport beach pier and back and had a great time! Wifi worked great, the bathrooms and the park over all was very clean and well maintained. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honeymooners7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
We are glade you had a great experience at Newport Dunes Resort . Please contact me at 949-999-3103 if you would like to discuss your stay or need help in booking a future reservation.

Thank you
Rick Vara
Director RV Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    37
    28
    20
    27
See reviews for
90
22
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

It's our fourth out of five years visiting this location. We have a group that has grown to 60 rigs per year. The park is lovely. We always stay an extra few days and it really calms down after the weekend. There's a restaurant on site and the staff has been helpful. We have a big group, some can get noisy, but they are respectful. Yes, there are a lot of dogs, so if you don't want to see them poop, ask the owner to move on...we would.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ConchalAdobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Hello
We are glade you had a great experience at Newport Dunes Resort. Please contact me at 949-999-3103 if you would like to discuss your stay or need help in booking a future reservation.

Thank you
Rick Vara
Director RV Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Our family has rented ocean front spots three times-by far worth the price. Our extended family has rented cabins which is great so we can all vacation together. Yes the spots are pretty close together but usually you get good neighbors. Some of the ocean front RV's are older people and they don't appreciate the younger families. We did have one problem and felt very uncomfortable with how rude our neighbor was-oh well just be respectful and do your thing. We have never had a problem with the pool, staff, noise, etc. We generally spend time there in September and Thanksgiving. Summer is too expensive. Love the long boardwalk to ride bikes or walk dogs. It is safe and the kids can ride around and play without being too worried. The market is a little pricey but if you come prepared and just make it a treat for the kids it isn't too bad. Love the close proximity to Balboa Island, Newport Beach, and Laguna Beach. Bikes are a must-it is a large resort. Fun nighttime bar-b-q by the market, music, fun times. Already have reservations for Thanksgiving weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of Newport Dunes Resort. Thank you for staying with us. We are glade you had a great experience. Please contact me at 949-999-3103 if you would like to discuss your stay or need help in booking a future reservation. Thank you
Rick Vara
Director RV Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

You can't beat the beachfront sites as far as view and convenience. However, if you don't like watching dogs poop in front of you while trying to enjoy the view, then don't reserve there. Why pay 300 per night to watch dogs poop? They do not enforce dog policy and dogs routinely are unleashed. It is well known that people walk there dogs to poop on the beachfront sites, rather than take them to the dog run. Dogs routinely walk the beach and if you call security to report this, you are wasting your time. A simple, "No dogs on the grass" sign or have routine patrols would solve the problem. Unfortunately, you have to take matters into your own hands. I don't like walking in dog poop so I put pepper and moth balls on the lawn. Works great!!!!! No, I am not a dog hater. I have one. But I am courteous and don't assume that others are dog lovers.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alphonso B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of Newport Dunes Resort. Thank you for staying with us. We have increased our security patrols and installed a fence along the sidewalk in the first block of Beachfront sites. We have gotten great comments about the fences. Thank you again for your review and if you need any help with accommodations in the future please call me at 949 999 3103. Thank you
Rick Vara
Director RV Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I agree with other recent reviews that the fee for this RV park and prices in the onsite supermarket are on the high side and that the laundry did only cold washes. However, we staid an extra day because there are just soo many great things to do either within walking or cycling distance of the park or with public transport. We had a superb day walking across the bridge to Balboa island with its beautiful houses, boats and quaint little shops, taking the ferry to cross over to Balboa peninsula and messing about on the beach. The next day we cycled along the path around the Back Bay Nature Reserve and saw lots of wild birds. On the extra day we took the bus No 1 along the Pacific Highway to Laguna Beach. On the morning of our departure we stopped off in Fashion island, which is the most beautiful mall I've ever come across.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen504170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of Newport Dunes Resort. Thank you for staying with us. The hot water in the laundry has been fixed and is working great. This year we are upgrading WiFi bandwidth and many other upgrade to our resort.

We are glade you had a great experience at Newport Dunes Resort and you enjoyed our local attractions. Please contact me at 949-999-3103 if you would like to discuss your stay or need help in booking a future reservation.

Thank you
Rick Vara
Director RV Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

Prices go up and you get less. The hot waters been out for a good while in the laundry room. The change machine in laundry room never seems to work properly. Your Laundry will disappear.... Cable is mainly Spanish and what you do get in english you can hardly see. The internet... Good luck!!! The perks are not so perky!! The store is overly priced!! As for the lots there nice... Nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank womanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of Newport Dunes Resort. Thank you for staying with us. The laundry equipment has been replaced and is working great. WiFi bandwidth upgrade is slated for the end of June. Thank you again for your review and if you would like to discuss your stay or need any help with accommodations in the future please call me at 949 999 3103. Thank you
Rick Vara
Director RV Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodyear, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

They charge visitors to enter to visit and have a hourly fee while they are there. This is the worst rv park in CA. My family will never, ever stay here again and you shouldn't either. It is a mud hole with no room between rv's.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of Newport Dunes Resort. Thank you for staying with us. I sent you a personal email to follow up on your experience.
Thank you again for your review and if you need any help with reservations in the future please call me at 949 999 3103. Thank you
Rick Vara
Director RV Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,349 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
557 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
2.1 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort

Property: Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort
Address: 1131 Back Bay Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660-7405
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RV resort located near Disneyland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Dunes Waterfront Hotel Newport Beach
Camping Newport Beach
Newport Dunes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing