We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive, but a comfortable place to unwind”

Sam & Harry's Steakhouse - Marriott Newport Beach
Reserve with OpenTable
Sam & Harry's Steakhouse - Marriott Newport Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #145 of 505 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Price range: US$31 - US$60
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Begun in 1990, the original Sam & Harry’s is a Washington, D.C. landmark. An institution for “power dining” in the city, Sam & Harry’s DC has hosted Roy Rogers, Gene Autry, Julia Child, and Nicolas Cage among many celebrities and politicians. Washingtonians voted Sam & Harry’s “Best Steak” and Wine Spectator has awarded us the “Best Award of Excellence”. Sam & Harry’s brings more than a traditional steakhouse to Newport Beach. We feature USDA prime steaks, “jet-fresh” seafood flown in daily from around the world, and an award-winning wine program that showcases a list of hand selected bottles, while highlighting 50 wines by the glass. Sam & Harry’s signature personalized service will accommodate your every need and our private dining rooms provide the perfect ambiance for an evening of business or leisure
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Expensive, but a comfortable place to unwind”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is a great place to have a meal by yourself during a business trip, which is what I did. I had seafood, which was delicious, and the wine selection is good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jk61-California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    26
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not Your Normal Hotel Dining Room”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I have previously eaten at Sam and Harry's in DC, a high end power steakhouse. I was surprised that this establishment situated in a Marriott Hotel was a sister to that restaurant. While the ambiance was considerably less formal, I felt it stood up well to the restaurant in the capital. The only disappointment was that the patio seating was unavailable as they were hosting a large party outside. The area did, however, look pleasant and inviting.

The server was excellent, friendly, and efficient.

We were encouraged to try Sam and Harry's for lunch during Newport Beach Restaurant Week. Their $20 lunch menu was three courses. We had for one starter the steakhouse wedge salad which was good, but nothing special. The other starter was a very tasty and filling beef soup, almost enough for a lunch with bread. We marched on, however, and ordered the beef filet for a main course. The steaks arrived, cooked exactly to order, with well prepared and presented vegetables. We had a very good glass of wine from a useful selection of wines by-the-glass. Desert was a chef's selection which was the perfect end to a very nice lunch. The meal was outstanding value and was a very good advertisement for Restaurant Week.

Well worth a return visit!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast!”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My son and I ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant, Sam & Harry's, during our stay in July 2012. The staff was very friendly and attentive. They made my son happy when they brought sweet treat out (free of charge) for my son's birthday. The food tasted great! We sat out side and enjoyed the view of the property and the nearby area. (The hotel sits upon a hill so when out of the restaurant, you have a view of the surrounding area). The food is a little pricey, even for breakfast items.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
113 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“solid steakhouse/hotel restaurant”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is a sister to the original in DC. It's a very good restaurant with great service, but the French onion soup had a lot of cheese and was not browned as I had specifically requested. The Caesar salad was great, with anchovies. My steak was not charred as requested and for the prices, was not up to the standards of other top chains: Morton's/Mastro's/Palm.

The breakfast buffet looked great, but I had eggs Benedict which was perfect and the hash browns were crisp as requested

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrainDoc90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
218 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Pricey and Slow”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Few diners eat here with most folks attending conventions or eating off property. Service was attentive but food was slow.

Go somewhere else to eat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sam & Harry's Steakhouse - Marriott Newport Beach also viewed

 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Sam & Harry's Steakhouse - Marriott Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing