We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More Rounds at Pelican” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican Hill Golf Club

Pelican Hill Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the nation's premier golf clubs, Pelican Hill Golf Club(R) boasts 36 holes designed by Tom Fazio with stunning ocean panoramas from every hole, a luxurious 44,000-square-foot clubhouse with separate men's and women's locker rooms and lounges with a full array of appointments and amenities, the acclaimed Pelican Grill and lounge, Caffe II Italian coffee bar, a golf shop offering the latest golf fashions and accessories, and an intelligently designed, full-service practice facility. Conveniently located right outside the clubhouse door, the practice facility features an expansive driving range, practice greens and tour-event Nike Platinum One balls waiting for guests when they arrive. The two 18-hole courses, Ocean North and Ocean South, are both ranked among Golf Digest's America's 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses. A preeminent institution of golf instruction in California, Pelican Hill Golf Academy offers dedicated teaching facilities, including two greens, bunkers and driving tees. The Director of Instruction, Glenn Deck, is one of Golf Magazine's Top 100 Teachers in America and one of Golf Tips magazine's Top 25 U.S. Instructors. He offers monthly golf schools, special guest instructor programs, private lessons and a seasonal Junior Golfers' Academy.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“More Rounds at Pelican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have been playing golf at Pelican for well over 12 years. The courses (North and South) are fantastic with wonderful views of the ocean. On the North you see more of the ocean. On the South, there are a couple of holes that play along the ocean. The continued drought has made the fairways very dry, but that does not take away from the experience. Not counting our home club in Chicago, we play Pelican more than anywhere else.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChiTown69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    38
    11
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Torry Pines and Pebble Beach eat your heart out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Loved the views, staff was accommodating. Course was challenging, both North and South. Outstanding play. Grounds well kept....a few rough patches along the way but the grounds were immaculate. Pricey, but considering the environment...no complaints.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nolarod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, USA
Level Contributor
1,109 reviews
369 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
“Par 5 in Eight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

not bad for a hacker... but who am I kidding. beautiful course with views of the ocean. pricey
but if you consider you play 110 + not too bad for the price of one whole after the other.
recommended to good golfers MeuterMedia

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MeuterMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at Pelican Hill Golf Club, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time at Pelican Hill Golf Club. We hope to see you back on the course soon.

Kind regards,

Steve Friedlander
VP Golf
Pelican Hill Golf Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great experience at Pelican Hill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I have had the privilege of playing golf at some of the finest courses in the country, and the experience of playing both of the Fazio designed Pelican Hill layouts ranks with the best. Absolutely everything is first class....driving range, pro shop, clubhouse, food and service. The course conditions are perfect and the layout overlooking the Pacific Ocean is spectacular. I recommend the use of a fore caddie to help navigate the terrain and read the breaks on the greens.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank POPPA-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at Pelican Hill Golf Club, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. I’m pleased to hear that your experience with our facilities and service ranked first class. We hope to welcome you back to Pelican Hill Golf Club soon.

Kind regards,

Steve Friedlander
VP Golf
Pelican Hill Golf Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ocean North is very Picturesque”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

The view on this golf course is spectacular although it's not comparable to Pebble Beach Golf courses which we have played them all. The greens on this course is amazing. Wish we didn't get partners with a slow players bec my friend is very competitive. I didn't see any golf marshal that will direct players in that event. Oh well still good course.

Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pelican Hill Golf Club also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Mission Viejo, Orange County
 

Been to Pelican Hill Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing