We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at Radisson in August. We are gold member, so we have free breakfast. My dad and mom really liked their breakfast because they have hot items. Great selection of fruits too. We are entitled to late check-out as gold member. However, we had to check out later than 2:00 pm, and Radisson was able to extend our late check-out to 2:30pm. We are very thankful for their customer service.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Kiet V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had just traveled from Minnesota to Newport Beach, a 36 hour drive, and were exhausted when we checked in. Leandro the Front Office Manager made us feel right at home with a upgrade to a king room on the top floor with a great view and access to the top floor lounge. The room was great, clean and spacious with a balcony. The outdoor pool was awesome and we spent as much time as we could by the pool. You can even order lunch or dinner from the pool and eat poolside. The hotel is convenient to the airport and everything else in the Newport Beach area. We had a room facing the airport and thought it was fine. Enjoyed watching the planes take off and land and the noise from the planes was not noticeable or loud. With the Balcony door shut you could not hear the planes at all. Great hotel and will be staying here again when in the area.

Room Tip: Top two floors have access to complimentary lounge on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Ask for a room that does NOT face Orange County airport, otherwise the planes will wake you up at 7 am. When I asked for another room they upgraded me to a business room. Rooms are smallish, airport energy. mediocre breakfast buffet, reasonably priced. Very slow internet, could not upload medium file despite repeated tries.

Room Tip: Aks for room facing AWAY from the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrKacieCrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The hotel was pretty good all around. Good comfortable bed, clean rooms, free internet, free parking and free fox news. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. I didn't eat at the restaurant. The pool was heated which is a nice touch because it was a little overcast while I was there and I would not have been very tempted by a cold pool. I have stayed at several hotels in Newport. The location on this one is great for airport and freeway access, but it's not a great location for shopping or beach access as they're a good 20 minute drive in good traffic.

Room Tip: My room was way out in the boonies at the edge of the hotel in one of the adjacent towers. This mad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Probably the least memorable hotel from my trip to California. The lobby was quite nice and I expected from that a nicer looking room. At best it was mediocre. Nothing distinguished the room's amenities. There was a coffee pot, beds were comfortable, bathroom needed updating. I wanted to use the pool, but as beautiful as it looked, it was too cold to use. The hot tub was adequate, not very big and not many therapeutic jets in it. The the staff in the area were pleasant, and were in no hurry to rush me out. There was free internet which made up for the limited television/cable stations available. Parking was free. No free breakfast. For its proximity to the airport, it may be a good choice. Would not highly recommend or choose to stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the pool. Maybe staying earlier in the summer would make the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

The personal touch upon arrival at the airport a gentleman named Nick came across the parking lot to ask if we were going to the Raddison hotel ! Great customer service right from the first hello ! Thank you Nick for a great first impression of this beautiful clean property .
Upon entering the guest room , the fresh smell of a clean room is what hits you first then the sight of a comfortable bed and clean room !
The outdoor pool is immaculate ! Beautiful peaceful grounds surround the pool ! Sure makes for a great way to relax at this property .
Thank you and your great lobby cleaning staff for their hard work on keeping this property absolutely beautiful and most of all , comfortable !
The two morning ladies ( 5:30 am Sunday morning ) are fantastic , I'm certain that there was not one spec of dust anywhere as they were so careful while working this morning ! Love this property !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHXman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This hotel is definitely not four stars! The rooms are outdated. The bathroom is small and the fixtures are old. The tiles on the bathroom floor are broken. There is only one nightstand in the room. It is kept clean! The sheets were clean and the bathroom was also clean. The carpet looked old and worn. The hotel is not close to the beach at all. The restaurant is really good and staff are friendly and helpful. If simple is what you are looking for stay here! Don't expect any luxury! Their lobby looks great, but the rest of the hotel needs to be remodeled. The air conditioner was loud and couldn't get the room cool enough!

Room Tip: Pay a little more and stay closer to the attractions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#11 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,576 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,760 reviews
1 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Fashion Island Hotel Newport Beach
5.6 mi away
Newport Channel Inn
Newport Channel Inn
#10 of 18 in Newport Beach
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Newport Beach

Address: 4545 MacArthur Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2022 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Newport Beach)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: £104 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carlton Hotel Newport Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Newport Beach
Newport Beach Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing