We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not accommodating at all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our stay started out bad from the beginning. Upon arrival our reservations were all messed up even though I confirmed them a week before I left. They told me I would not have a room over looking the parking lot - instead I over looked the air condition units. We arrived late (10pm) went to order room service but neither phone worked - front desk person did not care. They never gave us the internet code, at 11:30pm I could not call down for it or get on my laptop to get work done. There were ants crawling throughout the bathroom, again, no one really cared. After 2 days there they said they would change my room but the hotel was full. The staff was not accommodating at all, in fact had a care less attitude. Not at all what I expected from a Radisson, especially being a Club Carlson member.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Specialist, Online Customer Support at Radisson Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

We apologize for the disappointing service you received from the staff. We want to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive the best “Yes I Can!”. If you ever feel that the front desk is unable to resolve any issue, please contact Corporate Customer Care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 747 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

I enjoyed my stay here and it was extremely convenient! It is very close to the John Wayne Santa Ana Airport. I chose the hotel because of the free parking and free internet. It is only about 20-40 minutes from Newport, Huntington, or Laguna beaches. I had looked into staying at a hotel a bit closer to the beach, but they all charged for parking and/or internet so I opted to save that money by staying at the Radisson. I'm glad I did because those hotels were literally only 5-10 minutes closer so I didn't lose anything by staying "further away." My only complaint was that the internet didn't work very well on my 2nd night and they didn't seem able to fix it. The pool area was very nice, though not extremely large. The hotel is located right by Jamboree Road (main thoroughfare) on Macarthur, and driving around OC was no problem. The staff was extremely nice and very professional! I thought the price for the room ($140/night) was very reasonable, especially considering that parking and wifi were included. I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGuy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is located directly adjacent to the John Wayne Airport. Not in Newport Beach proper. That being said the hotel is easily accessed from either the 55 fwy or the 405 fwy. It is an older property that appears to be pretty well maintained. Our room was on the 5th floor facing the runway of the airport. We enjoyed being able to open the sliding glass door and step onto the small balcony. The plane noise is loud when the door is open but when closed, we couldn't hear anything. The room was clean and comfortable (no sleep number bed as previously reviewed). Refrigerator in the room was convenient. Bathroom was small but clean. Free parking and walking distance to a small food court in a nearby strip mall. Don't hesitate to stay here, this is a clean and decent hotel.,

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DADuv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I loved this Hotel. The staff was so helpful and friendly. It is near the Airport but I heard no noise at all and it was within minutes of anything and everything includung great food and an amazing mall.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mykawika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My Fiance and three kids stayed at this hotel June 7th and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are basic, and all the beds are 'sleep number' but our bed didn't work. Sleeping on a sleep number bed that is broken is pretty awful. You can feel the pump or something mechanical instead of cushion and I would rather have plain old spring mattress than a broken sleep number any day. Beyond that, the noise is intense from the airport, but it wasn't bad...something along the lines of the soothing sound of waves crashing at a beach hotel, if you like that type of thing. The noise from the nightclub across the street went on until after midnight, so keep that in mind as well. The lobby is nice, the staff is very attentive and kind and the pool was better than we had thought. Nice size, cool design for kids and adults to swim in, plenty of nice seating and towels. The jacuzzi Saturday night had a nice social aspect for the adults while the kids swam. We met two other couples and had fun conversation and drinks, which made it feel like a vacay and not a one night out of town situation. Very nice bathrooms at the pool, too. There's a bar which we didn't use but we heard it was cool. The gift shop was a welcome aspect, as we needed a bathing suit last minute which they had and waters, etc. We had three rooms all together, and we all felt that it was a nice place and fun atmosphere. The bathrooms in the rooms are small. You have to scoot in between door and toilet, which makes it a bit uncomfortable to travel with more than just your spouse, etc...but worse, the shower head was all messed up. It was not a new one, and it was broken, in fact, and no matter how hard I turned the lever, it only shot out at the top of my head and off to an angle, so, not good. If you're six feet than yes, perfect shower, LOL. Nice places to eat just across the street so no driving needed. We would stay here again, for sure, for short stay visits.

Room Tip: All rooms hear air traffic, no getting away from that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aprilbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The most important thing to know about this hotel: it is not actually near Newport Beach. Although it's address is in Newport Beach, it is right next to the John Wayne Airport, so plan accordingly. You can see the airport from the top few floors, but along with that comes the noise of the airport. The room is just average, not amazing but not horrible. Since it was Thanksgiving, we paid too much for this hotel. It was also a little on the outdated side too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdlima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We three went from NY to CA for 5 days for a wedding. The hotel atrium was beautiful inside and we had a good stay. The housekeeping staff, especially Rosita, did a great job in keeping our rooms neat and clean. The parking and the restaurant were convenient. My only minor complaint would be that each of us had to pay $6 extra a day for amenities. Unless the restaurant is considered an amenity, none of us used any during our stay. That added a hidden extra $30 to each of our bills. Not a small amount since it totaled $90for our group of three. I think the amenity fee should be paid by those travelers who choose to use the amenities.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,663 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#9 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,550 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#10 of 18 in Newport Beach
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,029 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Newport Beach

Address: 4545 Macarthur Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2022
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: £111 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Newport Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Newport Beach
Newport Beach Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing