We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lies and more lies...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Maysville, Missouri
1 review
“Lies and more lies...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We pre-purchased our stay for a set price and even confirmed the final price with the hotel. When we arrived we were told that there is a $100 deposit required (unexpected due to never being mentioned by hotel staff over the phone) and the staff claimed it would be automatically released in three business days. Six business days later it had not been released. We had to call our bank so they could call the hotel and receive permission to release the deposit.
Also, our room was supposed to be cleaned on Tuesday while we were out. When we came back our room was untouched. We had to go down to the desk where we found out it had been marked clean. They then had to make a note for housekeeping to make sure they cleaned our room the next day.
Their grab and go breakfast was a joke. They didn't provide any cold drinks such as milk or juice. And the food was essentially just granola bars.
On their website they showed that they provided onsite facilities to wash your clothing. We found out this was not true. On one of the sites advertising for them, they stated that they had a pool. This also was not true. We were very dissatisfied due to the lies we kept receiving from the staff and the advertising. Do not use this hotel. They don't care about the customers.

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paradigm89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. I sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I have contacted our marketing team to assure any websites mentioning a pool are removed and will also be working with the staff to assure that if we are unable to provide housekeeping on a scheduled day we do a better job communicating with our guests. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at laa@extendedstay.com. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    45
    33
    20
    26
See reviews for
23
26
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
206 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

You can't beat the price for Newport Beach; however, it's not worth it. Check in took 45 minutes, although the front desk staff was nice, she was unable to quickly serve the people checking in. The room quality was worse than a college dorm room and I would not go barefoot in the room. I checked in and checked out within 2 hours. The clientele was not conducive to a business stay. No amenities; towels and sheets were clean. Stay with the knowledge it is a very convenient location, parking is free; however, I would have rather worked from a Starbucks then in my room.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlm456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. I apologize that it took so long for you to get checked in when you arrived. As well, I am sorry that you were not pleased with the overall condition of your room. Your comments will be very helpful as we continue to improve our guest experience. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport Beach hotels

Placencia, Belize
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I chose this hotel because it was so close to the airport and as it was only a very short stay I did not have any expectations. The front desk staff were very friendly and the room was very large. What stood out was how the general manager, Russ, went above and beyond to sort out an issue I had with a local taxi company. I stay in dozens of hotels around the world every year and this experience compelled me to finally join Tripadvisor and write my first review on this hotel. In terms of value for money you cannot beat it and if you happen to meet Russ your stay will definitely be even better!

There is soap in the bathroom but no other amenities. Bathtub and shower and the shower was good. Decent quality bed, two different types of pillows. Plenty of towels. Very good blackout blinds, good TV. The room also had a kitchenette.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben_Belize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed our friendly staff, your spacious room and your fully equipped kitchen during your stay. As well, it's great to hear that our location was convenient to your travel needs. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with another comfortable stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yucaipa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We only stayed overnight, and here is a quick summary:
CHECK IN - a little slow, but not too bad. STAFF - friendly and helpful. We even got a call 30 minutes after check in to ask how everything was...very nice! LOCATION - middle of a business park, but fairly close to restaurants, etc. ROOM - actually pretty nice. Spacious and comfortable with kitchenette, 2 tables/desks and reading chair besides bed and dresser. AMENITIES - not so much. No pool or fitness room. BREAKFAST - not much, but they clearly advertise it as "breakfast on the go" so at least they're honest about it. VALUE - I thought we got a nice room at a reasonable price. If we'd been staying longer the lack of amenities would've been more of an issue. I give it a 4 minus.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and the service our staff provided. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We look forward to hosting you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Receptionist Yesenia very friendly & told me of the locality. Very good value hotel compared to other hotels close to OC airport. Room with cooker,fridge, microwave, table &chairs. No shuttle - Taxi estimate to airport $8. If you prefer the exercise you can walk to airport terminal under 20 minutes. No computer to print off boarding pass. Hotel close to shops & sports bar. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScouseFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad that you found our staff, especially Yesenia, to be helpful during your visit. As well, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed our location and your fully equipped kitchen. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Good extended rate for a location close to airport and businesses, but it's rather run-down too. The bedding is horrible. The sheets had holes in them (multiple sets over a month's time). The blanket had burn marks and holes (in non-smoking room), and it was thin, flimsy, and slippery. By morning you generally feel like you've spent th he night in a plastic bag. There is no privacy curtain, so your choice is complete blackout or complete exposure. The carpet needs cleaning or replacing (as of March 2014). But again, it's still a good rate and location for a place with a kitchen and laundry.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Innerartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, your fully equipped kitchen and our laundry facilities. Still, I apologize that the condition of your room did not meet your expectations. I will be meeting with our housekeeping staff to review your comments and to ensure that these issues do not continue in the future. Once again, thank you for posting your comments. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Grove, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The staff here is really friendly and professional. Maurice was a great help during my stay. The price is good when you compare it to other hotels in this nice area. I would highly recommend it to anyone planning to stay in southern orange county

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Jose - Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your stay. I truly appreciate the kind words about our staff, especially Maurice. Also, we are very pleased that our great value met your needs. Thanks again for the feedback. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.1 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn
5.8 mi away
Newport Channel Inn
Newport Channel Inn
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport

Property: Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport
Address: 4881 Birch St, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Orange County-John Wayne Airport Hotel Newport Beach
Extended Stay Newport Beach
Extended Stay America Newport Beach
Newport Beach Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing