We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“California Dreaming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This resort is outstanding in so many ways. First of all the location is ideal. The view from the rooms is outstanding. We stayed on the 4th floor overlooking the golf course with a beautiful view of the Pacific ocean. Directly across from my room are multi-million dollar properties that share my view and my world. Marriott really makes you feel comfortable from the moment you arrive until you check out. As an owner I always get a kick out of getting my final bill and except for a few miscellaneous charges that I may have put on the room - the bill is zero. Was it free? Absolutely not but I purchased a timeshare at a decent price and have agreed to pay the yearly maintenance fee and feel I've not only gotten a bargain but a lifestyle that moves me into the world of the rich and famous. I'm one happy owner and plan to return to visit as often as I can.

A negative comment would be the lack of a restaurant where you could enjoy a meal. They have a pool side cafe but it's not adequate for a lot of reasons. They also have a store where you can order some carry out types of food. But they really need a great restaurant. We usually go across the street to the beautiful Pelican Hills resort for breakfast.

Room Tip: I drove around the property and really didn't see any bad rooms. It really depends on what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fritz98045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

903 - 909 of 1,919 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We booked our stay at the Marriott New Coast Villas with Vacation Candy and had a wonderful experience working with them. The Marriott was wonderful! We loved our villa and the proximity to the 'canyon pool' -- hot tub, fire pit, gym facilities and tennis courts were all close by! We had a gorgeous view of the ocean. They offered a shuttle, to Crystal Cove beach, that ran every hour -- it was nice to not have to deal with parking! Our villa was about a 5 minute drive to Trader Joes, 10 minute drive to Whole Foods (Fashion Island) and about 10 minutes, or less, to Pavilion market. It's a phenomenal location! Great restaurants, like Javier's, are close by! I LOVED the salt water pools on the property! We have blondies in our family that tend to get green hair from chlorine pools... it was SO nice to not have to deal with that! Salt water pools are so much healthier:)) Our family enjoyed a lovely week together at the Marriott -- we would definitely recommend staying here. If you want to have a great company book it for you and get you a good deal, go through Vacation Candy --- they're AWESOME!!
They even had a package waiting for us when we arrived:)) Very accommodating and caring company to work with! Have FUN!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScubaBev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your five-star review, Bev! We appreciate your great feedback and hope to see you again soon at Marriott's Newport Coast Villas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were very happy with this Marriott timeshare 2/2 villa. Although a top floor was requested, we were happy to have a bottom floor with a beautiful view of the ocean. We enjoyed coffee and breakfast every morning on the porch. The villas were completely stocked with all the basic kitchen necessities and the local grocery shopping was easily accessible. The unit was spacious and clean. There was zero timeshare sale pressure from anyone. The staff was responsive and quick to handle any requests. The pool was heated and comfortable. The kids area had plenty of optional enjoyable activities. We used this beautiful resort as a hub from which to enjoy day trips but really enjoyed the Newport Beach area so much we will return next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

When you first check in you think that the lines and running past the timeshare people are going to be the worst of your stay. Well then you're mistaken because then you're awoken by noisy neighbors running above you and their screaming babies at 6 am. It ruins your whole day and you're restless and can't enjoy yourself because you're soooo sleepy. I complained and they relocated us after a few calls to the front desk. There isn't any room service either so you need to grocery shop because the Hotel Market is ridiculously expensive! I wouldn't go back and pay 300.00 a night because it's not worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chante M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your review, Chante. We are sorry to hear the noise from your neighbors was a nuisance to you during your stay. Our team takes noise concerns seriously and hope the second villa worked out better for your family. We will share your feedback with the appropriate managers and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope you will visit us again at Marriott's Newport Coast Villas so we may truly exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked three nights here as a special offered by Marriott (of course the obligatory timeshare spiel was required). When we arrived, the main entrance was very inviting and elegantly appointed. The front desk service was very good and quite helpful. We toured the pool area and found it to be suitable with several pools so it didn't feel overcrowded.

We went to our villa, a 1-bedroom unit with a full kitchen. The unit was comfortable and had updated furnishings but was somewhat dark. The bed was comfortable and the entire unit was very roomy.

The resort does not have a restaurant which was a downer for us. If you're on a romantic getaway, cooking is not always at the top of your to-do list. There's small bar that serves food as well by the pool but the hours are very short. Even though the units have a full kitchen, folks on vacation don't want to cook every meal in their room.

We were on the first floor which had a patio but our patio view was a bunch of shrubs (some dead, some alive but all overgrown and ugly) with a service roadway next to them. No view whatsoever (I think there was a golf course on the other side).

The timeshare person was very nice, no high pressure since we explicitly told him that we owned three that we were trying to dump. It lasted a little over 90 minutes but not bad considering the discount on our accommodations.

Overall, I expected more of Marriott resorts having stayed at the Marriott in Ko Olina on Oahu and visiting other Marriott vacation properties.

Room Tip: Request a second or third floor room if you hope to get any view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nsacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for visiting Marriott's Newport Coast Villas. While it is disappointing to hear the resort did not exceed your expectations, we appreciate your feedback on your stay with us. Please know, your feedback will be shared with the appropriate managers. Thank you again for visiting and providing your TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have been coming to this resort each year since it opened and have to say the each time gets even better. Where to start?

-Amazing resort property across from a pristine nature preserve and beach!

-Some of the best views of any Marriott resort property with whale watching from your balcony.

-Genuinely friendly, helpful, prompt, and polite staff and management.

-Excellent salt-water filtered pools (no harsh chemical smell/feeling).

-Spacious villas with balconies, full kitchens, 2 bedrooms and 2 baths plus 2 sofa sleepers.

-Superior location to the beach, Laguna, Newport Beach, TJs, good restaurants, and more.

-Tons of on-site activities and good suggestions for local events and must-sees.

-Great hiking trails within walking distance.

-Make sure you have a meal at the Beachcomber within walking distance, right on the beach.

One week was really not enough time to explore it all.

Room Tip: Not all villas have ocean views, just that nature of the landscape of this area of the coast. Typic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kassey22000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We are happy to be your little piece of magic, Kassey! Thank you for your wonderful TripAdvisor review and we hope you will return to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I spent a couple days at this property and had my son and his family join us for the day. It was a great time and the resort was perfect for us and our 16 month old grandson to experience his first dip in the pool. There is a 'tide pool' swimming pool just deep enough for that first swim.

We were offered an opportunity to return and we will! In spite of the 90 minute sales pitch we'll need to attend, the deal was effectively a pay one night get two free on a summer holiday weekend. You can't beat that at this property. This time the kids will be staying with us.

Room Tip: The rooms all appear to be in great condition. The 3000 building villas have covered parking below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SWTHOMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.4 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,582 reviews
3.2 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,706 reviews
5.2 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
510 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Address: 23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657-2100
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: £200 - £413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Newport Coast Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marriott's Newport Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Newport Coast Villas Hotel Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Hotel
Marriott Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Villas
Marriott Newport Coast Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing