We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel has it all!”
Review of Doryman's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doryman's Inn
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My best friend Kim and I spent tuesday through friday here for our annual birthday trip. I don't know why some people are never satisfied from other reviews. We had room 5 and it has 2 windows overlooking the ocean and pier. The staff bent over backwards if we needed anything like ice. The bed was sooo comfy and sheets were soft as a baby's butt! Great people watching! We slept fine despite life going on outside. Close to everything. I will def be back. I live in yorba linda ca but its nice to spend time at the beach. With houses on oceanfront charging 5 grand a week why not just stay here?

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BELVEDEREGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Marius T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We booked at the Doryman hotel for three nights so we could be in Newport Beach to attend a wedding of a friend and my wife was having the clothes she purchased from Nordstroms to ware to the wedding delivered to the hotel. When the package arrived the front desk clerk refused to accept it even though she knew we were staying at the hotel. So I called the front desk to speak to the manager and the same clerk said i could not do that until Monday. The clerk constantly talked over the top of me while trying to explain the dilema as my wife had nothing to wear to the wedding because of her mistake. This got me no where and after a slight argument she said she didnt care about my problem and was calling the police to remove us from the hotel. That never happened.
Obviously we will never return to this hotel and i'd suggest you dont stay here also.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Montanaaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 3 nights mid May so it was just before school let out and was not too busy. That being said it was not loud outside like some reviews have said. I viewed the pictures on the website and could not really tell if this place was nice with old world charm or just looked dated. I was in awe of how beautiful my room was. The Bellagio room is huge and the bathroom is covered in marble. It is almost as big as the Jr suite we had in Vegas a few nights before. It does not feel like a B&B. It feels like a nice hotel. The only thing that makes it feel like a B&B is the size. With only 11 rooms its like you are the only guest some times. The front desk occasionally does not have anyone at it but a call to the displayed number always got us in touch when needed. The location is prime. You can not get much better than this. Great restaurant downstairs and across street. Be sure to keep the curtain closed while changing, it is only on the second floor so it is easy to view from the street. It got a little warm in the afternoon so the in room air condition was a great feature a lot of places on the beach don't have. One parking space is included across the street so no worries about finding a spot at night when everyone is out. I toured the whole balboa area (Segway nerd tour) and would not stay anywhere else unless it was a house on the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gonzonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My wife and I went here to celebrate our anniversary . The place seemed nice but there are bars that surround the place . We got absolutely no sleep , the noise went on until 3am two nights in a row . If you are going to eat at the restaurant go with the steak , the lobster was horrible and very costly . People not very friendly . Very cheap owner, they do not serve any happy hour ( wine cheese or crackers ) Nothing !
If you are 21 have money and like to party , this maybe a spot for you .

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My husband and I spent a few nights at the beach on the way to another destination. i was definitely in awe. This is a beautiful Inn a stone's throw from the beach. I have a fetish for everything antique (and my husband knows this), so I was in total bliss. The service was great, the breakfast was perfect. The only thing amiss for me was a fluffy bathrobe. I don't usually pack one knowing most hotels will have one for me. This would have been greatly appreciated.

Thank you for the fabulous two days!

Oh, and parking for unloading is right in front of the hotel. They will direct you to a safe parking lot just a block away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect when I stayed here with my wife for an overnight getaway. I grew up in the area and was never even aware it was here! However we were extremely happy with our visit. The room was extremely well decorated, the views were awsome, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom shower (always a biggie with me!) had plenty of pressure and hot water. The manager (?) who checked us in was very friendly and helpful, even showing us some of the other rooms available as each room is individual and decorated with a different motif.

The 'breakfast' was definitly European style (basically toast, bagels and cereal) but it was just fine with us, as it was located in a tastefully decorated breakfast room and balcony overlooking the pier.

The night club across the way did make it noisy, but if you want a room on the boardwalk at a popular beach, you should be willing to take the noise that is sure to go with it. We certainly didn't mind, even enjoyed listening to the crowds, but if that sort of thing bothers you they have rooms on the inside that are larger and more soundproof.

The only downside I can bring up is the price. It seemed a wee high, but you also have to consider the location.

Room Tip: Room 1 has probably the best view in the house as it is right on the corner so has about 6 windows f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterLorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 18 in Newport Beach
602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#9 of 18 in Newport Beach
244 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
514 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fashion Island Hotel
Fashion Island Hotel
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doryman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doryman's Inn

Address: 2102 W Oceanfront, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4327
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newport Beach
Price Range: £146 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doryman's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Doryman's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doryman`s Inn Bed & Breakfast Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Doryman`s Inn Bed And Breakfast Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing