We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doryman's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Doryman's Inn
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

The location, on Newport Beach, is well-positioned right at the pier on the beach. The rooms are charming with a vintage victorian decor (feels a little like a brothel....in a good way). Beds are amazingly comfortable. We spent two nights at the Doryman in room 9 and room 10. The rooms are filled with flowers, beveled mirrors, sunken marble tubs, skylights, fireplaces. Room 9 has a door to the balcony where we enjoyed our coffee and breakfast. It does get loud at night. It's right on the beach and surrounded by bars...it didn't really bother us, but if you are looking for quiet and an early night, you should be prepared with earplugs.

Parking was a bonus.

Below the hotel, is the Ocean 21 Restaurant which is dubbed NB's finest/most romantic. I enjoyed the food and cocktails. Did not enjoy the service...not friendly or interested in making us feel welcomed or comfortable. We dined here twice and came for cocktails another two times....you would think they would have been more attentive. Took 10 minutes to waive over the bartender (with less then 8 people at the bar).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kristin14127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    18
    9
    5
    11
See reviews for
5
56
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, Calif.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

We spent two nights at the Doryman Bed and Breakfast, and I was pleasantly surprised the minute we arrived. The hidden elevator to the second floor is enchanting, and once the elevator door opens, you enter a timeless hotel. Filled with Victorian ambiance, you realize that this is no ordinary hotel. The rooms are exquisite, filled with flowers, beveled mirrors, sunken marble tubs, skylights, fireplaces and most rooms have windows with bay seating that overlooks the amazing ocean! Below the hotel, is the Ocean 21 Restaurant which is also a treasure. I was able to refresh my soul, write, read, take walks along the beach, fall in love all over again, and make incredible memories. We will definitely return to this hidden gem!! Connie Willson

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cupcake007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

Finding the hidden door and elevator that takes you upstairs to the front desk check-in is secretive and alluring. Once upstairs we were greeted by a very pleasant lady that remembered us from our previous visit. Our room wasn't quite ready as we had arrived an hour early so we stashed our bags and trekked off to the nearby market. While in the market we received a phone call letting us know that our room was ready so after we finished our shopping we walked back to the hotel -- actually its a B&B. We got checked in and unpacked; then it was time for us to find lunch. There are a lot of excellent eateries nearby -- Rockin' Baja, the Crab Cooker and more. The boardwalk was a carnival atmosphere and the water was a bit chillier this year than last year but we still had great walks on the beach, quiet morning breakfasts on the roof top courtesy of the Doryman's and a wonderful four day stay that made our birthday celebration a great weekend. The B&B staff was cheerful and extremely helpful. We were left alone to enjoy our time and provided with the extra necessities that one needs when they go swimming -- towels, more towels and the floors cleaned when we came back from the beach!!! Thanks much for the awesome vacation -- we'll see you again soon. I'd tell you which room we were in but its a secret. Stay in any of the rooms and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libmiester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

I just got off the phone with the manager of the inn and restaurant. Doryman's Inn and the restaurant 2100 Oceanfront are owned by same owner. Before my phone call with the manager I would have rated my experience an overall 2, but now after having to resolve a disputed credit card charge I am downgrading it to a 1.
My wife and I just got married at the courthouse in Norwalk, CA in February 2010. We wanted to get away from work and just enjoy a couple of days to ourselves. I wasn't sure where to go, but I wanted to stay in Orange County because we wanted to stay close to home in the San Gabriel Valley and we we wanted to treat some friends to dinner in the OC who helped us with our marriage. I had not booked any hotel yet bc I couldn't really tell whether the hotels were worth the price, so I took a list of 5 hotels along the OC coast and figure I would stop at each one and get a feel for the place before booking the room. The Doryman's was the first stop because it was the closest from Los Angeles. Once we arrived I knew the rates for the hotel was not worth the room quality. And for some reason I had not read all the reviews.
Nonetheless, we took a tour of the available rooms (#1, 8, and Bellagio). My wife did not want to stay at Doryman's at first because the rooms were old and felt like a motel, even though the room sizes were pretty big. The biggest and most attractive room was the Bellagio which was listed at $250. The desk clerk could sense our hesitation so she told us to go downstairs to see the restaurant (2100 Oceanfront). After visiting the classy looking restaurant, my wife decided she could live with staying at the Doryman's if we ate at the restaurant and for the right price.
I told the desk clerk that I was looking for a cheaper rate, but would only want to stay at the Bellagio (I said this because I did not want to insult the place). After some hemming and hawing, she told me she had a package that would give me the Bellagio room for approximately $300, plus a 3 course meal for 2 at the restaurant. I thought this was a good deal since, even though I am paying more than I wanted to for the room, I am now also getting a meal. When I told the clerk that I would be inviting some friends out to dinner and would rather have the meal as a coupon, she agreed to give me a $100 credit for the meal.
For dinner, our bill comes out to about $400 ($100 was a bottle of wine, so $300 in food) and $100 was taken off the bill by the server, and I gave the server a pricey tip of 20%. The next day we check out and the clerk tells me that there was a mistake in the billing and that they had billed my credit card already for $385, and needed my signature to return $110. So, gladly I signed and my bill for the hotel ended up being $275 instead of the $385 that they already charged my credit card.
About a week later I check my credit card statement, and there is an extra $100 charge on my credit card from 2100 Oceanfront the restaurant. I checked my credit card receipts and saw no additional $100 that I signed off on. I called the restaurant and left a message and four days later, 2/22/10, I get a call from the manager of the restaurant and inn. He explained to me that the room was supposed to be billed at $250 and I would receive a $100 voucher for the meal, therefore my total bill should have been $385. However, I explained to him that the reason I even agreed to stay at the hotel was for a package that the clerk sold me on. Otherwise, the price he explained to me is not a package, but just a regularly priced room and meal. There is no deal!
I even tried to give him an opportunity to apologize for billing my credit card without my knowledge, but he just said it was not their mistake. How can it not be their mistake when you billed my credit card after I left and done so without my knowledge?
It wasn't until more haggling that he offered to take off $50 from the charge. I accepted, but knowing that I will be writing a review about this place.
As for my review of the B&B, I think the negative and long posts are accurate. I will add that we were not able to get a good night's sleep because our room was right above a bar/club and all I heard was people yelling at each other all night. The breakfast like it has been previously stated was sparse and came out of a Costco freezer. I don't know why the breakfast is so bad. The restaurant kitchen is right below the breakfast area. They can easily make some delicious breakfast. We were so hungry afterwards that we went to eat a corn dog and tacos at Sharkeez. Another argument for not reducing the rate of the room was because they were supposedly booked up, well I only saw one person stay at the hotel, and I saw noone else at the breakfast.
The restaurant food quality is for the most part excellent. The filet mignon was melt in your mouth butter at med rare and rare. The sea bass excellent with very light sauce. The rib eye was not good. it was tough and seemed to have lots of tendon. I felt like I was eating griz. And this was cooked at med. rare. The service in the restaurant was excellent.
My issue above was in regards to the mistake by the front desk clerk, and the billing of my credit card without telling me. In my conversations with the manager afterwards, I feel that this place is not professionally managed. I intend to write to the owner of both as well.
I would not recommend the Inn to stay for a romantic getaway. However, if you get drunk at Sharkeez and need a place to crash and they only charge $50, then this place is not that bad. If it wasn't for the manager and his treatment of this issue, I would have loved to go back to the restaurant, but alas, because he manages both properties, I will not be going back to either.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank usctravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

We were looking for a romantic spot in Newport Beach so we tried the Dorymans Inn. We booked room # 8 at a price point over $400 a night for our special occasion.

When we arrived, we found no one manning the front desk (that happens a lot here), our room was open, the door ajar, and our luggage inside, the room itself extremely hot and uncomfortably warm with the air conditioning turned off.

We asked the front desk about the heat and we were told to turn the thermostat on if we wanted air conditioning. After a quick search, we found the room's thermostat (which came with very kludgy directions stapled next to it on the wall and a warning not to overset the temp or it would burn up). We had to close all our windows (which was actually a plus, as we faced the pier, parking, and shops which were extremely noisy) and our room slooooowly cooled down at this point. If you don't have “cool” as a final goal this would be considered ok.

The area around the pier is extremely busy and the Dorymans parking is right next to Sharkeez the most popular night spot in Newport. We had someone else parked in our parking space the entire time we were there.

Our room description was advertised with comments like "dine at the private ocean view table" in it's write-up, we found no such table in our room... so I can only assume they mean the common area patio where the very average and quite small breakfast buffet was served. I found nothing special or memorable about this buffet.

Back to our room, we didn't really watch TV as our remote control (a cheap universal remote) just flat out didn't work.

Next, we attempted to enjoy our advertised “marble sunken bathtub.” This was very hard to do as there was no marble sunken bathtub! What they really have is actually a marble tiled shower room with a high entry step which would allow you to fill the shower room with water. Assuming of course you have an hour or so to wait for the room to start filling up with a few inches of water. At this point you have something of bath but it doesn't feel at all clean and there is nothing to lean on or relax in. Simply put NOT a bathtub.

The Dorymans Inn is in a noisy, busy, part of town and the is nothing charming or special about it and the service is quite suspect.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jcurrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

I stayed at the Doryman's Inn for one night on the recommendation of a waitress at the Tommy Bahama's in Newport Beach. (Gorgeous food, friendly staff. Go eat at the Tommy Bahama's.)

It's got great location, right on the Newport Beach peninsula and across from the pier. You couldn't ask for a better place. The hotel also wins for:
* making a last second reservation for me over the phone (9 pm on the night of)
* decent shower, both pressure and space (for an old building, I was surprised)
* comfort and fun stuff in the inn (wish I'd had a chance to stay longer in order to use the furniture; also wish I'd gotten to stay in a larger room)

The hotel fails, however, on:
* food. This is not a bed and breakfast. It's a "bed and maybe a rubbery, store-bought muffin or scone that you fix for yourself". If you want a good breakfast or the company of fellow-travelers (as many who enjoy B&B's do), this breakfast will disappoint.
* service. Want to know where to go? Wondering where to get breakfast? Expect much more than "here's your key, please don't talk because people are already sleeping (9:30pm)"? Well, you won't get it. The staff are friendly enough, but nothing to write home about.

If breakfast were included or I'd gotten to see a larger room, I'd say this was a great B&B. As it was, I'm going to call it overpriced, but nice with great location. Also, the hidden staircase is awesome.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janine_DuCharme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

Newport Beach; Doryman's Inn - Bogus B.& B.
Date; January 11th 2009
Reviewer; Deanna from San Diego, CA.

I love to travel and do so quite regularly. My passion is to explore new "B.& B.'s" all over California. Having heard the Fisherman's lore and history of the Doryman Inn, and already experiencing so many numerous other B.&B.'s, I decided for a visit timed right on my birthday. I checked into a room oceanfront, which I had pre-screened. Nice view, cozy room, however there were a couple minor issues; a non-working phone, and broken lights. The room was poorly lit as a result of the missing fixtures. The phone was a problem as I had to use a land-line that evening for something, and had no access. I had to postpone a B.D. phone visit w/ someone till the following morning, when I was offered the use of another (empty) room's phone! But the WORST of the Inn's offerings is their "breakfast"(?) This was the positively worst and substandard array of 'nothings', I have ever seen at B. & B.s anywhere! To bill themselves as a classical B. & B. is beyond truthfulness - there was a bed but NO decent breakfast to be found..... that is, unless you call "packaged cereals, stone-hard muffins and scones, greasy, pre-packaged mini-quiches the size of paper-clips and cold boiled eggs, traditional B.& B. fare" ..........I have known and experienced better at several authentic, B. & B.'s. all over the state!! Baked goods are freshly done generally, right ON the premises. Juices and teas are usually presented and the eggs are cooked - not boiled!! The Inn's managment here no doubt is trying to cut corners on their brkfst. costs - and it shows!! Their 'assembly line' presentation is inferior and I wouldn't even donate such food to the local Mission! The 'down and out' would think twice before eating this garbage. It was bad. And for 175.00 a night, definitely not worth the wasted $$$. The room styles can be down-graded or up-graded in price and ammenities, but remember: you may be getting a bed, but you will NOT be getting a breakfast!! (Anything worth eating anyways) In the true spirit of a "traditional" Bed and Breakfast" this place misses the mark and is over-stating themselves on their brochures and other media. I have literally experienced far more filling and generous complimentary breakfasts, at a "Days Inn" motel!! I have since heard "on the grapevine" that a former disgruntled guest, had reported an incident to the local Better Business Bureau for resolution. For those who would like a referral to some very lovely, traditional B.& B.'s up the CA. coast, please feel free to write and inquire! End result: Birthday bummer!!

  • Liked — The Ocean-front proximity and beautiful sunsets......
  • Disliked — The broken in-room appliances, and HORRIBLE breakfast quality
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank NewportBeachWords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.2 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#12 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Little inn By The Bay
Little inn By The Bay
#16 of 17 in Newport Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doryman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doryman's Inn

Property: Doryman's Inn
Address: 2102 W Oceanfront, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4327
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doryman's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Doryman's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doryman`s Inn Bed & Breakfast Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Doryman`s Inn Bed And Breakfast Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing