We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excited for kids for complimentary Saturday workshop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ExplorOcean

ExplorOcean
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: ExplorOcean is proud to introduce the nation’s premiere ocean literacy center. Our Center has been designed to educate our visitors to the essential principles of ocean literacy through exciting hands-on activities. From mapping the ocean floor to manning an ROV, in the Ocean Literacy Center no one keeps their hands to themselves! So roll up your sleeves and dive in- an ocean of wonders awaits!
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excited for kids for complimentary Saturday workshop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We didn't visit the center (there's a fee) but went to the free Saturday workshop. I took my daughters (8, 10 yo) and friends ( 11, 8, & 7 yo) and they had a blast learn STEM. The projects were awesome and the kids thoroughly enjoyed their couple of hours doing different stations. They wanted to stay longer but sadly had to leave.
They loved making a fish; then use it to race with your friends, they made a card with battery operated blinking lights, worked with laser are a few things they really enjoyed.

Can't wait to go back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bamboo222SanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    4
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid. Not worth the trip.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Extremely disappointed in how they handled a class that my kids attended. Staff was rude and extremely unhelpful. Follow up email from the staff was disappointing as well. Parents avoid.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Smh”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I highly doubt this is the "nation’s premiere ocean literacy center" as indicated in their description. The place is kind of small and dirty. The touch tank was cool and the staff were nice and friendly. Bathrooms were gross, hold it if you can. I suppose its a great place to go if your trying to kill time (but why come here when there's a million better things nearby..).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank elizabethe66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, Guest Services Assistant at ExplorOcean, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We thrive on educating children the 7 ocean literacy principles through hands-on activities. Children of all ages enjoy our field trips, events, and summer camps. The exciting new attractions and some of the old rides, like the Ferris Wheel, put the "fun" back in the Fun Zone. The new plans combined with our passion will revitalize a much-loved area of Balboa Village, increase awareness of Newport's nautical history, and provide fun-filled memories for generations to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
480 reviews
189 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Certainly no Fun Zone”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I guess I remember all the fun I had back in the "Old days" when this place was the Fun Zone. Yes, the people working in ExplorOcean were very nice and welcoming. Maybe that was because in the half hour I was there no one else came in and they were bored to death. It looks like they are going to throw millions of dollars at this attraction. Hope it works!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodness4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, Guest Services Assistant at ExplorOcean, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
ExplorOcean's new plans provide more space to share historical collections in an interactive fashion and an improved venue for educational programs. The exciting new attractions and some of the old rides, like the Ferris Wheel, put the "fun" back in the Fun Zone. The plans will revitalize a much-loved area of Balboa Village, increase awareness of Newport's nautical history, and provide fun-filled memories for generations to come. Thank you for visiting and your thoughts. We hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small, pit stop.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Really kind of dirty and very small. It is a nice break when you are walking around with the kids but not worth a special trip. Liked the touch tank. Don't use the bathroom.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, Guest Services Assistant at ExplorOcean, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Steve, thank you for visiting us. We are glad you enjoyed the touch tank. ExplorOcean's exciting new attractions and some of the old rides, like the Ferris Wheel, put the "fun" back in the Fun Zone. Our new plans will revitalize a much-loved area of Balboa Village, increase awareness of Newport's nautical history, and provide fun-filled memories for generations to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ExplorOcean also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to ExplorOcean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing