We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem but pricey”
Review of Eat Chow

Eat Chow
Ranked #23 of 508 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
California, USA
Level 6 Contributor
1,194 reviews
574 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
“Hidden gem but pricey”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

1st you are in Newport Beach so food is pricey. great hidden place behind spaghetti bender. very, very, very limited parking. reservations recommended. great menu with a great fresh variety for any taste. cool hip atmosphere. Beach across PCH. (p.s. I don't know how they got the location approved with "no parking?" recommended MeuterMedia

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeuterMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    51
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely LOVE this place.”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I wished we lived closer so we could eat here all the time.
During a visit to Newport Beach, the hotel we were staying at recommended this place; so glad they did. This is a Foodie’s paradise. We had dinner Saturday night and shared an entree so we could also enjoy an app and dessert (berry and brie salad, hangar steak and banana choco chip bread pudding) and enjoyed it so thoroughly we had to stop again before we left town. This time, though all the breakfast dishes looked delish, we opted to split the lemon mascarpone french toast (amazing!) and mimosa “flight” (fun and clever).
There are fairly standard menu items to please the less adventurous, Eat Chow’s specials or even their twist on otherwise traditional meals is brilliant. Just reading the menu made my mouth water.
The place is surprising unpretentious and the staff is fabulous. Professional but casual enough to chat with at the same time. Also very efficient, a major plus. The location is a just bit off the main highway but most people coming here would be coming intentionally, not driving by. The place is clean, bright and light but cozy.
If you enjoy food with flavor and a bit of flair, I think you would be remiss not to stop here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djtropicaldreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington beach
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little local eatery with top notch food service and value”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Eat chow is one of those places that is hard to pin down. I would describe it as diner meets classic continental, meets wild man in the kitchen. Now i must admit that may not be very helpful. Nor is the places humble exterior behind a classic restaurant called the Spaghetti Bender with a very non descript exterior. In fact it looks like the outside of a factory. But do not let that get in you way of trying the place. The food is very good.

Eat Chow has a varied menu with twists on the classics...for instance they serve a burger....but made from hand ground chuck, with carmelaized onions and house made pickles...on brioche..it is good , and thier home made chipotle ketchup is very good.

Againthey serve a classic belgian dish in season of mussles in buree blanc on shoestring fries best paired with a fantastic belgian white Einstock from Iceland!

They also serve a French Dip made from PRIME ribeye.

Now you may think the prices being on pacific coat highway in Newport with items like this may be on the silly side....they are...silly as in how can they do his at such reasonable rates?
The musles are 11 dollars the Burger 10 the turkey burger which is moist tasty and slapped with avacado and mre is 10 bucks.

A fantastic steak is under 20.

They have well thouht out beer and wine list.

So basically they cost about 2 dolars more the dennys..with far betteer food. Not a lot of ambiance,,,good service and nice people working there.

I have been here a few dozen times and only found one item i did not care for and that was the sloppy joe. I think i was stuck in my boyhood and did not apreciate good meat being made into a school cafeterial special. More my expectation level there thiers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachMike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great variety and cool atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We very much enjoyed our meal here. Very fresh tasting food and great service and atmosphere. We hope to return next time we are in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MS32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Glad I returned because my first experience wasn't the best”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

First time I went was terrible but my return visit was great. The first time I was here I ordered the Ahi Tuna Burger which was so bad. The fish was not cleaned properly, the blood line was never removed. In my first bite it was the most fishy taste I had ever had in my life. Since I have returned I have enjoyed everything. The Thai Beef Salad is something I have craved every day since I have had it. It has tons of beef and is a really good size salad for only $14. The garlic ginger dressing was so good. I will return and probably just avoid the fish.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eat Chow also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Eat Chow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing