We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just like the pictures”
other traveller has booked this property
the 'Sandcastle', Impeccably Maintained, Owner Managed, Steps to Sand
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the 'Sandcastle', Impeccably Maintained, Owner Managed, Steps to Sand
Enjoy our Comfortable Living Room w/Leather Sofas, Flat Screen TV Cook in our recently remodeled Kitchen, w/Corian Countertops. And pots and pans and dishes galore!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
the 'Sandcastle', Impeccably Maintained, Owner Managed, Steps to Sand
Enjoy our Comfortable Living Room w/Leather Sofas, Flat Screen TV
Cook in our recently remodeled Kitchen, w/Corian Countertops. And pots and pans and dishes galore!
The Dining Area - part of the main room. Seats 6-8
How close are we to the beach? ONE HOUSE AWAY!  A view from our Deck (upstairs) of 35th Street Beach
Master Bedroom w/new Cal King bed, Armoire w/flat screen TV and unique artwork
Master Bedroom, looking towards ensuite bathroom
New Tile and Marble Shower in Master Bathroom. So nice!
Master Bath Shower Shampoo Cubby
Master Bathroom Vanity wCaesarstone countertop
Hall Bathroom w/Tub/Shower combo, Caesarstone countertop
The 2nd bedroom has a Queen bed.
The 3rd bedroom has both a Double (Full) and Twin bed
Laundry Room w/brand new Front Load Washer Dryer
Shower off the sand in our new Laundry Room Tile Shower, under a nice hot shower
Love the rock floor of the new Laundry Room Shower!
Or for a quick rinse after the beach, enjoy the Outdoor Tile Shower!
We have a great beach at 35th Street, w/fine white sand, some waves, and a  easy walk into the surf!
Your Front Patio, right outside your Living Room sliding door + your gas BBQ + patio set
Here's a view of House from Left Side of House (we live in the upstairs)
There's unique upscale Art throughout the House
Welcome to...the 'Sandcastle' sign, outside your front door
Catch a Beautiful Sunset here at the 35th Street Beach
Another Beautiful Sunset, 35th Street Beach.
check out our Big Book of Things To Do, Restaurants in the Area, etc
Your Front Door entrance, ready for you to come on in and start your vacation!
Another gorgeous sunset. We have many:-)
The Surf sometimes is THIS GOOD right at 35th Street!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Newport Beach, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brad C
1 review
“Just like the pictures”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This property is well maintained, clean, wonderfully located, with a view that is tough to beat.
The property owners were very nice and helpful with any questions we had. Overall it was
the nicest home we have ever rented for a vacation. You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2016
Thank you for the kind words, Brad. We try hard to have the "Sandcastle" be really comfortable, and filled with everything you need for a great vacation. And of course, we love the location too! We hope yo'll be back for a future stay! Best, Janice & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie A
1 review
“Perfect, absolutely perfect!!!”
Reviewed 12 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The Sandcastle is perfect in every way. First off, Bill and Janice made everything easy from start to finish. (We were a group of 5 women on a girls trip.) Bill and Janice were helpful with any questions we had (which were not many because they provide excellent details and written instructions about the accommodations as well as a wonderful, large book with local information about sight-seeing, dining, shopping and anything you could ever want to do).

The Sandcastle itself does not lack for anything! The kitchen is fully stocked, the flat screen TV has every station imaginable (plus DVD's, board games, stereo), the beds were more comfortable than my own bed, and best of all was the keyless entry/exit. The combination lock door made it so easy to go to the beach and not to have to worry about carrying/loosing a key! I also liked that there is a door that separates the bedrooms from the kitchen/den area so the "early birds" and "night owls" could enjoy the den and TV without waking the others:)

The location is perfect, 30 feet from the beach, and we hardly used our car at all, as there are so many good restaurants and shops along the boardwalk. We walked to the local grocery store and grilled out our first night on the lovely front patio and watched the sunset on the beach (from the patio!). Every morning, we walked down the oceanfront/boardwalk to Seaside Bakery for coffee and warm ham and cheese croissants (a must) and sat and watched the surfers catch their waves. Some of the other restaurants we enjoyed were Dory Deli (close to Seaside Bakery) and Gina's Pizza (they deliver too).

Per Janice and Bill's suggestion (one of many that we took advantage of), we rented a Duffy electric boat on the Balboa peninsula and enjoyed being on the water looking at the beautiful houses (while enjoying our spread of food and wine!!). Yes, you can bring food on the boat:) The Sandcastle is also not far from Disneyland and other fun attractions. We enjoyed a UCLA/USC basketball game and ate at the Perch, a rooftop restaurant/bar in downtown Los Angeles, which I would highly recommend (more for adults).

Bill and Janice provide great beach chairs, towels, umbrella, and food "mat" that we used daily at the beach. The beach is meticulously clean with soft sand (beautiful seashells to collect too). It was so nice to be able to walk back to the Sandcastle off and on during the day for food, restroom, to watch the sun rise and sunset, etc.. It is a perfect vacation home, spotless and comfortable, with every amenity imaginable, and you will not need to worry about a thing! We will definitely be back!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean, spacious house right off of the beach
Liked least: that we eventually had to leave:(
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2016
Sorry to be late in responding to your fabulous review of the "Sandcastle"! We so appreciate all the nice things you said about the house, the area, the local restaurants and things to do - and us! We love it here too - for so many of the reasons you pointed out! And thank you really, for taking the time to write such a thorough and thoughtful review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests - and we hope to see you again before too long! All the best, Janice & Bill @ the "Sandcastle"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather P
Wisconsin
1 review
“Amazing beach rental - best family vacation EVER!”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

When planning our January 2016 family vacation to Newport Beach, I was looking for a nice place on the Peninsula that would accommodate my group (husband, 2 and 4 year olds, and nanny). We lived in the area prior to relocating to Wisconsin 2 years ago, and this was our first trip back to Newport with the kids. Being familiar with the area, I knew the location was great, and the house seemed to fit the bill, so we booked.

The Sandcastle exceeded our expectations on ALL levels! The location was perfection - basically on the beach (one house away from the sand), and a very short walk to great restaurants, shops, grocery store and parks (for the kiddos). The house itself is awesome - perfect space for our family, incredibly clean, decorated so nicely, comfortable beds, and access to anything you could possibly need or want. I love to cook, and I had everything I needed in the kitchen - pots, pans, utensils, blender - and everything was SO nice! The attention to detail was amazing - there were games, movies, books - we truly felt at home during our stay.

I enjoyed many morning runs down to the pier, and our evening routine included playing on the beach and enjoying some gorgeous sunsets (see attached pictures!). There was no doubt the kids' favorite part of the trip was playing on the beach each day...so we couldn't have had a better location.

Janice and Bill were phenomenal hosts. In addition to the "things to do" book - which is so impressive - Janice helped me look into deals for renting a Duffy boat, provided ideas for fun places to visit with the kids, and gave me info on Newport Beach Restaurant Week, which was taking place during our visit. They truly went above and beyond, and genuinely cared about making it a great week for our family.

I lived in Orange County for 13 years before relocating, and I have to say I experienced Newport Beach in a way I never did while living there. It was so fun "living at the beach" for a week, and I look forward to many future visits with the family. I would highly recommend the Sandcastle to anyone from out of town, or even folks local to Southern CA looking to live at the beach for a week or two. Thank you, Janice and Bill, for an unforgettable week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2016
We are so happy that you found us - given your knowledge of the area, and the many vacation homes from which you could have chosen! We are thrilled that you loved the house (and location:-), and that we exceeded your expectations! Thank you so much for sharing about your stay. You and your family were a pleasure to work with, and we hope to see you again! All the best, Janice & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Little Beach House”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

My husband and I loved the time at the Sandcastle. From the patio look right out on the ocean. It's VERY well maintained and the owners were very willing to accommodate reasonable requests such as some different pans so I could bake. The house is in great condition. A little tricky parking spot but if you've spent any time around Newport Beach that's expected. Janice was very friendly when we arrived and we were greeted with some Holiday decorations to help us celebrate!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being there. Was fantastic.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2016
Sue, so glad you Bob enjoyed Christmas here in Newport Beach, and that you could visit with your family here. We hope you'll be back for another stay when you visit the area again. Winter is nice, but spring, summer and fall are even nicer:-) Best, Janice & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRyan520
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Location & Comfort are Sublime! We will have Memories that will last a lifetime.”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My sisters and I were fortunate to enjoy the last warm breaths of summer in your beautiful home this week. Having been raised in Costa Mesa, Newport Beach was our playground. Fond memories of family beach camping were revived by the sweet salty air. As kids, we would spend a week on the beach every summer, sleeping in a tent trailer with the pounding of the waves lulling us to sleep. My, how we have evolved!

Your home is so welcoming and clean. What a pleasure to come and go from the beach and yet still be right on the beach! This is weather I could never have experienced back home in Manchester, England. The timing of this vacation and warm weather could not have been more perfect, as my sisters and I were able to reconnect not only with our roots, but with old friends from EHS. God willing we will be back again to enjoy your hospitality. Thank you for your thoughtful notes full of useful tips and relevant information you provided to us during our stay. It was very much appreciated. I would highly recommend your home to all my friends and family. We loved our 5 day break away, despite a few annoying bees. LOL. Thank you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location and Facilities were Top Notch
Liked least: The Bees
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
We so enjoyed meeting you and we are so glad to know you all enjoyed yourselves so much. So happy you were able to have such warm weather this time of year, and we're able to really enjoy our terrific beach! (Yes, we love that it's just steps away from the house too!) You treated our vacation home lovingly and we appreciate that so much. We hope you'll return for a future visit to Newport Beach. Sincerely, Janice @ Bill @ the "Sandcastle"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Lovely house with everything you need and perfectly positioned. A few seconds to the beach and more private than being right on it. Janice's communication and assistance was first class - there's almost too much information !!
Lots of very good restaurants within walking distance and again Janice will point you in the right direction.
Also has the benefit of having a parking space (really important there) and we just about got our Dodge Grand Caravan in it.
Great house, lovely people, definitely recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2015
Steve, we thank you for choosing our vacation home, the "Sandcastle" for your California visit - all the way from the UK. Providing a "home away from home" is just what we try to do! We so enjoyed meeting you, and hearing about your travels (and getting your advice - for our upcoming trip abroad)! Such a nice family...We hope to see you again! All the best, Janice & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suga328
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OUR BEST VACATION EXPERIENCE/RENTAL - in Newport Beach!”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family so enjoyed our vacation this past week at this wonderful, well equipped, very clean vacation home on the Newport Beach Peninsula. We have stayed in several different areas in Southern California over the years, but this was clearly our favorite house - and beach. The home itself was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The beds, bedding and towels were first rate, the kitchen had everything we wanted, and more!

Janice and Bill were a pleasure to deal with, they answered all our questions. They provide a nice book with suggestions of things to do in the area, and they recommended some great restaurants nearby. Parking is very limited in this area, but we had a car that fit perfectly in their parking spot, which made it easy for us to zip in and out to dinner and go shopping at Balboa Island and Fashion Island.

The beach was a nice white sand beach, no rocks or shells, and it really is just steps from the house. Our little ones were able to play in the shallow surf, and we were able to get out further into the waves and do some great body surfing and bogey boarding. All in all, it was a wonderful vacation, and we intend to stay again in the future! We definitively recommend it for families or a girls getaway. It's perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House cleanliness and comfort, steps from the beach, master bathroom shower!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2015
Thank you for the lovely review and kind words. We are ecstatic to know that of all the rentals you have stayed in, in our area, that ours is your NEW FAVORITE! We are continually updating/upgrading things throughout the house, the bedding, the furniture, the art, the kitchen supplies... We enjoyed meeting you, and we are so glad that you enjoyed the house and the beach so much. We would look forward to having you visit again in the future! With warm regards, Janice & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing