We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure -- great food and service”
Review of Pescadou Bistro

Pescadou Bistro
Ranked #74 of 503 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Price range: US$21 - US$51
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located on a non assuming strip mall on Newport Blvd at the beginning of the Newport/Balboa peninsula near Lido, this is a cozy French restaurant family owned and operated since 1998. The sitting is casual yet elegant with tablecloth on the table. Authentic French menu a la carte and prix fixe menu as well. Nice wine list of mostly French wines.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure -- great food and service”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This was our third visit in several years. My husband ordered a green salad and then the rabbit moutard, which was very well-prepared. It was brought to the table in a heavy lidded pot and served onto the plate. I received a half-order cassoulet, also served in its own baking dish and covered with crumbs. Inside were a few slices of flavorful sausage, and some shredded duck leg. It was a perfect size and not overwhelming. We had great aperitifs: a "parfait amour" which I have never seen on a menu, not even in France. It was champagne with violet liqueur, divine! And my husband had a kir. Dessert was a heavenly, fluffy ile flottante (floating island made of merinque and almonds and cream). Our server was Parisian, very helpful, friendly, prompt and knowledgeable about wines. I wish this little bisto were in our neighborhood. We need such a place badly!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieJ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    25
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southern Califonia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Supreme food and ambiance”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Went with friends to this wonderfully authentic bistro and had a terrfic meal that was reminiscent of Paris. The mussels melt in your mouth!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
177 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

Food is authentic and quite good. Wine list offers very good wines at fair prices. Service is slow unless you are a local... Not sure I would go back.

Helpful?
Thank jmik66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Like eatting at your French aunt's house”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Have been there lots of times and love it. Really comfortable and good food. Plus I was told that the health dept says that the kitchen is really clean. What more can you ask?

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good and Not So Good”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

During our most recent visit for dinner the restaurant was very busy and appeared understaffed. Because the establishment is small, and was filled with patrons, it was also quite noisy. I ordered the Bistro Steak rare/medium rare and my wife ordered the chicken breast entree. The wait staff appeared to be overwhelmed by the amount of business. And, apparently the kitchen staff was also as it took over an hour to receive our food. My Bistro Steak was properly cooked and quite tasty...although chewy. My wife's chicken breast was over cooked and difficult to chew. We ordered a California red wine and it was not good. We were disappointed with the overall experience and, that is unfortunate, as the restaurant can be good and has good atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NBDKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pescadou Bistro also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Pescadou Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing