We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't walk, RUN to this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pescadou Bistro

Pescadou Bistro
Ranked #67 of 505 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$51
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located on a non assuming strip mall on Newport Blvd at the beginning of the Newport/Balboa peninsula near Lido, this is a cozy French restaurant family owned and operated since 1998. The sitting is casual yet elegant with tablecloth on the table. Authentic French menu a la carte and prix fixe menu as well. Nice wine list of mostly French wines.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't walk, RUN to this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Not our first time here BUT first time I've been moved enough to give an opinion. THIS IS THE BEST MEAL MY FAMILY HAS EVER EATEN IN THE UNITED STATES. honest. Returned to the restaurant twice during our visit to SoCal. If food is more important than ambience, go. go now. go with friends. go with family. go by yourself. JUST GO! There is nothing on this menu that we wouldn't/ couldn't eat. The owner knows his stuff and is generally available onsite. Does it have the world's most complete menu? No. Does it have an incredible wine list? If by incredible you mean 20 bound pages, no. What it does offer is stunningly prepared French bistro fare and enough wine choices to bring a smile to any oenophile . Price? modestly expensive. We spent $200 tax, title and tip for a family of 5. Wine, dessert and appetizer. Downsides? Ambience would not be this restaurant's forte.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pescadou B, Owner at Pescadou Bistro, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you Dan for your very nice review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your dinner with us and coming back during your stay in OC.
We are looking forward to serving you again.
J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    25
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely French bistro in unlikely location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I come here about once a year when visiting family. I have never been disappointed. The meals range from "good" to "awesome." On our latest visited we had the prix fixe and everyone in the party was delighted with their meal. Others have complained about slow service--we did not experience this, but the pace was that which you might experience in a restaurant in France, where they give you time to digest and appreciate one course before bringing another.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pescadou B, Owner at Pescadou Bistro, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you very much for your very nice review. We are looking forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Wonderful experience - we booked a table but got delayed in LA traffic - not a bother to Pescadou - they accommodated all our eccentric tastes and the food and service was exceptional

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorenthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pescadou B, Owner at Pescadou Bistro, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you very much for your very nice review. We are looking forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't miss this gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Beautiful, but comfortable, restaurant with traditional French fare prepared with love. Owners, Jacques and Olga, consistently create delicious food, reasonably priced, and beautifully executed. They also have reasonable corkage fees plus a decent wine list - also reasonably priced. New "no corkage" policy on Wednesdays which is a nice treat for those who prefer to bring their own wines. The soups are always delicious and their nightly Blackboard Specials are really good deals. The special fish is always outstanding and last night's Halibut over Fingerling Potatoes was delicious. My husband enjoyed the Mussels and Frites (always a favorite with choice of broth - last night's pick was the saffron broth). The Blueberry Tart and Coffee was the perfect ending to another fabulous meal at Pescadou!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pescadou B, Owner at Pescadou Bistro, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Erin,
thank you so much for your nice review, it was really nice seeing you.
Thank you for your continuous patronage.
We are looking forward to serving you again soon.
Sheers!
Jacques and Olga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
229 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“definitely excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Went back here to the old reliable French restaurant and Jacques did not disappoint. The menu had a great selection of various dishes that we all wanted to try out. Starting with escargot and merguez then followed with lamb chops, trout amandine and beef bourguignon, Rounding it out with their fabulous desserts. Food was just like in France. Service was also attentive, from the water to the wine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank betamax12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pescadou B, Owner at Pescadou Bistro, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you so much for your very nice review of Pescadou Bistro and thank you for your patronage.
We are looking forward to serving you again soon.
A bientot,
Jacques and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pescadou Bistro also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Pescadou Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing