We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newport Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The smaller rooms represents a good bargain given the location, steps from the beach and the accessibility to bar and restaurant. This is one of those places where you can forget your car for a week and just enjoy the area, visiting the pier, the marina, balboa island on your feet or with the bike.

Hotel staff very helpful, accommodating and discreet.

Recommended get away to relax and enjoy this beach community.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank the_cina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
There are newer reviews for Newport Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

Had a 3 day stay at the Newport Beach hotel in June. I wanted to like the Neport Beach hotel but I'm not sure if my objections were more about Newport Beach itself. The hotel does a very good job on pulling off the Beach House vibe, with appointments, fabrics and feel of the property. The nautical theme comes in handy within the room as at least for the standard version because it's about the same size as a cruise ship cabin. It's a tight fit and a bit problematic but overall the beach vibe thing works. We had some issues on cold water only from the sink, TINY bathroom and very very thin walls ... You're gonna hear everything from your neighbors. There's a great restaurant/bar next door Fly N Fish and it had great food, drinks and service. Service at the hotel was generally good and staff were genuinely helpful if not always that knowledgeable.

The room quibbles weren't end of the world stuff and my main reason for less stars in the review is that Newport Beach seems to wish it was Laguna Beach and it might one day be but it isn't there yet. The Ralph Lauren beach thing is more exception and the fringe beach town vibe is way more prevalent. The hotel I would sort of reccomend but Newport Beach, unfortunately I wouldn't.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tommyboy-YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Never even knew this hotel existed! What a great find! Came here during Memorial Day weekend so the area was extremely busy...thank goodness for secure hotel parking! The room was very clean and cozy. The hotel staff Hannah and her sister very hospitable. Walking distance to all the restaurants and beach. would love to come stay again during the off season!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank yyuryyub2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My sister and I stay here at least twice a year and have been coming here for several years. This Hotel is like home away from home. Great breakfast, nice glass of wine in the afternoon, take bikes out for a ride or chairs to just sit on the beach and read a book. The rooms are very inviting, clean and plenty of room for the two of us.We spend the extra $$ to park in the safely gated parking lot. The staff is always available and go out of their way to make sure we have what we need. There are great restaurants, shops and several bars. WE LOVE THIS HOTEL. We'll be back in October and can't wait.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank moe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My (almost) wife and I stayed here two years ago and have recently looked into staying he again. We had a room at the back of the hotel and loved it. We have stayed at a number of five star hotels and while this is not a five star hotel it is truly a wonderful place. The first thing we noticed was how clean our room was. It smelled amazing when we walked into the room. We truly appreciated this about the hotel. It is right on the beach and I remember tracking in sand, which is impossible not to do. The next day after going out for breakfast the sand was gone and the room was spotless. It is little things like this that we appreciate. Our room was great size with a hot tub and the colors and sky lights made for a great relaxing California beach room we would expect. We loved our stay here.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael_Erika_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Great service, beautiful rooms, roomy bathtubs for two, coffee all day, bikes, beach gear, surf spot right in front.
What more could you ask for?
There are even some great dive bars nearby!!
Eat at the new Fly n Fish, or have a beer at Mutt Lynch's.
This hotel is within walking distance of everything.
We love it and have stayed there 5 times in the last two years.
You can't go wrong.

Room Tip: We think all of the rooms are nice. The Mariner's are smaller but beautiful and perfect for a w...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JWF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We have been staying here for several years, since it was the original Portofino Hotel. We've reviewed this hotel before, but as time passes, little things go up and down in consistency. They don't inform you ahead of time of construction, and when you are caught by surprise they make no concessions in the name of acknowledging loyal customers. The parking lot is nicely protected, but it's nerve wrackingly tight if you have a nice car. Nice touches like in room snack offerings come and go. This time they weren't there.

All in all though, you can't beat sitting in front of the window reading a book and enjoying the breeze. The front 2 rooms are really the only ones worth getting, but in the morning all the wannabe corporate execs congregate outside your door in the common area to be seen moving and shaking the business world. It can be noisy. They could do the same thing in their rooms, but I guess that's not cool enough.

Room Tip: Get front rooms 101, or 102. ASK FOR A discounted rate when you make the reservations. Sometimes you...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dangerdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 18 in Newport Beach
588 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,627 reviews
3.2 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel

Address: 2306 W Oceanfront, Newport Beach, CA 92663-3405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Price Range: £162 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As 'Newport's Closest Hotel to the Beach,' the Newport Beach Hotel is located in the heart of one of California's most popular beach settings. The hotel is ideal for guests who enjoy being surrounded by youthful energy including an eclectic beach scene as well as an exciting nightlife. Just steps from the sand, the updated hotel features coastal-inspired decor and each guestroom offers a king or queen bed, flat panel television and many feature a jetted spa tub and fireplace. Opt for the Oceanview Guestroom and enjoy panoramic views of the active Newport Beach and ocean beyond.As part of the Chic Hotel Collection, the Newport Beach Hotel offers a complimentary Continental breakfast, use of the hotel's bicycles and beach toys, complimentary wireless Internet access and a lobby bar where beer and wine may be purchased. Secured onsite parking is available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing