We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stop on our honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newport Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing stop on our honeymoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We actually stayed here in August 2012 but it won't let me go that far back - been meaning to write a review ever since!

We had two nights here during out honeymoon and it truly fabulous!!

The staff were so friendly, supplied us with bikes, games and towels for the beach free of charge!

The room was clean, quiet and over all great and the location well this is to die for - right on the beach!

Newport Beach is a beautiful place to stay and I can't recommend this hotel enough, hope to return one day!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    47
    30
    9
    13
See reviews for
46
109
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here in Mar / 14. We arrived way before check-in and was given an upgraded room without asking by the wonderful hotel manager.While it did not have an ocean view, it was not needed as there is a beautiful sitting area on the upper front floor, which we used each morning and evening. The room was clean, spacious and quiet.The continental breakfast was perfect, All the staff were super friendly.
The hotel is situated in the heart of Newport, so you you want to experience some awesome beach life, then this the the place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Well, as many of you know from previous reviews, I am a big fan of Hermosa Beach and go quite often. This year my kids and I decided to change it up and head to Newport Beach for spring break. I had come across a small, elegant, boutique hotel called The Newport Beach Hotel. It was a bit like stumbling across a secret garden. Nestled in an otherwies over populated tourist pier is one of the most precious hotels in California. The staff is like that friendly neighbor you love seeing when you were a kid. They are kind, accomodating and always seeking to make your stay enjoyable. The rooms are warm, tasteful and beautifully decorated and are incredibly quiet considering the size of the hotel. There is something for everyone from newlyweds, who we met on our first night, to families like ourselves. All in all, I give this hotel a huge congratulations on making a trip away from home all the adventure of vacation without losing any of the comforts of a loving home. My only regret is that the secret will be out!

Room Tip: If you have kids ask for one of the two back rooms with the pull out trundles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank letitia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I met my daughter in Southern California so we could spend a few days together before she had to return to graduate school. Because we were on a budget, we picked hotels based on cost, and we had stayed at a Laguna beach hotel the night before for the same price that was disappointing. We expected the same out of this hotel, but we were tickled that wasn't the case. The location was fantastic, the rooms and lobby darling, the staff unbelievably accommodating, and the extras surprising. We took the free bikes to Balboa island on a magical day, rode the free boogie boards in the icy surf, lounged on the free towels, a and felt pampered all day. Great place!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeattleDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night. We were visiting Newport to see the Boat Light Parade. We loved this little place! We splurged for an ocean front room and it was well worth it. the view is amazing. You can sit in the jet tub and watch the sunset. Doesn't get much better than this. Room was very clean, I loved that it was hardwood floors, so much for sanitary than carpet in hotel rooms. The location is nice because you can walk to the pier and there are lots of shops, restaurants, etc within walking distance. We borrowed the beach cruisers (free, included with you room) and rode along the boardwalk. Such a nice added bonus. The Seafood restaurant located right below the hotel is excellent! We can't wait to go back. After staying at the Marriott Newport Coast Villas, we decided we would much rather stay here at the Newport Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and it was wonderful. We didn't want to leave. We stayed in the ocean front suite and what a view! The room is quaint and very nicely decorated with hardwood floors and a fantastic king bed. The pictures on their website are very accurate.The open air windows allow you to hear the ocean waves at night. The entire staff was very nice, especially the housekeeper. The only down side to this hotel is the bar located next to it, actually below it. (I am not referring to Mutt Lynch's on the corner. That place is always a party!) This bar looks like a quiet little place to have a nice glass of wine some good food but later into the evening the patrons get a little loud and when you have the windows open in the room to listen to the surf those leaving the bar take that all away. The music from the bar can be loud at times but for the most part tolerable. All in all it was a great 4 nights. (Pricey at over $300 per night but we got a fantastic off-season online deal that lowered the cost.) We would definitely return to this hotel again, we just wouldn't stay in the room over the bar.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the suite over the bar. Choose the other one to the left as you go up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

When we stepped into our room following a long east to west coast flight and road trip - our reaction was "Wow!" The cool pacific breeze from our large window refreshed us immediately. Although the beach was steps away, we had a front row seat to the most gorgeous sunset ever from the comfy wicker chairs placed by the window.

A unique feature was the luxurious raised tub, strategically placed for privacy but with a glass wall allowing us to relax in the whirlpool while still feeling a part of the beach scene outside. We woke every morning to local surfers enjoying the waves at daybreak near the pier. Our room was clean and spacious, the staff attentive and friendly, the location an easy walk to shopping and restaurants. We loved the Fly n' Fish Oyster Bar located right next door. We also particularly enjoyed bicycling around the beach area and Balboa Island. The hotel is also a short distance from the boardwalk spanning the Newport and Balboa piers..great for walking and rollerblading!

Newport Beach hotel is a great antidote to the glass and concrete crackerbox hotels. A small hotel with a "beachy" vintage feel.
We enjoyed the hotel so much that we added on an extra day to our stay. Next year we plan a family gathering there as we feel that the Newport Beach Hotel is a great central location for us all, with much to offer all ages and interests.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobi5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.3 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
1.5 mi away
Newport Channel Inn
Newport Channel Inn
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel

Property: Newport Beach Hotel
Address: 2306 W Oceanfront, Newport Beach, CA 92663-3405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As 'Newport's Closest Hotel to the Beach,' the Newport Beach Hotel is located in the heart of one of California's most popular beach settings. The hotel is ideal for guests who enjoy being surrounded by youthful energy including an eclectic beach scene as well as an exciting nightlife. Just steps from the sand, the updated hotel features coastal-inspired decor and each guestroom offers a king or queen bed, flat panel television and many feature a jetted spa tub and fireplace. Opt for the Oceanview Guestroom and enjoy panoramic views of the active Newport Beach and ocean beyond.As part of the Chic Hotel Collection, the Newport Beach Hotel offers a complimentary Continental breakfast, use of the hotel's bicycles and beach toys, complimentary wireless Internet access and a lobby bar where beer and wine may be purchased. Secured onsite parking is available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing