We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, in the middle of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newport Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2004

With all of the antiques and Victorian flourishes, the hotel reminds me of the kind of hotel you'd stay in along the Jersey shore. The room was small but clean and very cute. I thought the bed was really firm and comfortable; my husband hated it and didn't sleep at all. The skylights in the room give off a ton of light to make up for the lack of windows. Since the hotel is literally right in the middle of the Newport Beach Boardwalk area, traffic is kind of a nightmare. Definitely not the place to go for peace and quiet, but a great alternative if you want to party in Newport. I felt like I was right in the middle of Mission Beach in San Diego. The parking lot is convenient if you have a reasonably-sized car; not the place for a suburban or a Hummer2. The concierge there is wonderful -- he'll get you anything you need. I'd avoid the restaurant ReNato, though. Service was lousy.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evanika1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 244 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
santa monica, california
14
Reviewed 7 March 2004

The Portofino is in an awesome location - right on the bike path in Newport Beach and within walking distance of lots of food, bars, and a few shops. Sort of a beach/party atmosphere in the area - lots of packed casual bars with twenty-something aged locals. I'd say this is a plus if you are looking to party but not much of a problem if you want to avoid it (like my wife and I did). The hotel has lots of character although the rooms are quite small. Our room not only lacked an ocean view but a window of any kind. However, a cool skylight provided plenty of light. Upstairs lobby area has a great ocean view. Included breakfast was quite sparse (some muffins and fruit) but the area in which it is served is quite nice. We ate at the restaurant at the hotel - food was above average (but definitely not cheap).

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Austin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambre 121 est au 1e étage et top. La chambre 118 est située au niveau de la rue avec vue sur le pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wuhan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pierre8453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 18 in Newport Beach
602 reviews
3 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Fashion Island Hotel
Fashion Island Hotel
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,048 reviews
4.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
514 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel

Address: 2306 W Oceanfront, Newport Beach, CA 92663-3405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Price Range: £146 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As 'Newport's Closest Hotel to the Beach,' the Newport Beach Hotel is located in the heart of one of California's most popular beach settings. The hotel is ideal for guests who enjoy being surrounded by youthful energy including an eclectic beach scene as well as an exciting nightlife. Just steps from the sand, the updated hotel features coastal-inspired decor and each guestroom offers a king or queen bed, flat panel television and many feature a jetted spa tub and fireplace. Opt for the Oceanview Guestroom and enjoy panoramic views of the active Newport Beach and ocean beyond.As part of the Chic Hotel Collection, the Newport Beach Hotel offers a complimentary Continental breakfast, use of the hotel's bicycles and beach toys, complimentary wireless Internet access and a lobby bar where beer and wine may be purchased. Secured onsite parking is available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing